• How r u feeling Jawge? Bra 2- Spa 0

half-time...

Terrific match!
    Very top - technical and tactical play...but the speed???
    Jeeeeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzz the speed? ...of thought...e.g. Neymar running off-side...then braking and coming back on-side (?)...Oscar observing same...thinking and acting to hold up the pass...then making that pass at the right time...as Neymar is exploding back towards goal... You could just see both guys brains and physical response to those brains churning in warp speed. ...perfect human machines??? Jeeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!

...and David Luiz save? ...the commentators speak of luck but that was no luck it was a deliberate effort to flick the ball up and over goal...and it worked!!!! Brilliant!!!

...then there was the speed with which Brazil closed down Spain...(btw - ...did someone on this board...for weeks...try to 'sneer' at the value of closing down the opponents??? I wonder how that person thinks now?).

Spain had a hell of a time getting those 7 through 20+ passes going. Would not be surprised if those are less than 5 times done...

It is all well and good for us to rave about our slowest of players being best we have...but against TEAMs with pace those slow pokes will not receive as many passes as needed (the opponents will get to the ball first)...or the time on the ball to make those 'great passes' for which they are known to regularly put off in that snails pace at which the game is played at Red Stripe NPL or CFU 2nd form level.

...and?

...the Brazilians have again showed us why formations are meaningless...

#3!!! 47 min

...it is being in the right place at the right time. ...it is movement off the ball. ...both on defense and attack. ...but on attack the Brazilians always give the man on the ball 3 to 4 options on passing. The movement is ever present...present continuous...relentless rotating of players!!!

...and if no one else David Luiz is giving a clinic on why the ball...it is the ball, stupid...must always be attacked!!!

Lalas tried to give a joke...

Spain had a horrible match (...and the unspoken that is why Brazil won).
        Total nonsense!

Brazil ran Spain off the pitch - quick across ground, closed down Spain -far superior in getting to the ball and limiting space within which to operate than Spain was. Technically and tactically performed at much higher levels than Spain did.

OUT-THOUGHT SPAIN in every facet of the game!!!
        Even in the 2nd half when Brazil stepped off the gas, Spain still could not cope as seen in Brazil's superiority on number of chances created.

Fact is, Spain was destroyed!!!

Spain had a horrible match (...and the unspoken that is why Brazil won).
          Total nonsense!

Brazil ran Spain off the pitch - quick across ground, closed down Spain -far superior in getting to the ball and limiting space within which to operate than Spain was. Technically and tactically performed at much higher levels than Spain did.

OUT-THOUGHT SPAIN in every facet of the game!!!
          Even in the 2nd half when Brazil stepped off the gas, Spain still could not cope as seen in Brazil's superiority on number of chances created.

Fact is, Spain was destroyed!!!
          Karl, don't get too excited. I agree that Brazil played better. They showed how to play Spain; but few teams in the world could do what they did today/ They essentially played a 7 or 8 man midfield at times and pressed the Spaniards high up the field putting greater pressure on their full backs to get the ball to the midfielders in tighter situations than they would have liked. Any Spaniard that got the ball in his own half found 3 Brazilians around him. Kudos to Brazil for great tactics, no question. But consider:

-- 3 fantastic saves by Julio Cesar, all could have been goals on another day;
          -- 1 unbelievable save by David Luiz
          -- 1 unforgiveable penalty miss by Ramos
          -- Spain finished the last 24 minutes with 10 men

On another day, Spain could have been right in this and even won, despite being outplayed. My MOTM was Julio Cesar. He made sure Spain never found a way back into the game. This was a well deserved win for Brazil and a very grounding experience for Spain who will now have to regroup...not the worst outcome for a team that has been performing at a peak for a long time and may well be in need of a change in their preparations for the World Cup.

Karl, don't get too excited. I agree that Brazil played better. They showed how to play Spain; but few teams in the world could do what they did today/ They essentially played a 7 or 8 man midfield at times and pressed the Spaniards high up the field putting greater pressure on their full backs to get the ball to the midfielders in tighter situations than they would have liked. Any Spaniard that got the ball in his own half found 3 Brazilians around him. Kudos to Brazil for great tactics, no question. But consider:

-- 3 fantastic saves by Julio Cesar, all could have been goals on another day;
            -- 1 unbelievable save by David Luiz
            -- 1 unforgiveable penalty miss by Ramos
            -- Spain finished the last 24 minutes with 10 men

On another day, Spain could have been right in this and even won, despite being outplayed. My MOTM was Julio Cesar. He made sure Spain never found a way back into the game. This was a well deserved win for Brazil and a very grounding experience for Spain who will now have to regroup...not the worst outcome for a team that has been performing at a peak for a long time and may well be in need of a change in their preparations for the World Cup.
            Cold as Ice!
            ...on another day Brazil would have scored 4 more!!!

Brazil played TEAM all the way for the 1st half and 10 - 15 minutes of the 2nd half...and then shut down=started fooling around!!! Luiz Felipe Scolari was not pleased.

http://espnfc.com/league/_/id/fifa.c...ns-cup?cc=5901
            Last edited by Karl; June 30, 2013, 08:42 PM.

If you wanted me to be honest I predicted six. I was saying in the house "it's a long time Brasil hasn't dropped six on a side". Had the ref allowed them to play (no penalties , no cards) then Spain would be humiliated badly. After the red card the Brasilians literally switched off.

I didn't say six because the TV watchers here would call me crazy.

well said Karl.

Rirl Cup ball!

Tek time Karl.. David Luiz save was not a deliberate effort to flick.. all him was a try duh was block di ball from going in the goal.. is di bumpy field why di ball took that angle at the last minute..

I hope Brazil work pon di field dem.. or is tactics !?

Rath.. tipping point.. yuh gone fully postal now !

The red card was a saving grace for Spain ?

Yuh not easy..

lol !

Lets keep it real.

Brazil goalkeeper was better on the day.. MOM for me.

The End.
                      Last edited by Muadib; July 1, 2013, 12:40 PM.

Rath.. tipping point.. yuh gone fully postal now !

The red card was a saving grace for Spain ?

Yuh not easy..

lol !

Lets keep it real.

Brazil goalkeeper was better on the day.. MOM for me.

The End.
                        Kudos to Brazil's work rate, tactics and athleticism, but geez louise...man dem gone mad! You and me see it same way - Cesar was boss...world class keeping on display yesterday and my MOTM too if you are allowed to do that when a striker scores a brace.

You obviously have no knowledge of the game. I was shouting let them play, I was upset about the red card (although it was warranted). The same the I said of the penalty (which came from some good acting). Had they been allowed to play and settle the question of who is boss on the field; you would not even show your face on this board. Take your 3 nil and cool; because trust me it could have been worse.

Your rant is the reason why I wanted no cards and no penalties. Why? Today there would be no doubt left in Spain's mind (and their disciples) who is the Champion. Now the TV junkies can have hope and talk crap. Such is life in the matrix.

It also could easily have been 3-0 Spain.. just swap the GKs on the night..

Good; that is why I always said Brasil beat Brasil. Ah time yuh do like zeppo now.