The part time thing should be a deal breaker IMHO. National coaching positiOns cannot be part time if it is to have any credibility
Paul on the subject of youth coach
We were in the conference championship match in overtime penalty kicks. All of the players, staff, and my two little sons were holding hands on the sideline...then the last kick was taken...and we lost. My oldest..who was only 5 asked me..."is that it...what happened?" And after I explained to him what happened he just broke down in tears. He was absolutely devastated and didn't stop crying for over a half an hour. To be fair, I was quite surprised and was not expecting quite that kind of reaction. But it just shows what kind of an impact being a part of that group meant to him...even at 5. There were many fans there that day and the game was intense...so he and my youngest son had the privilege of taking the emotion and everything in. He would not have gotten anything even close to that with his own age group games.
There was another instance where I went back to Clemson University for an Elite Player Overnight Camp. We were fortunate they let my sons participate as they were only 6 and 5 and the time and the camps youngest players were 10 and up. And since I was a player there many years ago and the fact they had seen a video of them, they let them participate. On the third evening they had picked the best players out of 300 for an all star game in the stadium...with all the players and parents alike watching..as well as coaching staff. My oldest was picked for the match...and he was so far from being anywhere near the size of any of those boys. Everyone in the stands were quiet the whole first half and many of the boys hadn't seen him yet...so didn't know anything about him. The they made a sub...and he came on the field. As soon as he got on the ball he started running at those guys and was really showing what he could do. The reaction of the fans was incredible as they were going crazy...I had never seen anything like it before....everytime he touched the ball they went nuts as he was killing those guys he was playing against. And he fed off the energy from the fans...he didn't hide...he didn't become afraid of the fire...he thrived off it. And after the match, all the players were coming up to him asking him for his autograph. It had a massive positive impact on him and my younger son.
So it is instances like the above ones that can really spur them on and increase the desire to work harder. But you have to put them in situations after they have been working hard where they will experience some success so they want it even more. But then other times they need to be put in their place playing wise so they learn to have humility and keep their feet on the ground. As always you play because you love it...they want to have fun. That is why they play. However, if they think it is going to be fun 100% of the time and think they are going to be the best of the best, then they need to get real. Life does not work like that. If it were that easy everyone would be a pro, everyone would be a Doctor, etc. etc. So a balance and healthy perspective of their true ability is needed as well
Bill I notice one thing, When parents on the sideline encouraging their kids and their kids team at age 5-8 the kids try harder and show more emotions.
Too many on their phones, and Tablets and don't encourage their kids, without giving them a chance.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Very good point Sass. At that age 4-6, they crave (to the point of annoyance) for their parents' attention and approval.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Bill Moravek View PostThe reaction of the fans was incredible as they were going crazy...I had never seen anything like it before....everytime he touched the ball they went nuts as he was killing those guys he was playing against. And he fed off the energy from the fans...he didn't hide...he didn't become afraid of the fire...he thrived off it. And after the match, all the players were coming up to him asking him for his autograph. It had a massive positive impact on him and my younger son.
So it is instances like the above ones that can really spur them on and increase the desire to work harder. But you have to put them in situations after they have been working hard where they will experience some success so they want it even more. But then other times they need to be put in their place playing wise so they learn to have humility and keep their feet on the ground. As always you play because you love it...they want to have fun. That is why they play. However, if they think it is going to be fun 100% of the time and think they are going to be the best of the best, then they need to get real. Life does not work like that. If it were that easy everyone would be a pro, everyone would be a Doctor, etc. etc. So a balance and healthy perspective of their true ability is needed as well
However, I've seen video of your boy at around that age and I am stumped as to how he was developed to be as technically advanced as he was at that age. None of the boys I coach (or who we play against) are within eons of the level your son had at their age. For instance, juggling is not a technical skill kids learn to do well until they are in their teens, and even after years of practice only few ever do it well. Your son was doing a hundred (guess) at 6. What was the method you used to develop your him in that particular skill at such a young age? The same question applies for all his other abilities. Surely, it could not be passion alone...right?"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
good question Paul. I asked one of my old time coach who is a TD for a Club in NY and he told me start by letting the kids hold the ball in their hand and drop it on both thigh, one at a time. I am also waiting on Bill's answer.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I don't think there is anything special that we did that is completely foreign to what others are doing with their kids. In terms of juggling, there is a certain way you can teach them that I believe makes it easier...but it is hard to explain on a forum. But even with that, the kid has to show the willingness to learn. Focus and concentration for kids that age can be quite difficult and with juggling you have to have that as it is so challenging. My oldest in particular has always shown a special ability in this regard (including school)and he is also very creative. When you combine time on the ball and the environments described in other posts, that encourages them to want more...sky is the limit really. Once they start experiencing some success it is important they play with the best players possible..and older kids as well sometimes...or even adults who they can learn from. By the way...when my oldest was 6...a few months from 7 years of age, he juggled 5420 times....it took him an hour to do I remember. And he only stopped because he started getting blisters on his heels. I had never seen anything like that before from someone so young...but that certainly does not guarantee him success when he is older, it merely gives him the confidence to know he can accomplish something that seems out of reach.
Originally posted by Bill Moravek View Post1. I don't think there is anything special that we did that is completely foreign to what others are doing with their kids. In terms of juggling, there is a certain way you can teach them that I believe makes it easier...but it is hard to explain on a forum.
2. But even with that, the kid has to show the willingness to learn. Focus and concentration for kids that age can be quite difficult."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostThe only method you hear about is Coerver, which I use on my older daughter and have introduced only tidbits to my 5/6 year olds.No need to thank me forumites.
