Gotze upsets Adidas at unveiling

• Gotze upsets Adidas at unveiling

Really dude? Didn't he know that Adidas were shareholders in Bayern? I suspect Nike played a role in this.

His agent should be fired...and the Bayern management should be shot in the head...you'd think they would have 100 shirts lying about in the gift shop that they could have put on him. Unbelievable if the picture is true.

Ooohhhhhh......not an accident IMHO

I don't think his days at Bayern will be pleasant.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

UPSET??? What they should be upset about is how they missed out on signing one of Germany's young stars. Mario is doing what Nike signed & pays him to do - WEAR & PROMOTE their brand, and when the Bundisliga starts Mario will do what Bayern signed & pays him to do - play his best football & help them win. If Adidas has a problem with that then buy out his contract.

Why???

You're absolutely correct.

It's just a feeling that I get and my crystal ball is showing cloudy when I input his name.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Why should his agent be fired??? He & Mario are doing what Nike contracted them to do - PROMOTE the brand.

That's the nature of the business. Nike only got him on this deal last year, Adidas should have had the upper hand with a young German star.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                      Why should his agent be fired??? He & Mario are doing what Nike contracted them to do - PROMOTE the brand.
                      There is a certain amount of decorum and respect that decent people should show towards one another. Embarrassing your new employers unnecessarily was uncalled for. His agent is responsible for the move and in large part for his handling. Any competent half-wit would have made sure that the player was presentable for a photo op. Just my two cents.

That's funny!

Mario with his agent & handlers signed an endorsement deal with Nike to WEAR & PROMOTE the brand, and that is what they were doing. Mario & his agent were not to be blamed, & if you read some of the reports/publications you would see that Adidas were really ****ed with the Bayern officials, who apologized to Adidas for the incident, not with Mario, because Adidas knows & understands what PERSONAL endorsement deals are about.

NOTE: That is why most professional sports clubs will present a new player in the club's jersey.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                            Mario with his agent & handlers signed an endorsement deal with Nike to WEAR & PROMOTE the brand, and that is what they were doing. Mario & his agent were not to be blamed, & if you read some of the reports/publications you would see that Adidas were really ****ed with the Bayern officials, who apologized to Adidas for the incident, not with Mario, because Adidas knows & understands what PERSONAL endorsement deals are about.

NOTE: That is why most professional sports clubs will present a new player in the club's jersey.
                            USAF, I don't disagree with Adidas's stance. It would have been inappropriate for them to say anything to Goetze. However, do you think John Kerry would have been in the right to wear an "Abolish Guantanamo" jersey when Obama unveiled him as new Secretary of State? Some things -- like embarrassing your host -- are simply not appropriate, a lesson that most high profile people seem to have forgotten using the almighty dollar and power as justification. Decency still has a place in society.

They said nothing to Mario because he did NOTHING wrong. He is contracted by Bayern to PLAY HIS BEST FOOTBALL & HELP THEM WIN CHAMPIONSHIPS. He is contracted by Nike to WEAR THEIR APPAREL/FOOTWEAR & PROMOTE THE BRAND. This is nothing new & these companies know this because it's the player's contractual agreements.....it is part of their job.
                              The Bayern officials, on the other hand, messed up as they should have presented him in the Bayern jersey. They are the ones who are obligated to looking out for the best interest of THEIR MINORITY PARTNER, Adidas, especially against it's arch rival, Nike.