you seriously don't expect our clubs to battle with big rich Mexican clubs anytime soon? Tell me when the top Mexican club baller a look a US college to go.
Belize, T&T, Martinique...
Originally posted by Assasin View Postyou seriously don't expect our clubs to battle with big rich Mexican clubs anytime soon? Tell me when the top Mexican club baller a look a US college to go."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
H. View, Portmore and Arnett have all played in the tournament many years ago.
For the past few years the teams declined to participate because they started realizing that despite the exposure they simply couldn't afford the travelling expenses that went along with the tournament.
This year, since Jamaica was hosting Boys Town and Portmore opted to enter. Portmore was second place in the group and qualified for the playoff and decided to forfeit their home leg, once the Trinis covered certain expenses.
Lazie our clubs are some of the worst. They are just community club whether we like it yes or no. they are not set up to attract any sponsorship. Even clubs in smaller islands are better set.
The fact is Mexican club win this 95-98% of the time. Maybe a US team or Honduras or Costa Rica. Our clubs have to drop out of the Caribbean cup or give up home advantage since they can't afford to play home and away.
About 4 years ago PL decided that no clubs will enter because it was not economically good for them. I can remember Seaga and Jerdini specially pulling their clubs.Last edited by Assasin; June 27, 2013, 03:18 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI can remember Seaga and Jerdini specially pulling their clubs.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Was there ever a time these teams were not competitive against us? How quickly people forget that a decade ago with English based recruits included in our lineup we were struggling to beat Cuba. Our 3-0 win with all locals in 2012 was the first in ages we have dominated Cuba like we did.
Saturation? Mi wonder if is the English recruit them bring that. Mi hear stoni a talk bout running through snow, maybe them bring some with them.
The "truth" is that "talent abounds" everywhere... and countries (small ones) other than Jamaica are improving in how they play on bigger stages, i.e. outside of their 200 to 2000 sq. miles (JA Surinam notwithstanding). We must realise this and not approach these teams as if the outcome is a foregone conclusion; and also remember that in the Caribbean JA (and TT) are the teams to beat so opposition is motivated.
BTW TT has been underperforming since 2006.Peter R
A him invent the Jeri Curls. A joke....a Jeri likkle son.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Tales from The Dummy Zone
Originally posted by HL View PostEl Salvador...all in the Gold Cup.
Jamaica wid all it's local stars will be sitting at home losing money.
I am still waiting on the forum experts who are against the players from "snow" country--to explain this loss.
I came around to liking Tappa...but that was when he should have been let go. (maybe before).TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Really sad how rather than addressing the roit of the problem(demanding something sustainable from the JFF),one would opt to blame fault and stigmatize our local youngsters.
There is a paradigm shift,a both Tappa and our local youngsters are clearly up to the task.
Tappa has shown convictions for what he believes..