Old...but interesting article about

Karl they used the regular Caribbean media. My friend brother in law was one of the promoter used and he was a big promoter in NY at the time. The fact is most of the Caribbean fans at the time was acting like most on the board was.

"MLS a bush League" "American nuh know nothing bout ball" and them "nah waste them time" Only a few people like HL, Scaly and myself even thought about a game. Many people could even get free tickets if they tried.
    Sass: I was there - in New York!!!
    Yuh figet?

yeah sorry, you were at some games too.

It think it is more than the traveling. Every recreational soccer league for children that I have known about in Orlando,FL has a cost associated with it that is not insignificant. Simply put they are not catering to a lower income demographic.
        Last edited by Islandman; July 7, 2013, 02:25 PM.

Yes metro stars reached out. They had some summer rec. leagues. I even had the benefit of their coaching seminar. The player you speak of came from our Bronx youth league. He did not make it eventually. He now plays back with the local league (in which I help out with a team).

The problem I see from my vantage point is that people from our region doesn't understand sport in a pro setting (or even quasi pro). The approach is one of amateurs similar to Ja's high school league. This said there are problems on the other side too Sass. Black kids are screened out from things such as ODP (which is really a start for the US coaches to see you). Also the present US philosophy of the game is not so much about technique but hard running and shooting at the goal (granted the basic is encouraged and mastered). Yes sass there is a bias against inner city kids. Why? because the same was said about my all black girls team (they are too physical yaada yaada). A ref had to write the league in defence of my team saying the team has improved and playing good soccer raise your game to match them and stop whining.

Yes I wouldn't deny that most inner city kids come to the sport with serious discipline issues but! I will pause for now.

BTW the Hispanics seem more organized than West Indians hence their ability to make more in roads. This could be attributed to their history and involvement in a pro setting.

It think it is more than the traveling. Every recreational soccer league for children that I have known about in Orlando,FL has a cost associated with it that is not insignificant. Simply put they are not catering to a lower income demographic.
            If you look at the official progression published by US soccer, the path to the pros is through the travel clubs and academies; recreational clubs are virtually ignored. US Soccer also have nothing to do with high schools or community clubs and as you say, the costs are NOT insignificant. For this coming year, the *known* costs for my 13 year old daughter's U14 travel team are $1100 registration, $350 kit which includes crap like polo shirts, team backpack etc., all of which are mandatory. There is also a fee for additional instruction PLUS out of pocket costs for out of state trips to North Carolina and Virginia. On top of that is travel and lodging costs to at least 10 other weekends away. Now which ghetto youth ago afford dat? It is planned exclusionary policies as far as I'm concerned.

Originally posted by GazX View Post
              England 1970s/80s; You know how much talented black youth., especially with dread get ignor by scout/clubs. Nuff!!
              It is not just a racial thing. In America, it is a CLASS thing. Good white kids who can't afford travel soccer costs are being ignored too.

This is exactly right.

Clint Dempsey nearly got left behind for precisely this reason. Luckily other parents of his youth teams offered to subsidize his expenses for travel, etc.

Paul if your ghetto youth is good enough trust me some of those club will pick him up and pay for him. Most of the clubs have scholarship or hardship forms that you can make use of, some of them even allow parents to work at tournaments etc.

I remember seeing (former poster Coach) team played in a tournament and all the suburb clubs were lining up after certain players wanted to talk to him and parents about a player or two coming to their clubs. Jawge can tell you a lot of West Chester clubs and Long Island clubs try to get players out of the city. I remember one guy even selling a player a Volvo for 500 dollars and holding the insurance for a month or two so they could travel back and forth to training.

Not saying it is not good but first step is recreational soccer. My friend who use to live in one town and moved to another tell me no way would he be playing soccer in that town she was because of the organization not been there but moving and finding her son liked it she got assistance and worked every time she could in concession stand to pay for it. I know places like YMCA soccer which control the field you play on a few year ago in GA have financial assistance form available.

I personally dont rule out racial factors when it comes to being considered a member of a certain Class, or being excluded from a certain class or certain opportunities.

You realize that in the top footballing countries the majority of footballers come from the middle to upper class...

...plus your personal costs accumulated while you travel around offering support!!!

Jangle I agree with a lot of what you are saying but we can't put the blame totally on people reaching out to us. We need to step up and take some responsibility.

For most part our kids are not even playing recreational sport much less to progress. One of the thing I realize is that as we get ourselves more involved.If we get ourselves involved sooner or later we will be at the table making some of those decisions.

The scouting report for inner city teams are they not discipline and don't last the whole game and for most part it was true, so all that take is a little harder work and we could do much better.

A stereotype is place on us, we can do better and demand more respect. There are challenges but we must not be afraid to go to the clubs and say I want my kids to join, I don't have any money. They will not turn you away in some case if they think your kid is decent. Everybody loves a success story.

You know the Biggest club in Rockland County was at one stage managed by a Jamaican Doctor who I knew very well? If a Jamaican player of quality came along he would assist in any way possible and I mean that. But if we just look at the odds against us we will never know.

yuh love apologize fi fcukery eeeh

Still right on the money.
                              ...good talented 'coloured' kids are being keep out of the sport by the powerbrokers of average to poor talented 'white or middle-class' kids.
                              What has Brown done for you lately??

Yuteman...is wen yuh agguh realize dat di exception dem juss prove di rule? Wen Babylon run yuh dung an pump 2 coppashat inna yuh backside? woooiiieee