• Maxwell has the answers

Maxwell has the answers

•Local coach thinks JFF Technical Committee should be fired ...believes Carl Brown, Bradley Stewart and himself to be right for Boyz job
    BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, June 13, 2013

THE entire technical committee and coaching staff must join the departed Theodore Whitmore, that's the sentiment of outspoken former national coach Geoffrey Maxwell.

Not only that. Maxwell believes that himself, Carl Brown and Bradley Stewart as the only coaches in Jamaica capable at this time to take the Reggae Boyz forward.

MAXWELL... I think quite frankly right now we need a change of direction and a change of personnel

TEGUCIGALPA, Honduras — Jamaica’s Jermaine Beckford and Marvin Elliott get up high above the all other players as they challenge for the ball during their CONCACAF World Cup qualifying match against Honduras here on Tuesday night. Honduras won 2-0. (PHOTO: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)

MAXWELL... I think quite frankly right now we need a change of direction and a change of personnel

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/2

"What is facing us right now is called a crash programme. I think right now, if we are going to go locally, which is the best time right now, Carl Brown, Bradley Stewart and myself are the only three coaches capable at this level," Maxwell reiterated.

"If we get anybody outside of myself, Carl Brown or Bradley Stewart, it will be musical cheers all over again. The coaches that they are thinking of do not know what it is to analyse in split seconds when you going wrong, when you need to change, what you have to do to draw the game what you have to do to win the game. I am not being critical, I am being realistic," he noted.

Maxwell, regarded as top local student of the game by some, said he and the other coaches he mentioned are the most qualified in the country, and who possess the all-round skills to move Jamaica's football in the "right direction".

"Carl and myself have played at the highest level for the country, we have also both coached at the highest level, and Bradley Stewart is a brilliant tactical mind. He was in my mind, 60 per cent of Tappa's success in the early years," noted Maxwell.

"We brought in these Brazilians and changed our method and way of thinking.

I am a Brazil person and I can tell you that this set doesn't make sense. They have switched our method of playing with a sweeper system, which Simoes used to qualify, to that of a flat back four system which has left disastrous results," said Maxwell.

Maxwell said a change in direction of the national programme is neeeded now.

"I am not being malicious and I am not being licky-licky, and I am not saying I don't want the national coaching job. But I think, quite frankly, right now we need a change of direction and a change of personnel," Maxwell told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.

Following a dismal run in their World Cup campaign, head coach Whitmore resigned his position following the team's 0-2 defeat to Honduras on Tuesday night.

"We have achieved the first objective, and we are trying to turn the programme around. The coach has been replaced, and I am hoping that the other coaches of the entire unit goes also. It is unfair to just target Whitmore as the fault. He can't be the only fault," stressed Maxwell.

He continued: "I think the technical committee head, in Howard McIntosh, should also go along with the technical committee. These are the people who supposed to guide the coaches in what can be done and what we need to achieve, and also be able to query the coaches in front of a body and find out what went wrong," said the former national coach of the late 1980s.
    "If they are going to be vexed so be it. But the hard reality is that they should be fired first," he continued.

Maxwell, who has coached at almost all the Premier League clubs in Jamaica and is the current coach of Humble Lion, believes a coaching panel is needed right now to sit and discuss the way forward.

"We are talking about a crash programme. Whichever coaches are put there, they need to meet with all the Premier League coaches and they need to decide from now what type of system we are going to play... this is the type of wingbacks we need; this is the type of midfield players we are looking for. If you don't have these qualities we are going to go outside and look for people. Thus putting the ultimatum on the local coaches," he emphasised.

As for the overseas players that are still interested in representing Jamaica, Maxwell suggested that they should be put under more pressure to prove that they belong in the programme.

"We need to see you scoring, and we also need to know you are a first team starter, then you will be chosen. When foreign clubs come here to buy players they have to know the player can fit into their systems; they have to know that they can invest in him. What we are doing is taking up scrapsies," he pointed out.

If given the job, Maxwell already has plans to take the Reggae Boyz forward starting with their must-win match on September 5.

"The next step, we do is try and get two practice matches. Get one against a team that we should beat in the National Stadium. What it does is bring back the confidence level to the players and bring back the confidence of the spectators with a little excitement. Then we get a team that we have to show our quality to play against before our game on the 5th of September.

"The last step that we need to do is send away one or two persons that can analyse football and watch the teams that we are going to play against and come back with information stating A or B," he noted.

"I have spoken in the interest of the country, prove me wrong," Maxwell concluded.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2WDEssPLn

I take it that Humble Lion* is the NPL champions under Maxwell.

Maybe he is one of those who think that NPL'ers can compete on the international level without help.

Ever notice that folks who are not in power are experts at decision making?

All said...Karl Brown is my choice for the coaching job.

