• Burrell's shelf life expired

LETTER OF THE DAY - Burrell's shelf life expired

Published: Friday | June 14, 2013

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    It was with great consternation that I read the STAR back-page headline on June 13, 2013 titled 'Not good enough', in reference to the sacking of Reggae Boyz coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore.

While accountability is good, it has to be applied to all aspects of our football, but especially in key positions such as leadership. While Jamaica will be eternally grateful to Captain Horace Burrell for the seminal role he played in Jamaica's qualification for the 1998 FIFA World Cup, if the same rule were to be used to measure the esteemed president's tenure at the Jamaica Football Federation, would he measure up?

Three (maybe four by the end of 2013) failed World Cup qualification cycles cannot be by chance. With all the failed qualification cycles, there is a common connecting thread: Captain Horace Burrell.

We need look no further than the Japanese national football team to highlight the shortcomings of the direction of Jamaica's football 'programme'. Fifteen years ago, the Reggae Boyz spearheaded by midfield maestro Whitmore, defeated Japan 2-1 in their final group-stage match, bringing the nation unbridled joy. We still wait to reach those lofty heights again. Since then, Jamaica's football has been in a state of inertia while Japan have qualified for every subsequent FIFA World Cup tournament. This clearly shows that Japan's football has a programme, while Jamaica's just has a team.

If a fiasco such as the one Jamaica is experiencing were to affect, say, France, there would have been an en bloc purge of all personnel, from coaching to administration. Many fans will remember the wholesale clean-out and rebranding thereafter, to cauterise the rot in their football. The malaise was detected and taken care of. Do the administrators of Jamaican football have the same amount of testicular fortitude?

It would be foolhardy of Mr Burrell to absolve himself of his responsibility in this, and all the previous fiascos in Jamaica's football. The astute businessman that Capt Burrell is, he should know when to fold operations, because clearly he and his administration have lost the plot. Four coaches have changed under his tenure and things have remained the same.

He should also be well aware that, when stale bread sits on a shelf too long, it is very bad for business! Mr Burrell should by now accept that the sun has set on his usefulness to Jamaican football, as he has long passed his sell-by date.

P.G. JAMES
    The 12th Manpgjames_84@yahoo.com

In Tappa defence he did something that no other Jamaican coach has ever done , beat the USA and draw with Mex in the Azecta , also he played a mouth watering type of Jamaica football in the GC that everyone believed needed, a little tweeking to deliver the full product, instead what we saw was regression.

Tappa basically failed because of immaturity and he will come good again when he returns.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

In Tappa defence he did something that no other Jamaican coach has ever done , beat the USA and draw with Mex in the Azecta , also he played a mouth watering type of Jamaica football in the GC that everyone believed needed, a little tweeking to deliver the full product, instead what we saw was regression.

Tappa basically failed because of immaturity and he will come good again when he returns.
      The regression started when he was required to choose the so called "best players"

The best players often don't make the best team....especially when they're strangers

Or was it the lack of practice matches i.e Chemistry with 3 games back to back, Mex, USA & Honduras , 2 being heavy weights at home and a road match.

Pressure buss pipes , or basket fu carry wata.Tappa isnt all that bad , more like pressure on his immature soul.

Granted his selections were alot to be desired but those mitigating factors in my mind cost him alot more.Burrell prepared him to fail.

Good job CaPn.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Contrary to what you saying below about our conference week because we don't have many "Top League" players. You change your argument for every thread

Yes our region is "week" (sic) ....

Now please indicate how my response to X is in conflict with that statement

~~sigh~~Another article that cites a problem--but does not present a possible solution....

I detest articles like this.

King Karl, is this [P.G.James]....Patrick James (from Mandeville?)

you must be mixing up Caribbean football.LOL

You were asked to show how my statement conflicted with the position that CONCACAF is a week region...you cannot.

CONCACAF comprises the region...you are again confused

~70% of teams in the region are ranked over 100 in the world by FIFA

The region is demonstrably week

yes...one can't build a good team with last minute addition of strange players...even if they are "better"...there is no understanding and no chemistry....then the naive blame the coach forced by administrators with calculators and bad mind agendas, into wholesale changes at the 11th hour.

Well mebbe he should be blamed for not standing up to that folly.

This is where statistical modeling of player value fails spectacularly.

Mawnin' Stoni
                    Last edited by Don1; June 15, 2013, 10:20 AM.

And your run guh to england solution failed .

LOL ....dem nuh waan admit dat glaring likkle detail

check FIFA tournaments and FIFA rankings and tell me how weak we are thanks.

The fact is you may want to include all the islands who don't more than 50,000 people on it. If that is your bench mark well but there are enough strong team in the region and a region which has performed in FIFA tournament and have many teams in the FIFA top 100 ranking.

I just checked the rankings to see if my perceptions are correct. They are...but it seems my standards are much higher than yours.

~70% of teams in CONCACAF are ranked over 100 by FIFA

Only 2 are ranked lower than 30 and none in the top 15

CONCACAF is a week region....dats nat news

mi suggest yuh gwaan guh play wid yuh yute dem ...guh relax an' clear yuh brain like ow yuh naw mek tuh much sense yahnow
                              Last edited by Don1; June 15, 2013, 10:41 AM.