Whitmore had to go - Burrell

• Whitmore had to go - Burrell

Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, has told reporters that although dismissed head coach Theodore Whitmore tried “his endeavour best” he could not keep his job because of the poor performance of the Reggae Boyz on the road to Rio for the 2014 World Cup.

At a press conference a short while ago, Burrell said following last night’s 2-0 loss to Honduras, he had a meeting with Whitmore at 0100 hours in Tegucigalpa.

“Following that meeting, coach Whitmore took the decision to tender his resignation,” Burrell said.

According to Burrell, the string of poor performances by the national team demands action.

“A coach’s tenure depends on the results. Admittedly, the results over the past months have not been good and hence I have, without any reservation, accepted coach Whitmore’s resignation,” he said.

However, Burrell has seemingly not closed the door on Whitmore.

“Coach Whitmore has gained tremendous experience and there are other areas in which that experience can be used. But as it relates to the Reggae Boyz team coach Whitmore has resigned as the head coach and will resign from that unit,” he said.

Montesso’s role
    Asked about the role of technical director Afredo Motessso, Burrell said it will take a few days before a decision is made.

“The technical committee and the JFF, in the next few days, will be discussing this matter as high priority,” he said, in reference to the way forward following Whitmore’s fallout.

In the meantime, Burrell says Jamaica still has a chance to qualify for the World Cup finals from the group of six teams.

“We’re still in the qualifying, we still have in place the management staff and we will not want to dismantle the aggregation there,” he said.

“All is not lost, there is still hope. Though it may be considered slim we still have a chance and will ask the public to continue supporting the programme.”

...and therein could be a continuation of poor preparation if by a miracle we advance...as the JFF leaders would continue with the stop-start-stop-start...'no good preparation' teams...

Karl ah nuh too Tappa fault but mi nah get into it. Karl did you notice that one player in particular was venting and showing frustration? Using body language to tell us something is wrong? Watch the tapes again.

If that happened in our last game, I never saw that game. Would love a tape. Send me a copy, nuh?

Yup same person rebelling. Karl mi watch the last game pon di net an even if mi did tape it, it would even been deleted. To dis day mi cyaan even watch di Brasil/Italy 82 game to the end much less fi go keep Ja lose heavily to Honduras.

..that player gats to go King Jawge!!

Karl always talks about TEAM.

The TEAM is more important than the individual:

Yuh know who mi talking?

No.

But any player whose body language-- or any other form of disgruntlement or dissent..is a detriment to the entire TEAM. Wrong?
                Last edited by HL; June 12, 2013, 06:20 PM.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                  Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, has told reporters that although dismissed head coach Theodore Whitmore tried “his endeavour best” he could not keep his job because of the poor performance of the Reggae Boyz on the road to Rio for the 2014 World Cup.

At a press conference a short while ago, Burrell said following last night’s 2-0 loss to Honduras, he had a meeting with Whitmore at 0100 hours in Tegucigalpa.

“Following that meeting, coach Whitmore took the decision to tender his resignation,” Burrell said.

According to Burrell, the string of poor performances by the national team demands action.

“A coach’s tenure depends on the results. Admittedly, the results over the past months have not been good and hence I have, without any reservation, accepted coach Whitmore’s resignation,” he said.

However, Burrell has seemingly not closed the door on Whitmore.

“Coach Whitmore has gained tremendous experience and there are other areas in which that experience can be used. But as it relates to the Reggae Boyz team coach Whitmore has resigned as the head coach and will resign from that unit,” he said.

Montesso’s role
                  Asked about the role of technical director Afredo Motessso, Burrell said it will take a few days before a decision is made.

“The technical committee and the JFF, in the next few days, will be discussing this matter as high priority,” he said, in reference to the way forward following Whitmore’s fallout.

In the meantime, Burrell says Jamaica still has a chance to qualify for the World Cup finals from the group of six teams.

“We’re still in the qualifying, we still have in place the management staff and we will not want to dismantle the aggregation there,” he said.

“All is not lost, there is still hope. Though it may be considered slim we still have a chance and will ask the public to continue supporting the programme.”
                  He should have been fired after our sh!##y performance in the Gold Cup. Yes, I did say Gold Cup. What, we should have waited until it got worse in the CCup, and then in the hex?.

I am not one to hero worship. Sorry guys.

Not really dissent but just frustration and that told me something is wrong.

but Jawge, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out what was wrong?

Doc, yuh rough boss! Dats all mi haffi seh.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran