Alvas to Portland..

• Alvas to Portland..

The Portland Timbers have signed Jamaican international Alvas Powell on loan from Jamaica's Portmore United, the team announced Friday.

Powell, 18, will remain with the Timbers through the end of the 2013 and will be added to the roster pending receipt of his International Transfer Certificate and Work visa.

The young fullback has enjoyed a rapid rise for the Reggae Boyz, making his Jamaica debut in December 2012 during the Caribbean Cup and featuring for the team in their 2013 World Cup qualifiers. He started and went the full 90 minutes in the USA's 2-1 qualifying win at Jamaica earlier in June and currently boasts five caps for the senior national team in addition to experience at the U-17 and U-20 levels.

Mission accomplished.. can we get back to World Cup Qualifying with the right persons in defense now ?

BTW.. any executives in the JFF involved with Portmore United ?

Snow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If this is true, big up coach Caleb Porter. The man made a dynasty at Akron and bought player like Darren Mattocks and so many other on the national forefront.

He went to Portland and in one season turn the team around from last place in the west to first place. He continue to believe in Jamaican talent. This is one US coach for the future.

What you mean if true. It official. Down to them owner put it on twitter .

http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/articl...as-powell-loan

http://www.stumptownfooty.com/2013/6...more-united-fc

I think it's the best team for young Powell, in the MLS.....Two ReggaeBoyz to guide & support him, and a good, young coach just out of the college system, so teaching is still important to him. And he is familiar with Jamaican players.

This would have been the BEST fit for Mattocks, or Real Salt Lake who are focused on youth players. Things like this Jamaican clubs & agents should research before sending their young players & I think that was the problem with Keammar's agent when he sent him to Orlando.

another good club is Seattle. Pity Ziggy Smith never got to work with Obrien White a little more. The few games for Seattle he looked good, he also rebuild Eddie Johnson's confidence.

ok thanks

"This move should be seen as more of a lengthy trial than anything else."

They don't give "lengthy trials" to any and any body. So that is a good move for Alvas.

Pity Ziggy Smith never got to work with Obrien White a little more. The few games for Seattle he looked good
                      What's the status on White? Is he going to resume playing anytime soon?

seems like his career is over.

The fact is, it is also an option for Portmore to sell him somewhere else if Portland don't want to pay the right price.

It is a public platform for the young man to audition for a decent contract. Wish him all the best.

Good for him. I think he should have been out of Jamaica a long time ago (or as Americans would say "he should have been out of Jamaica already"). I understand some Brazilian teams were interested in signing him when he was on the under-17 squad on training there. The young man however could not commit as was said he did not like the food there. Hopefully, he can find the food he likes in Portland.

For me, if you are going to offer me a professional contract and pay me well enough, I will find something I can eat. I am also a picky eater.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mek im gwaan! ...bout "lengthy trials"...

...unless what is meant is, "all players are on 'lengthy trials' as down turn in form or not living up to expectations or as necessary for TEAM benefit" shall result in termination of tenure?