Digicel joins Sturridge in launching foundation in Jamaica
— Sanjay Myers
Sunday, June 23, 2013
MOBILE telecoms giant Digicel joined forces with Liverpool FC forward Daniel Sturridge in the launching of the footballer's charity foundation in Portmore, St Catherine, yesterday.
For the English striker, whose grandparents are Jamaicans, it was the realisation of a dream he long held, and he celebrated the occasion with a Family Fun Day at the Waterford-based Faith Basic School.
Digicel’s sponsorship manager Tahnida Nunes (centre) poses with the symbolic cheque worth J$500,000 alongside (from left) Daniel Sturridge’s mother Grace, Daniel, the Faith Basic School’s principal Carol Hazel, and Daniel’s father Michael during the launch of the player’s charity foundation yesterday at the school. Digicel’s contribution will go towards the development of the school. (PHOTO: GARFIELD ROBINSON)
Digicel, a major sponsor of the venture, has had a soft spot for sporting and human welfare initiatives since its inception, and according to the company's sponsorship manager Tahnida Nunes, the current link with the former Chelsea FC attacker is an extension of that trend.
"Digicel is very happy to be on board with Daniel Sturridge and his family on this venture for a number of reasons. For one, giving back to our communities and helping them grow and develop is a huge part of our ethos at Digicel, and we continue to do this through our foundation across Jamaica. We are also very happy that through this initiative we can make a direct contribution to the Faith Basic School in the amount of J$500,000," she said.
Sturridge, though injured and hence inactive on the field of play, has been quite busy in his time on the island.
The 23-year-old assured that yesterday's step was the first of many to come.
"Our family has strong links in Jamaica, with both my grandparents being Jamaicans, so it is great to be able to give back to the local community. We hope that the Sturridge Family Foundation Sports Day will encourage local youngsters to play sport. This is the first activity for our foundation in Jamaica and we aim to build on this in the future.
"My granddad and family are all in town to help out at the event and we are all looking forward to it. We are very grateful to Digicel for their support and encouragement," Sturridge said.
Sturridge, who has also played for Manchester City and Bolton Wanderers, is the first Premier League player to have scored on all his club debuts
WTF Sturridge know bout curry goat and manish wata , him know the national Athnthem second verse.. how him want come involved inna wi ting.. A Tuffy fi have dem foundation deh!!
...sstttteeeupppppss.....a wonda if him know the national bird of Portmore????
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
A wha do dem English people ya hiya? Dem can't be interested in making a contribution to Jamaican society, after dem no born ya!!
Eedy boo...keeping roots deep, wide and long is a good thing for Jamaica; look pon Isreal, anybody who can show lineage dem wi tek...but we so fool fool we ago dash weh we seed...steeeeeeeeeeuuuuuuuuuupppppppppsss....
Me grow up in Jamaica knowing that all white people are Syrians. A when me come a fareen me know seh the Puerto Rican race diffrant from the Dominicans who are NOT from likkle Dominica and that they are NOT white Syrians.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015