Paul on the subject of youth coach

• Paul on the subject of youth coach

I would simple address questions to Bill. His two sons was excellent at a young age, not because he is on this forum but seeing video of them and having two different friends who are college coaches tell me about their performance and skills at two different games they played against Bill's former college and none of them knew it was his sons until I told them.

They both told me about the two kids on the sidelines at halftime and I told them it was Bill's boys. I am very satisfied with my big son progress and the little one will be playing his age group for the first time this year so I will see.
    I am spending the summer teaching my kids step over, Kicking with both feet, headers and dribbling.

I would simple address questions to Bill. His two sons was excellent at a young age, not because he is on this forum but seeing video of them and having two different friends who are college coaches tell me about their performance and skills at two different games they played against Bill's former college and none of them knew it was his sons until I told them.

They both told me about the two kids on the sidelines at halftime and I told them it was Bill's boys. I am very satisfied with my big son progress and the little one will be playing his age group for the first time this year so I will see.
    I am spending the summer teaching my kids step over, Kicking with both feet, headers and dribbling.
    How old are your kids Sass? Bill's boys however, were exceptional. You don't get that way without having an inner drive that is clearly there in both those boys from the videos I have seen. Do you know how they've done at Fulham?

My boys are 7 and 6. I think the older one is doing good but I have try and keep him motivated. The younger one is ok but I have to put him in his age group to really test him as he plays when he wants to but it maybe because he is with older kids and he is the youngest in the group. The bigger one want me to get him in U9 "so he can battle third graders"

I am trying to keep them busy in the summer. I take them to the park in the summer, I offered to coach some of my friends kids as well but most of them either show up late or want me to change time so I just do mines right now.

Without a doubt Bill boys have drive but the fact that as a coach he was disciplined and took them have a lot to do with it. Based on reports he said his kids are doing fine, he posted a response to your questions a few days ago.

My kids now know Saturday morning 9:00 Sharp they get a little run at at the field then take them to the park next door or take them to Hi Hop after, as a sweetner. LOL.

Do you realize that parents are not putting their kids in soccer so they can get balance and foot movements to play football?

Go guys!!!

Gwaan beat it inna dem yah Sass. Dem pickney yah tiday nuh know weh good fi dem. The Jackson fambily a tenk Joe Jackson fe the 'mount a big licks him used to gi dem as pickney. Yuh suppose to a retire by the time dem reach 15....erm sarry....by the time yuh reach 30.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Gwaan beat it inna dem yah Sass. Dem pickney yah tiday nuh know weh good fi dem. The Jackson fambily a tenk Joe Jackson fe the 'mount a big licks him used to gi dem as pickney.
            Given what we know about the mentally diseased Jackson family...it depends on the type of licks administered

Sass, I do something similar with my son, he is 5 turning 6 in November. At the end of last season, some parents on the team I coached asked me if I would continue to coach their kids in the summer. I agreed as I needed my boy to be outadoor too and not on that confounded XBox. I now have a Saturday morning session for 6 boys at 9:30AM. They all show up on time and ready to play. The parents organize snacks and are gungho...great group. It has been a great influence for my son as each of these kids LOVE the game and of the 6, 5 of them are star quality. I have been working hard to make sure that every time they show up they leave with a big smile. I am happy with the progress as they all get "homework" which they have all been eager to tell me they have completed. My goal is to keep this group together and maybe take them as a unit to one of the local clubs (or start challenging the local clubs to friendlies when they get a bit older).

I have been working hard to make sure that every time they show up they leave with a big smile.
                That is the most important thing at that age. Your main job with that age group is to foster a love of the game. They should leave every training session wanting more. Too many times I see coaches of young kids running practices that go way too long for the age group. You're a relatively smart guy for a Liverpool fan Paul.

Paul what is doing is the good thing. I nothing better than to have the kids enjoy the game and giving them a little bit of skills. I really think this is very important on the off season. For most of the season too much time is spent on trying to win and play position by some coaches.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
                    That is the most important thing at that age. Your main job with that age group is to foster a love of the game. They should leave every training session wanting more. Too many times I see coaches of young kids running practices that go way too long for the age group. You're a relatively smart guy for a Liverpool fan Paul.
                    Relatively? KMT. Well, compared to some of the geniuses on this board, I guess "relatively" is appropriate. Dem BRITE so till!!! LOL!!!

Hi Paul....sounds like your kids are coming along nicely! I took the college job when my boys were pretty much just starting out as it was a nice opportunity to expose them to the atmosphere and energy of the college games. We were very fortunate as well that Longwood University allowed my sons to attend all the practices and games home/away. In fact they sat with us on the bench, which was incredible for a 5 and 4 year old.

It sounds like you are doing all the right things. What is difficult in the US sometimes is cultivating that love for the game as the culture is not such with the other kids in school and neighborhood where they live the game...which is why I initially excepted the university job. Watching games on TV...and videos on youtube are great. The youtube videos are better for the young ones as they are short clips with music and can hold there attention better. Hope this helps some?

On a separate note: I have thrown my name into the hat for a position with the JFF as a part time assistant that would hopefully enable me to continue on living in London. My boys are well established now here and I feel it is time to get back involved with football not just on the scouting side of things but coaching again. I am open to working with other national teams and/or with a club in Jamaica as well. I am unsure if JFF would be open to this but I am willing to help.
                      Last edited by Bill Moravek; July 3, 2013, 07:20 AM.

Good for you. I for one would back your re-involvement with the program, especially at the youth level. We have seen how your own kids have developed over the last 5 years to the point where they are with professional clubs, which means that you know what you are doing. The question now is, can you work for the "likkle" money that the JFF is able to offer? For me, you would be a strong candidate for a position at the youth level.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It is amazing to see that little kids who have the mechanics of inside-footed passing - with inside of the foot

- can hit not the relatively broad cones but stick targets from 2 -5 yards out in a consistent manner....even as they move around.

I have always taught the easiest of passes -- the use of inside of foot --- as most weighted. ...on same level with teaching proper kicking technique with instep...what we term 'using the laces'.

have always thought that if a player has those 2 techniques down pat (& incidentally ease of putting ball accurately on goal) then learning other passing skills using the foot become 'buttah'. Cannot perform those 2 techniques to high degree of proficiency leads to being a poor passer...f

It is amazing to see that little kids who have the mechanics of inside-footed passing - with inside of the foot

- can hit not only the relatively broad cones but stick targets from 2 -5 yards out in a consistent manner....even as they move around.

I have always taught the easiest of passes -- the use of inside of foot --- as most weighted. ...on same level with teaching proper kicking technique with instep...what we term 'using the laces'.

Have always thought that if a player has those 2 techniques down pat (& incidentally ease of putting ball accurately on goal) then learning other passing skills using the foot become 'buttah'. Cannot perform those 2 techniques to high degree of proficiency leads to being a poor passer for life.

Originally posted by Bill Moravek View Post
                              Hi Paul....sounds like your kids are coming along nicely! I took the college job when my boys were pretty much just starting out as it was a nice opportunity to expose them to the atmosphere and energy of the college games. We were very fortunate as well that Longwood University allowed my sons to attend all the practices and games home/away. In fact they sat with us on the bench, which was incredible for a 5 and 4 year old.

It sounds like you are doing all the right things. What is difficult in the US sometimes is cultivating that love for the game as the culture is not such with the other kids in school and neighborhood where they live the game...which is why I initially excepted the university job. Watching games on TV...and videos on youtube are great. The youtube videos are better for the young ones as they are short clips with music and can hold there attention better. Hope this helps some?

On a separate note: I have thrown my name into the hat for a position with the JFF as a part time assistant that would hopefully enable me to continue on living in London. My boys are well established now here and I feel it is time to get back involved with football not just on the scouting side of things but coaching again. I am open to working with other national teams and/or with a club in Jamaica as well. I am unsure if JFF would be open to this but I am willing to help.
                              Bill, good luck with that next gig, whatever it may be. Jamaica would do well to get a qualified fellow like you. I'm sure you are otherwise consumed with keeping your boys well grounded in meeting the challenges of their very special journey. Do you think that taking them to games on the bench with the college players at such a young age was a major driver in developing their passion? They are clearly exceptional, so if you can help us (and more broadly Jamaica) unlock the secret to developing players like your boys, we're all ears.