Alvas to Portland..

That may be indicative of lack of drive and desire, let us see.

You get an opportunity to play in Brazil, not sure of details but if it is a good offer in a good operation then why turn it down and say something as ridiculous as that. I say possible lack of drive and desire, let's see if that proves out.

Quotation marks - Please see last sentence, 3rd paragraph of link here

http://www.stumptownfooty.com/2013/6...more-united-fc

Got yuh!

Wish young Powell well!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          That may be indicative of lack of drive and desire, let us see.

You get an opportunity to play in Brazil, not sure of details but if it is a good offer in a good operation then why turn it down and say something as ridiculous as that. I say possible lack of drive and desire, let's see if that proves out.
          why yuh suh quick fi criticize di yute wen yuh nuh know di fax??

yuh nuh tink it could be di lacka snow inna Brazil?

in dat case di yute ah show bigga desire an nuff wizzy wid im choice

yes, we don't know if it all true but he they wanted him that bad, them coulda pay him mother fi come cook fi him. Ask Mattocks bout that

Yes, just like their best player Diego Valeri he is on a Loan. And like Valeri the club has already negotiated an option with Portmore to buy if he does well. It is now for Alvas to confirm their belief that he is special talent.

I wouldn't say criticize, just a strong wonder about desire, drive and how we probably coddle our young men thus possibly killing the most critical driver for success, desire to guh through snow and fire if an opportunity is presented and we seem to have a critical bottleneck in the existing process where substandard (whether mental or physical) players are identified, coddled and made to feel like stars and consequently don't perform at higher levels because of some fundamental flaw in the selection, identification process. Players like Daley show us that we are missing something in that process. Lets see how this one works out, maybe he was wise to wait and going to a English speaking league may be better for him, but it seems to me a chance in Brazil, arguably the best football nation would be a wicked chance to jump at plus all the beautiful brazil girls to boot.

Traffic, who has a sketchy track record with foreign youth payers, wanted to get him into their system. I don't recall any issues with him and food. maybe there were such issues, but I find that strange since a lot of the food items is close to what a lot of us eat.

Similar to McAnuff retiring from international football a decade ago, showing he is a quitter.
                    Or Jermaine Beckford lack of of showing for the ball and overhaul timid 50 50 challenges showing a lack of desire.

Lets not overdo things. The young man went into international youth competition as a 16 year old and stand up against the best of Europe and Central America and while injured was one of the few showing any heart in the Caribbean Cup.

You could pick something about any baller and say it might indicate certain negative traits.

Stoni...the missing key ingredient is structured youth development 8-18 y.o...physical & mental development. That's a fundamental JFF failure...not so much a failure of individual players

When that "bottleneck" is addressed I'll be more willing to entertain your penchant for presumptive criticism of young players...criticism from afar in a vacuum devoid of facts. Dat nuh sound righteous to mi

Di start of great tings fi di yout, fi sure dat!!

Agree, wish the youth the best and the bottleneck is as you say.

English yard ballers are a shortcut, Mcanuff was a disappointment, but we put nothing in and we trying to get something out, not a good formula, chemistry totally missing. Beckford can't really say much, he never really adapted at all to his new environment. We know what we get with those guys and that is more disciplined players to fill the gaps relative to the local fodder that we have available, simple decision, more disciplined English league player versus inconsistent disciplined players, easy choice.

As Don1 say it is the process, not the particular player, he is just one of the many caterpillars who we hope will fly.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                              Agree, wish the youth the best and the bottleneck is as you say.
                              ok boss.. respek

Wid di right (say akin to 1994-97) exposure dat deh yute at 18 may have been significantly superior to Bibbi...he's definitely MUCH stronger and physical in defence than Bibbi @ 18... plus he has skills going into attack

Who fail di yutes of today??

If I was involved with Portmore, I would want at least 200,000 with add on, and Portland maybe don't want to pay that upfront unless they see him for extended period, so a loan move maybe the best move right now. the option is open for all.