Thank you for your kind comments. I have been asked to do what you have suggested a number of times...just haven't had the time to do it and am perhaps a little lazy in putting in the time. Perhaps when I am a little older will be the time to put something together. Do you have a good travel club near you? It may be worth looking into that and asking them if they would be willing to let your sons at the very least come out and train with the U8s...not sure where you live but there are some good clubs over there.
This is why I wanted to come back to Jamaica in some part time capacity to help. Someone mentioned money...not interested in that, apart from perhaps a place to stay and airfare down. Don't believe as an assistant you need to live there as the program doesn't run thru the year. Of course as a TD or head coach, yes, they need to be there full time.
I will volunteer my friend from Adelphi(Assistant Coach) to help with your program. He will only need plane fare in the summer. You may remember him from your classes for conference championship a few years ago.
Anyway please take Paul Marin's advise( he only looses his sense when he mention Liverpool) You need to put it in writing, include some of the videos of your son and other kids you coached and that will also help with your portfolio to show you know what you are doing. Bill do you even keep a scrap book? I remember you started out as a volunteer, you have a very good story to tell.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Paul I know this was not directed to me but I just wanted to tell you how I start out young kids learning to juggle. At least it's another idea you can try. I get kids to start with the ball in their hands toss it up and allow one bounce between each touch. So every time a kid does a juggle they let the ball bounce and do another...bounce...and another...bounce... keep repeating that pattern. Eventually you go from one juggle between every bounce to two juggles between every bounce.... and then three.....and 4 and so on. Just build on that through the season.
Eventually there comes a point where they start ignoring you about the bounces and begin to keep the ball going themselves with no bounces. You'd be surprised how quickly it gets them on the path to being good jugglers. You're allowing them to feel success every step of the way without completely frustrating them to start.
Most times when I see someone training kids to juggle at the early stages they spend more time chasing wayward balls than getting actually touches on the ball. Allowing the bounces to start ensures that they are learning the skill. Hope this makes sense.No need to thank me forumites.
At some point I will...I remember everything I do and am constantly coming up with new ideas...but I remember all of it. There are a few videos on youtube...but they are on a private account so not public. There are a couple highlight videos of them playing against Arsenal, West Ham and Luton...but we are not allowed to show these due to club and Premier League Academy policy. I will keep what you have said in mind and your friend up at Adelphi as well. As TK said..there are many videos out there, like the ones he suggested. You can pick and choose the ones you like then go from that. Best of luck to you!
Originally posted by Bill Moravek View PostThank you for your kind comments. I have been asked to do what you have suggested a number of times...just haven't had the time to do it and am perhaps a little lazy in putting in the time. Perhaps when I am a little older will be the time to put something together. Do you have a good travel club near you? It may be worth looking into that and asking them if they would be willing to let your sons at the very least come out and train with the U8s...not sure where you live but there are some good clubs over there.
This is why I wanted to come back to Jamaica in some part time capacity to help. Someone mentioned money...not interested in that, apart from perhaps a place to stay and airfare down. Don't believe as an assistant you need to live there as the program doesn't run thru the year. Of course as a TD or head coach, yes, they need to be there full time.
Bill, I live in Fort Lauderdale, FL. We have a number of travel clubs in the area. My daughter has played fora few of them - Plantation, Sunrise, Davie and now Weston. My problem hasbeen that they now at the stage (U14) where they are so busy chasing Gotsoccerpoints and trophies, the kids are getting marginalized. Because she’s switched so much, I used to worry that each time she switched, she would short circuit the development process of the club she was leaving. I don't worry about that anymore because I have been working with her, but also because I now realize that none of them have long term development goals for the kids anyway...a reality which borders on the criminal considering how much money is involved.
This is why I asked about technical development and the remarkable results you’ve achieved with your kids. I know many of the coaches in the area through coaching courses and traveling with my daughter's team. I think this lot (which includes UEFA A and national A licensed coaches) have two perspectives on technical development: 1) kids should let the game teach them the technical aspects of the game and 2)technical aspects of the game should be taught. I find that the first school of thought comes from people who learned to play the game outside America, where street soccer was something they did every day in parking lots or any patch of dirt with whoever was around to play. That’s how I and most everyone on this board learned.
But because kids in America have developed an indoor entertainment culture, I happen to fall into the second category with a major caveat - baseline technical capability should be taught but not at the expense of creativity. I think we kill creativity (esp. inthe sub U12 age groups) by focusing too much on tactical development too early. I often see a kid making a run, and everyone on the sidelines - coaches and parents alike - yelling "Pass! Pass!" Or muttering “Ballhog…” I think you'd agree most kids at young ages could give a crap about passing...they just want to run with the ball and score. So I let them, but believe we have to give them technical guidance as well, i.e. at the right time, teach them the cruyff, the maradona, stepovers, scissors etc. and let them apply as they see fit.
My intrigue with your boys is that while my U6 boys have almost all developed the ability to kick with both feet, dribble and shoot the ball with some proficiency, they are LIGHT YEARS away from where your boys were technically at the same age. I think your kids benefited from a unique convergence of opportunity, physical and mental capability, exposure, environment and guidance with guidance being the most important. That’s why I am asking you to develop your program. There is a technical void at the young ages that can be addressed as you have proven. While it is not realistic that every kid can develop the juggling skills your sons had at 6, there is a process that I am urging you to consider codifying sooner rather than later. Don’twait too long…America (and the rest of Concacaf) could well benefit from it. Now pull out that notebook and start writing!!!"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365