(*forgive me but i have never heard of this team)

one thing you can say about maxwell is he have balls. Wasn't him when he was at TG and the team was waiting on the blinds said is he a player? no lets go... so him have a bag a chat but here me>> I am a Brazil person and I can tell you that this set doesn't make sense. They have switched our method of playing with a sweeper system, which Simoes used to qualify, to that of a flat back four system which has left disastrous results," said Maxwell. TELL ME WHAT OTHER PRO or National TEAM YOU KNOW PLAYING WITH A SWEEPER?????? Maxwell could not even build my foul coup.

I take it that Humble Lion* is the NPL champions under Maxwell.

Maybe he is one of those who think that NPL'ers can compete on the international level without help.

Ever notice that folks who are not in power are experts at decision making?

All said...Karl Brown is my choice for the coaching job.

(*forgive me but i have never heard of this team)
        Note that "Humble Lion" may have the same initials as you, but you sir, are no Lion! Humble or otherwise! So mek we get dat straight! (I always thought HL stood for "Habitual Liad!")

Anyway, if JFF appoint this eediat Maxwell, we deserve the bed wi mek. As friend of mine said "When newspapers give a convicted fraudster and a man who has not met his obligations to his children a full page in print to suggest that he is the right man to be the next coach of Jamaica you can see why this country is in the position it's in"

Jamaica needs to find the money to go abroad for our next coach. We are too craven and simplistic to manage our own affairs.

How do either things you mentioned make him ineligible as a successful coach ??

That's like saying Tappa could not be the center of our midfield because he was charged with Vehicular Manslaughter....

or Ray Lewis could not be successful football player because he has children from 3 different women and was charged with Murder and eventually convicted of Obstruction of Justice..

Last edited by Muadib; June 14, 2013, 05:51 PM.

Note that "Humble Lion" may have the same initials as you, but you sir, are no Lion! Humble or otherwise! So mek we get dat straight! (I always thought HL stood for "Habitual Liad!")

Anyway, if JFF appoint this eediat Maxwell, we deserve the bed wi mek. As friend of mine said "When newspapers give a convicted fraudster and a man who has not met his obligations to his children a full page in print to suggest that he is the right man to be the next coach of Jamaica you can see why this country is in the position it's in"

Jamaica needs to find the money to go abroad for our next coach. We are too craven and simplistic to manage our own affairs.
            You funny caaan't done!

That's a creative name for a team though. Only in jamaica.

An American coach would do.

How do either things you mentioned make him ineligible as a successful coach ??

That's like saying Tappa could not be the center of our midfield because he was charged with Vehicular Manslaughter....

or Ray Lewis could not be successful football player because he has children from 3 different women and was charged with Murder and eventually convicted of Obstruction of Justice..
              First of all, I did not say anything regarding the matters you raise, I pointed out what someone else said. Now, I do happen to agree with them, so I will defend the position. Secondly, a coach and a player are not the same. Coaches (especially national team coaches) are leaders and have to command a high modicum of dignity in dispensing their duties. So even if Pep Guardiola himself were to throw his hat in the ring to coach Jamaica, we would have to draw a line were he a convicted fraudster. Maxwell remember, got 12 months for defrauding a pharma company of J$22m; how can you put a man like that in charge of a program and expect the program to be respected? Look at what happened to TNT and Jack? LOL!!!

Thirdly, what I did say was that Maxwell was an eediat. I defend this position based on statements he made in the article posted. He may well be a nice fellow, but to come out to the press and proclaim yourself as one of the "only" locally based coaches to take over the team (while at the same time trying to couch it as being sincere) is patently disingenuous. He is clearly acting in his own selfish self interests and anyone reading that article dispassionately (journalistic license notwithstanding) can see that. Calling in the press for McIntosh to be fired along with the rest of the technical staff is classless and tactless...we don't need someone who is going to make such pedestrian blunders leading our national team. And lastly, If those three men are our only choices, then the choice is clear - go a farin!

I agree with paul , his arrogance turned me off.He is no Rafa, more of a BR.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I agree with paul , his arrogance turned me off.He is no Rafa, more of a BR.
                  You buy u Napoli gears yet? Good team dat, hope Rafa don't frig it up! LOL!!! In truth, Rafa showed at Chelski what he is capable of with a good team...Rodgers can only hope for such a chance.

"If we get anybody outside of myself, Carl Brown or Bradley Stewart, it will be musical cheers all over again..."

Did the reporter quote him correctly?? There is a pun in there... as God ... LOL

What I'd give to be able to do any kind of "cheering"...
                    Last edited by Peter R; June 15, 2013, 07:38 AM.

Hahaha, OJ that is funny, could'nt build you fowl coop!!

What are the questions?

Karl Brown??? You are kidding right!

Hey wicked pun there we will be celebrating with any selection outside of those guys!

Suh wait.. him nuh borrow di money fi him football Club.. now dat is commitment !!!