Liscened RAFAIST , RBSC Certified, PC poster coach.
Ready .
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
What is Pov B? Anyway, here is the situation: I am in a constructive discussion with a good friend who also has a young son (mine is 5, his is 6) about development objectives for the coming year. Our boys play in the same league; he is coach of his boy's team and I coach my boy's. Here is my position:
1. Kids must have fun - I don't force them to do anything (this doesn't mean don't challenge them, but rather, know when to stop as there is a point of diminishing return).
2. Develop a comfort level with the ball and lack of fear of the ball - I am saying that the kids must be able to dribble the ball, pass it and shoot at a minimum. I do every drill on both sides, left and right. I am also advocating very light work with the head and chest. For example, I hold the ball in my hand and let the boys head it out of my hands. For chesting, I just throw it lightly against their chest, let it drop to the ground and have them pass it to me.
3. Positive reinforcement - I never tell them what they do "wrong" only how to do it right. Even if they kick the ball in their own goal, I will say something like "that was a great shot, next time do it up in that goal and you'll be spot on".
Okay - so here is his position:
1. Kids who don't have fun just playing the game don't belong in the game. Keep in mind we are talking 5/6 year olds. He thinks that if they are not enjoying themselves just by playing, we should leave them to one side and not take them on until they are more interested.
2. He says that the only thing they need to focus on at this age is dribbling and shooting. No passing, no other touches on the ball with the rest of the body and forget about the weaker side until they are U8.
3. He says I baby the kids too much. Now, while he is not cussing them off, he is very vocal at them when they do things wrong. If a kid puts the ball in their own net, he will say something like "Why did you do that? That wasn't smart was it?"
Provincial B. Anyway i think your approach is right and your buddy very wrong. Kids 5 and 6 should be playing 3 v 3 ideally Experiencing all aspect of the game. Key here is they need to just play and have fun. Results are not important and technique development will be within the game. Stay away from line drills or anything that has them waiting ( not enough attention span) keep them moving with exercises not drills and see the game from their perspective. I think you are on the right track. Horst wein has a wonderful book the Soccer Development Model which is the bible around developing kids at that age. I would recommend it to your pal. it deals with the phyiso and psychological aspect of the age group.
No coaching license...save part of teaching college course.
1. Kids must have fun - I don't force them to do anything (this doesn't mean don't challenge them, but rather, know when to stop as there is a point of diminishing return).
General principle - Kids must have fun.
It is found that kids learn at more rapid rates when the topic is 'made interesting'. The kids must be engaged and having 'fun'. The kids must be curious...'looking forward' to 'what next'. Enjoy doing.
Kids do learn what is not fun.
At 'all cost' the subject must not teach 'not fun'. They should be in most cases learning without on a conscious level being aware "it is learning".
2. Develop a comfort level with the ball and lack of fear of the ball - I am saying that the kids must be able to dribble the ball, pass it and shoot at a minimum. I do every drill on both sides, left and right. I am also advocating very light work with the head and chest. For example, I hold the ball in my hand and let the boys head it out of my hands. For chesting, I just throw it lightly against their chest, let it drop to the ground and have them pass it to me.
Correct!!!
As long as it is fun - Fine...it is good.
3. Positive reinforcement - I never tell them what they do "wrong" only how to do it right. Even if they kick the ball in their own goal, I will say something like "that was a great shot, next time do it up in that goal and you'll be spot on".
Great position.
...encouraging logic - that thinking through solutions is always a top aim.
Okay - so here is his position:
1. Kids who don't have fun just playing the game don't belong in the game. Keep in mind we are talking 5/6 year olds. He thinks that if they are not enjoying themselves just by playing, we should leave them to one side and not take them on until they are more interested.
Wrong. Just throwing a ball to every kid and expecting all with ball playing talent to become engaged is unrealistic.
There are always some individuals who must be introduced to an activity in 'formal way' before an appreciation for the activity is developed.
2. He says that the only thing they need to focus on at this age is dribbling and shooting. No passing, no other touches on the ball with the rest of the body and forget about the weaker side until they are U8.
What exactly does he mean. Formal teaching of dribbling and shooting ignoring the other activities? First it cannot be done as dribbling and shooting demand skills that incorporate passing - (SHOOTING IS PASSING!!!!).
Dribbling has a starting point - receipt of the ball. ...in Jamaica parlance we speak of "control de ball". The kid has to take the ball under control before setting off on the dribble. Think on it; even as the kid starts with a 'dead-ball' or runs to meet a moving ball that first touch and each subsequent touch is all about "having the ball do his bidding"/controlling the ball.
No 'over-coaching' but ways to move the ball along such that there is efficient dribbling demand giving instructions - make it fun - on 'easiest way' - proper way - to propel the ball along such that it follows path the kid wishes it so to do.
3. He says I baby the kids too much. Now, while he is not cussing them off, he is very vocal at them when they do things wrong. If a kid puts the ball in their own net, he will say something like "Why did you do that? That wasn't smart was it?"
No sure what is meant...I will just say this; the teacher must always be respectful of the pupil - The instructions and demonstrations must be such that they are easily understood. Certainly no distractions from the 'teaching' should occur. Cussing is a distraction...brings out fear of failure and impacts (self-)confidence.
Make it fun/interesting!!!
...and remember at the root of teaching is having the pupils become better at the subject/discipline/activity than the teacher has ever been.
I have am qualified to sit the D license anytime. GA gave me permission to bypass the F and E licenses. As the boys get bigger I may have to think about it.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Me a licenced PC (say it as it comes to your mind... )coach. I was very successful with the 9 -11 age group. You are...~cough~cough~.....on....the...right .....track.
That's all I have to say
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
When I coached my kids team it was for them to have fun running and playing.
I would concentrate on them dribbling (at speed) and shoot. Taking shots and having fun with them for them to score on me.
I would also do some defensive work. look at the better defensive players and better offensive players. In game time I would put try and start the best defensive players in defense and best offensive players in offense. I tried not to force too much position except calling for "defense" or player to run back, player to stay on the half line when the ball is in the other half or shout "offense" while with the parents help cheering them on. As the game went on I would rotate because winning and losing wasn't the main objective and make sure everybody got some good minutes.
The most important thing is that they enjoy the game. While I coach the kids wanted to play. You can't blame kids for mistake and you can't sit them on the bench because you want to win. I also hate to see these coaches teaching kids to stay in position at this age.
The only time I get mad is when the kids(kids they are) are all not listening.
At that age kids must not be afraid to dribble. Now at least one of my youths will be in travelling team soon, I take them to the park myself on the off season and let them dribble and shoot because I am afraid some coach may try to kill that.
Only thing I can tell you ifsome the kids not having fun, encourage them to run and play. Let them score 1 goal and you may see a big difference in them.
Word of caution: At your kids early stage, I would not pigeon hole either as defensive or offensive player. I was taught that at those early years the kid should be encouraged to play each and everywhere on the field...much like you would not take a kid at that age and say - scientist or artist or...whatever.
It was claimed...and it made sense to me...that playing the different positions taught an appreciation for 'playing the game right'. ...an appreciation of the opponent(s) thinking and development of various solutions suitable to problems presented.
...explained in a colloquial manner: knowing what the opponent playing a position is all about makes for better being able to approach task of bettering that opponent.
No Karl, I would start them at a position I think they are strongest or comfortable and if you read I rotate them during the game. No kid is going to be a forward for the whole game. Every kid gets a chance to play both offense and defense during the game and all kids get rotated in and out of the game, pretty much on even time.
Got yuh, boss.
Sorry!...I misunderstood.