aaah mek yuh see

I like the way you put forward your arguments. You first said you cannot see how my idea will get us there. It's now my duty to point the way to you.

let's look at the first fact: Ja is under three mil in population. 2 Ja is in dire straits on the economic front. We will now work with these two for now. Given the fact that Ja is under three mil the island can ill afford to waste man power. Ja has to approach everything from a lean and mean standpoint. The objective of the youth league is to glean the top players you will then move on to play professionally. The rest will have time to reconsider and pursue other profession (Law, science,engineering, medicine, electrician, plumber et al) that will aid the economy. One must also remember that Ja is dominant in track and field hence the island needs talent there also. All this must be squeezed out of a population under three mil. The above arguments also makes it easy for one to see why many of the teams in the RSPL at present is equal to D4 (hence further diminishing Ja's ability to compete at the highest level). Based on Ja's population size; the present RSPL is one of quantity and not quality. Ja really needs about three good teams.

Establishing a franchise in the MLS would bring serious results for Ja. Wasting time and money on high school football will have us running to england every qualifiers. At present our players on the local front lack the basics; which is just holding the ball and making a accurate pass.

LOL... what a way yuh fixated pon likkle HS ball

Riggle mi dis yuteman...

1. How much money do you think is spent on HS ball annually?? Ans: A pittance

2. How much money would be spent to establish a MLS franchise (assuming Babylon finds the JA market attractive...(which they DEFINITELY & ABSOLUTELY WILL NOT!!) ... the TV market would be laughable, gate receipts ludicrous and merchandising would be a joke
        try ~US$50 Million in just franchise fees...then you have stadium upgrades to meet MLS standards, practice facilities, professional staff etc etc etc pon top ah dat

3. Ignoring the fact that your fanciful Jamaican MLS franchise would hemorrhage money at a massive rate annually and be completely UNVIABLE from jump ... how much money does it take to operate a MLS franchise annually??
        ~US$3m on player salaries alone...plus probably another US$15m-20m or so in operating expenses... say US$18m-US$20m total/annum

This idea is a non-starter...a financial disaster that would never see the light of day because no investor would touch dat
        Last edited by Don1; June 17, 2013, 10:42 PM.

Okay it fails your three tests. What's your? Thanks.
          I have offered a long term plan for local youth development and for the majority focused on the short run...I've recently reiterated a plan for World Cup qualification based on a high tempo development game plan featuring a local core group with a few committed foreign-based players filling any glaring holes .... the PRECISE model Prof. Simoes followed for 4 years which took Jamaica to France '98
          That’s the ONLY successful model Jamaica has.

I never saw the logic in reinventing the wheel we already successfully built....using very unexceptional imported foreign players and a just-in-time inventory system ... that works for vehicle production not football teams.....yuhzimi??

LOL... what a way yuh fixated pon likkle HS ball

Riggle mi dis yuteman...

1. How much money do you think is spent on HS ball annually?? Ans: A pittance

2. How much money would be spent to establish a MLS franchise (assuming Babylon finds the JA market attractive...(which they DEFINITELY & ABSOLUTELY WILL NOT!!) ... the TV market would be laughable, gate receipts ludicrous and merchandising would be a joke
            try ~US$50 Million in just franchise fees...then you have stadium upgrades to meet MLS standards, practice facilities, professional staff etc etc etc pon top ah dat

3. Ignoring the fact that your fanciful Jamaican MLS franchise would hemorrhage money at a massive rate annually and be completely UNVIABLE from jump ... how much money does it take to operate a MLS franchise annually??
            ~US$3m on player salaries alone...plus probably another US$15m-20m or so in operating expenses... say US$18m-US$20m total/annum

This idea is a non-starter...a financial disaster that would never see the light of day because no investor would touch dat
            Tek it easy nuh man. This is an esteemed poster yuh talking to yuh kno. I will excuse him and give him a pass.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I like the way you put forward your arguments. You first said you cannot see how my idea will get us there. It's now my duty to point the way to you.

let's look at the first fact: Ja is under three mil in population. 2 Ja is in dire straits on the economic front. We will now work with these two for now. Given the fact that Ja is under three mil the island can ill afford to waste man power. Ja has to approach everything from a lean and mean standpoint. The objective of the youth league is to glean the top players you will then move on to play professionally. The rest will have time to reconsider and pursue other profession (Law, science,engineering, medicine, electrician, plumber et al) that will aid the economy. One must also remember that Ja is dominant in track and field hence the island needs talent there also. All this must be squeezed out of a population under three mil. The above arguments also makes it easy for one to see why many of the teams in the RSPL at present is equal to D4 (hence further diminishing Ja's ability to compete at the highest level). Based on Ja's population size; the present RSPL is one of quantity and not quality. Ja really needs about three good teams.

Establishing a franchise in the MLS would bring serious results for Ja. Wasting time and money on high school football will have us running to england every qualifiers. At present our players on the local front lack the basics; which is just holding the ball and making a accurate pass.
              ...the above assumes relative minuscule number of talented youngsters. That number it is assumed limited to number to that can adequately supply only 3 high quality teams.

...wonder how it is arrived that our talented is such minuscule number????
              Have all our youngsters been introduced to the game and all exposed to 'proper development path'? ...how many years did the 'test trial period' cover??? Post di stats, nuh?!

Yuh put tugeddah the delegation to Haiti yet ?

Dat yuh fi focus pon !

ok boss ...

I guess some don't realize at the top level football is a BUSINESS first.. One has to keep the argument grounded inna dat reality

Manning Cup, D'Cup, Corner league or Sunday scrimmage?? Now dats sitten else
                  Last edited by Don1; June 18, 2013, 01:31 PM.

Waiting for your Jamaica Club business model..

We are not working with trained seals.. we now have established channels and active agents to 'compete' with..

'Club vs Country'...

We natives don't work for free anymore !

LOL

Wi ah deal wid local players as di fulcrum yute.... mek mi know di local club an di local agents dat agguh stymie di JFF developing dem balla inna club vs country fight....woooiiieee

but local balla nuh haffi jump pon flight to farin once him skills are deemed extra-ordinary and him age ready ?

Football is a business.. nuh suh ??

Guess what happens to players who are unavailable for ANY reason??

They are replaced ... I don't see any other possible outcome. Yuh??

Now ... don't bombard mi wid questions expecting me to solve or explain evvy likkle ting... tenks in advance
                          Last edited by Don1; June 18, 2013, 02:07 PM.

You are going to replace players who are not available for Club Jamaica schedule ??

When you say replace.. what do you mean exactly ?

Simoes model that was used in 1998 Campaign cannot work for Jamaica today.. players have access to opportunities outside of Jamaica.. especially the good ones..

You will have to do what Simoes did with earlier age groups and hope they survive the transition to other leagues..

Not sure how you work around the High School schedule though...

=Muadib;430978]You are going to replace players who are not available for Club Jamaica schedule ??

When you say replace.. what do you mean exactly ?
                              I mean when a player is injured, uninterested or otherwise unavailable....choose the next best alternative. Nuh dats why teams juggle player pools??

Simoes model that was used in 1998 Campaign cannot work for Jamaica today.. players have access to opportunities outside of Jamaica.. especially the good ones..
                              That is a belief that is not proved. It needs to be tried consistently as it was 1994-98. I recall people then said that what Simoes was trying was IMPOSSIBLE with that group of trained seals who NEVER experienced consistent team play at ANY level ...seems they were wrong then just as the naysayers are wrong now

What has been comprehensively proved for 4 WCQ cycles now is that the mass import strategy is a colossal FAILURE.

That's the inconvenient truth that many don't wish to face up to

You will have to do what Simoes did with earlier age groups and hope they survive the transition to other leagues..

Not sure how you work around the High School schedule though...
                              Whe wrang wid unnu an dis HS ball ting??? Dat ah di least

Mi dun ave dat national formula fi manage dat likkle issue...which will itself create an improved cohort of players for the national development pool

Such is the benefit of an integrated "systems approach to problem solving" with forward/backward linkages.... and not the personality-focused ting persons love fi promote .....wooooiiiieee
                              Last edited by Don1; June 18, 2013, 04:16 PM.

that would imply you are playing games... we are not.