Fabian Davis Appointed U15 Coach

• Fabian Davis Appointed U15 Coach

The Board of Directors of the Jamaica Football Federation at its quarterly meeting held May 16, 2013 approved the appointment of Mr. Fabian Davis as Coach for the National Under 15 team.

Mr. Davis will in the first instance be in charge of the country’s participation in the Inaugural CONCACAF Under 15 Tournament to be held in the Cayman Islands between August 14-25, 2013.

Fabian Davis is a past national player at the Under 23 and senior levels; an Advanced Level I and II graduate under the JMMB/JFF/UTech Coaching School. In 2012 he was sent by the Federation to a FA and CONCACAF International Course.

In a meeting with JFF President Captain Horace Burrell on Tuesday, June 18, the President welcomed Mr. Davis to the technical staff of the Federation and committed all available resources to assist him in conducting his duties.

who is in charge of the girls team.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
      Fabian Davis is a past national player at the Under 23 and senior levels; an Advanced Level I and II graduate under the JMMB/JFF/UTech Coaching School. In 2012 he was sent by the Federation to a FA and CONCACAF International Course.
      Does anyone here know just how good is the curriculum for these courses put on by the JFF? This is a big role and again I question the qualifications of the coach. I liked Fabian Davis during his playing days with the original RBYZ, and I was happy when he took up coaching, but he's is now being tasked to guide our youths who should be making up our senior team in a few years. This on-the-job training is the reason why we are where we are today.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

he was a player coach at Arnett. He has player experience and based on the two times I met him seems to be an organized youth so it could be a good choice. Good to see some of the ex-players getting in on the coaching dept.

Good luck Fabian.

He is under-qualified....period! The JFF and the powers that be need to change their mentality about football and youth development. Money and effort need to be thrown at that age group - U15. That is where we will see the benefit in 2 - 3 years.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

What license you want him to get? He already has a D license from the States and he doesn't need to take the C license (focused on Under 15) since he has coached for more than 3 years and meets the three year national team/professional requirement.

He already conducts football clinics and coaches youth players, so the social aspect is something he is prepared for.
            He has coached in our Premier League. Was made captain at the Junior levels for the Under 20, Under 23 during the days of Simoes and was in the senior team, so he knows what proper sessions look like.

The only piece of information that caught my attention in your post is that he holds a D license from the States. Everything else means nothing to me. I admit that I am no expert in the field of football license to know the difference between A, B, C or D licenses, but the fact that it came from overseas holds some merit in my books. However, I think the coach of any of the national teams must have some experience, along with the required licenses, working in a professional (overseas) environment before they are appointed the position. Even if they are Jamaicans or past players. I jsut don't think we have the qualified coaches within our shores, even if they have "some" licenses. The overseas professional environment gives a different perspective on the training and what is needed to get us to the top.

So Andy Williams would be ideal for you because he is in the Real Salt Lake system? Even if Fabian is a better coach than him.

I am not sure that we do not have any good coaches at the youth level, especially after seeing Bertis Bell's Manning Cup team with a couple additions go toe to toe with Argentina and France in the Under 17 World Cup. And those players only received a fraction of the exposure to decent competition that their opponents have received.

Yes, I would take Andy. Fabian could turn out to be a good youth coach, but I think to get to int'l level using a local coach, he would have to get the full unprecedented support of JFF and others to succeed. Knowing how we view sports as a hobby, we will be stuck in our current position for years to come. Neymar has been making waves since he was 16 -17, so was Fabergas, Rooney, Messi etc. In two years time, these U15 youths should be holding their own with the rest...if properly taught. We may hit a upon a Messi/Ronaldo/Neymar diamond given our natural athleticism.

"working in a professional (overseas) environment before they are appointed the position. "

Don't be too impressed with the D License. I see nothing wrong with appointing Fabian. Back him up with a senior coach.

what's the plan for the critical U12 level???

D license? I have one of those! I coached an under-18 boys team back in the late 90s that played in the Memphis league. You had to have a minimum of a D license to coach, which I did without any trouble.

The D license is nothing big at all. It is more like an attendance certificate. You are not tested, we only had to go through a day's worth of work which included classroom and field work. At the end of it they issued all the attendees a certificate/license.

I wonder if the Captain would consider me? Cannot tell even where the to find that piece of paper now.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

But Tilla, the fact that it is an overseas License has Merit to Jangle. LOL

Can you imagine if he filed for his exemption that he is already eligible for and gets the C license (Under 15 coaches). Him would climb even higher on the list.

I think you have to have a D license to go and do the C. But for all intense and purpose, the D license is just a glorified certificate of attendance. You do not have to prove you learned anything apart from being registered, pay your attendance fee and be present.

I think the courses run by U-Tech and the JFF are of a higher standard. They do bring in FIFA certified trainers and the level of material I am sure is higher than that of the D license.

BTW, the D license I did had some guy from the Welsh FA conducting the course. My only disappointment with the whole thing was that we were not tested on anything they taught and everyone left with the same license.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yes. You need the D to get the C and the JFF advance course is definitely of a higher standard than the D course.