So, I went to the U-17 training session yesterday

• So, I went to the U-17 training session yesterday

held at Stadium East. With only two days left for their first match in the final qualifying stage, I was very disappointed with what I saw. Maybe they had a bad day.

Decades ago when I played daCosta Cup, I know I was playing better than some of these players and I was no big star. Some simply drills conducted by Bora brought out the most pitiful responses. During one particular drill, a player needed 4 tries before he made decent contact with a ball that was S L O W L Y passed to him to take a one-time shot at goal. Maybe Bora chose the worst person in the bunch for this drill. Maybe it was the field. Maybe Bora made him nervous.

During a crowded scrimmage, I thought the players held the ball too long, something both coaches, Bora and David Hunt, chided them about, with little effect.

Ok, let me stop now, before I'm accused of haytin'.

Re: So, I went to the U-17 training session yesterday

Shocking to see the 'non-coverage' by our daily newspapers..

...http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...123&category=1

I take note of the contrast between your report and the one above! I certainly take yours over that one!

I Lady Fortune s on us!

Bora guides Under-17 training session
      Sean Williams
      Friday, April 27, 2007

National technical director Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic conducted a spirited Under-17 training session at Stadium East field yesterday as coach David Hunt watched keenly from the sidelines.

The experienced Serb-born coach guided the Young Reggae Boyz through various drills, which included two-team scrimmages and set pieces as the team prepares for their first match against Canada tomorrow in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers to be staged at the National Stadium.

Having the respected coach taking them through their paces, the Boyz eagerly responded to his directions.

Hunt said he was pleased with the session. "We're on track and I believe the training went reasonably well... what we've been doing is some revision work and looking at some dead-ball situations," he said.

While Hunt said he has decided on his final squad for the five-team tournament which runs to May 6, he refused to say who made the cut. Instead, he said "the JFF will make an announcement of the final team shortly".

Jamaica are seeking one of three qualifying spots to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup to be held in South Korea from August 18 to September 9.
      The Reggae Boyz will also face CONCACAF kingpins USA, Costa Rica and neighbours Trinidad & Tobago in a round-robin format.

Yesterday, Costa Rica trained inside the National Stadium and journalists were surprised at the physical build of the Central Americans, but Hunt was not intimidated.

"We're prepared for all circumstances... we have players who are strong... we feel we match up well against all teams," he said.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

You don't expect the regular new media to write my kind of report, now, do you!

Anytime they have to call in players one week before cutting the squad, players who have not seen a lot of action with national it worry me and don't build my confidence.

Apparently the players they called in, or at least one of the two, played with the U-15 team that won the regional tournament. Mek Zeppo gwaan beat up him gum.

But I agree still. Not comfortable with these late additions. They better look a cut above the rest!

Maybe this is the calm before the storm! After all this was a training session and there were "spies" everywhere.

Keep hope alive yes !

mo what is the age group of this team. I know its an u17 competition but who is in charge of the group under that? The current 91 and 92s

Only one of the players was born in 1991, the rest all 1990. (This does not include the 2 new players whose DOBs were not released.)

Keep hope alive yes !
                      Trus mi...mi a long and hard!
                      No singing from the fat lady for us!
                      FORWARD to the World Championship Finals!