When i say relegation championship, i mean in the championship.
Wanted - head coach for Jamaica Senior team
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
CC: Steve Sampson Santa Clara University
At the end of the 1985 season, Santa Clara University hired him away from UCLA to serve as their men's soccer head coach. In 1989, he achieved his greatest success as a college coach when he led Santa Clara to the NCAA Men's Soccer Championship. Ironically, Santa Clara's opponent in the final was Virginia, coached by Bruce Arena who would later succeed Sampson as head coach of the United States men's national soccer team. Santa Clara and Virginia played even through regular time and four overtimes before NCAA officials stopped the game, much to the frustration of the players and two coaches, and named Santa Clara and Virginia as co-champions. When he left Santa Clara, he had compiled a 64-19-19 record and was named the 1989 NCAA Men's Soccer Coach of the Year.
1994 World Cup[edit]
After leaving Santa Clara, Sampson became an assistant to Bora Milutinovic on the United States national team in 1993 and was on the staff when the U.S. hosted the 1994 FIFA World Cup. In addition to his coaching duties, he served as the Vice President/Competition Management for the World Cup organization.
U.S. national team coach[edit]
1995 Copa America[edit]
When Bora resigned from the team after the World Cup, the United States Soccer Federation (USSF) named Sampson as the interim coach in April 1995. But after leading the US to a surprising fourth-place finish at the Copa América 1995, including a 3-0 romp over Argentina, as well as a victory over arch-rivals Mexico in the quarterfinals, Sampson was promoted to full-time national team coach in August 1995.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
CC: Bruce Arena
College[edit]
In 1977, Arena moved back to teach at Cornell and act as the school’s assistant lacrosse coach. While he was there, the University of Virginia (UVA) advertised for two open coaching positions – head soccer coach and assistant lacrosse coach beginning the 1978 season. Arena took that opportunity and would go on to coach both the UVA lacrosse and soccer teams for seven years, before becoming the school’s dedicated soccer coach in 1985. Arena was the head coach of the Virginia program for eighteen years, during which he won five national championships (including 4 straight from 1991–94) and amassed a 295-58-32 record. Additionally, he coached and developed many players at Virginia who would go on to play significant roles in the United States national team, including Claudio Reyna, Jeff Agoos, John Harkes and Tony Meola. In addition to coaching, Arena served as the ACC soccer coaches chairman as well as two three-year terms on the NCAA Division I soccer committee from 1989 to 1995.
D.C. United[edit]
On January 3, 1996, Arena left UVA to become the coach of D.C. United of Major League Soccer. The 1996 season would be both the team's and the league's inaugural season, so Arena needed to build a team from scratch. To make his position even more difficult, he had agreed to coach the U.S. U-23 national team at the 1996 Summer Olympics where it went 1-1-1. Despite the distraction of the Olympics, Arena managed to form his team and lead United to victory in the first MLS Cup. In addition to the MLS title, Arena also took United to the 1996 U.S. Open Cup championship. Arena and United continued to experience success in 1997. The team won its second MLS Cup defeating Colorado Rapids 2-1. Arena's success led to his selection as the 1997 MLS Coach of the Year. This year, Arena took United to the semifinals of the CONCACAF Champions' Cup. In 1998, Arena took United to its third consecutive MLS Cup only to see his team fall to the expansion Chicago Fire led by his protégé Bob Bradley. However, while Arena failed to add another MLS championship to his resume, he guided United to the CONCACAF Champions' Cup title with a 1-0 victory over Toluca on August 16, 1998. He followed that with a defeat of Brazilian club Vasco da Gama to take the Interamerican Cup title. Arena was also the 1997 and 1998 MLS All-Star head coach.
National Team[edit]
Arena was hired by the U.S. national team to replace Steve Sampson as head coach in October 1998 following the team's disastrous showing in the 1998 FIFA World Cup. He forged the team into a successful international side, and is undisputedly the most successful coach in United States history: most international wins; longest home shut-out; best World Cup showing since 1930, reaching the quarterfinals at the 2002 World Cup, before a defeat against Germany; and all-time best international FIFA Ranking (4th place, April 2006). Arena also won two Gold Cup championships in 2002 and 2005, with a third place finish in 2003.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostCoach must run a defensive philosophy with two fundamental modes of possession rapid counter attack and possession type play with a high focus on identifying highly skilled, fast players with very good passing skills.
Originally posted by Me View PostThe best thing we can do is keep Stonigut as far away from our football as possible.
When all is said and done, Stoni wants the best for our team just like any of us."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I agree with you fully, the key is what is our objective,
1. winning the lottery and shooting ahead and hope to build from that or
2. Building from the ground up which requires something we don't do very well, careful planning, long term vision, excellent on the ground operational execution, think about what. Have done in track and field over 100 years and the many layers of complexities that still operate well even with deficiencies in leadership at various points through that time.
If we do the first then we find the money and make the gamble to get a not necessarily a top flight football Coach but one that fits the criteria I have outlined, the guy is out there we just need to find him, and we roll the dice hard on 2018 again
Or we do the right thing and spend the money carefully building the infrastructure from under tens through national senior and dont spend a lot of resources on 2018 2022 and focus on building for 2026,
Hey which way do you think is harder, it is definitely the second way, it require some serious people building a framework with continuity at its core, not easy.
I think that your "top 25" criterion is FINANCIALLY not going to be viable for the JFF. You should re-think that job requirement.
Regardless, any top foreign coach is going to cost an arm and a leg. Simoes gave away his services to the JFF back in the nineties relative to his peers. He had a genuine love for and connection with the Jamaican people. Remember his letters? (I'm sure you do)... I just get the feeling any coach we bring in from foreign now will be a mercenary and really looking to earn big money in (what used to be ) paradise..Peter R
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostTop 25 world club league is probably all countries where it snows, hmmm funny how that works.
Snow wi seh!! woooiiieeeTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE