• Tappa Alright!

According to the observer he was earning 1 mil JMD a month

Tappa Whitmore resigns

By Ian Burnett Sport Editor
    Wednesday, June 12, 2013 | 8:46 AM

TEGUCIGALPA, Honduras – It appears that Honduras has claimed the scalp of another Jamaican coach, as the Jamaica Observer understands that head coach of the senior Reggae Boyz team Theodore Whitmore will resign in a matter of hours.
    Jamaica suffered a 0-2 loss to Honduras on Tuesday night here at the Tiburcio Carias Olympic Stadium in Tegucigalpa, the team’s fourth defeat in a row, which leaves it rooted at the bottom of the six-nation points standings on two points, eight adrift of the USA, who slammed Panama 2-0 at the CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Washington. Costa Rica, who held hosts Mexico 0-0 at the Azteca for their fourth goalless result in the round, share second place on eight points, with Honduras next with seven points and Panama in fifth place on six points.

1/1

The top three teams earn automatic berths to the FIFA World Cup Finals in Brazil next summer, and the fourth-placed team earns another shot at the showpiece event with a home-and-away playoff with the winner of the Oceania region.
    At the team’s return to their Real Intercontinental Hotel last night, a serious-looking Jamaica Football Federation president had told members of the media that he was “contemplating a meeting” for later that night.
    That comment sparked interest as it was here on September 6, 2001 that Captain Burrell announced the firing of then technical director of Jamaica’s football programme, Brazilian Clovis de Oliveira at zero one hundred hours (1:00 am) following a 0-1 loss to the home side, which effectively eliminated the Boyz from the 2002 FIFA World Cup Finals in South Korea and Japan.
    Then on September 11, 2008 the JFF boss made the announcement of the firing of another Brazilian Rene Simoes at the airport in San Pedro Sula, following a 0-2 loss and a string of poor performances from the team. Coincidentally, it was Whitmore, who was tasked with guiding the team for the three remaining matches in the campaign, which he duly won.
    The Observer understands that Captain Burrell met with Whitmore, his assistant Braziloian Alfredo Montesso, Howard McIntosh, chairman of the technical committee, Michael Ricketts, head of delegation, and Raymond Grant, JFF general secretary here at the hotel early this morning where the coach was allegedly given a choice to resign or be fired.
    An Observer source claims that a press conference is expected later today to announce the decision after Whitmore confirms his decision. It was not clear what decision was taken with Montesso, who was only recently announced as technical director of the football programmes.
    Whitmore is reported to earn approximately J$ one million per month as head coach.

cheap comparing to what they paid Rene

Cheap, that's why Tappa was given the position. That is not the going rate for National coaches.

It would be best if tappa remains and take the 'medicine' to the end.

I am extremely curious to see who his replacement will be:

It's all about economics. Jamaica does not have the money to hire overseas. Well unless it the old US coach Sampson who will do it for "free", asking only free room an board, beach, sun and young Jamaican gurls.

If you don't have the right players in the right position.. it does not matter who is coaching..

if you have the right players in the right position.. I could have coached the Reggaeboyz to beat that depleted Honduras side..

Why don't you apply for Tappa's jab? ....you 'ave thing thing all figured out!

They can't afford me...

CHEAP?????!!!!! and then Tilla is going to talk about the JFF being broke!!!! That is US$10k per month=US$120k per year!!!! My estimations were spot on when I wrote that piece a few years ago. You are telling me that you cannot get a "qualified" coach here in the USA to take that job???? A Mexican coach???? How much is Montesso getting and for what???? Tappa was not "qualified" for the job and no local Jamaican coach is. Of course, we need to implement a proper youth development program, but I firmly believe that the JFF can get more value for the same money that is being paid to Tappa and the Brazilians, if they look north.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

what was simoes and Jb getting/

I am with Jangle on this, we have qualified Jamaican coaches overseas , who would give the JFF more value for money i.e a program.
                  Last edited by Sir X; June 12, 2013, 02:19 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

CHEAP?????!!!!!
                    Of course that is cheap for a HEAD COACH. Caleb Porter is a first year pro coach in MLS and making $270,000 plus additional bonuses.

Sickko vbmenu_register("postmenu_59593", true);
                      Reggae Prime Minister

Easy, Burrell, easy-Observer West Column
                      Easy, Burrell, easy

No one doubted newly elected Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Horace Burrell would hit the ground running in his effort to resuscitate Jamaica’s flagging football fortunes.

Jamaica’s football, which reached its highest levels under Burrell between 1995 and 2000, including qualifying for the FIFA World Cup Finals in France in 1998, sunk to new depths under Crenston Boxhill and nothing but strong leadership and tough decision making is necessary if we are to get back any semblance of decency.

Burrell’s haste in getting rid of Technical Director Bora Milutinovic and replacing him with Rene Simoes within two days of returning to office is some cause for alarm and hopefully it is not a sign of things to come.
                      Sporting Edge still believes Bora is the best coach for Jamaica right now and the least the new Burrell administration could have done is seek to work out a deal with him, maybe reducing his hefty salary.

If the JFF’s coffers is as bare as we were told on Tuesday, how come there will be two friendly internationals in the next two weeks? Where will this money come from to host two countries? I hope the new JFF is not digging itself into a deeper financial hole in its rush to return international football to the country.

There is also a lot of celebration with the expected return of Simoes to Jamaica and former FIFA referee Peter Prendergast was heard on one radio sports talk show welcoming back “the little magician from Brazil”. I guess like many others, Peter’s memory is very short, or he chose to ignore the failures under Simoes.

Maybe the qualification to France overshadowed everything, for we seem to have forgotten that Simoes basically walked away from the job after a series of failures, while advising the JFF and the government how best to spend money instead of investing in foreign coaches.
                      He then went to Trinidad and Iran with very little, if any, success before turning up with the Brazil female Olympic team, then a second division club team. Hardly worthy of the résumé of a coach that took a minnow to the World Cup and won a game.

One gets the feeling however that Simoes’ return is a done deal and all we can do is hope he can recapture the magic he did in his first stint. After all, regardless of how we feel about his abilities as a coach, we have to support the national programme.

Sadly, not a whole lot has changed in the infrastructure of the club system since Rene was last here and he will be faced with the same obstacles as back then. We had heard in 1994 when he arrived that he would be putting in place a blueprint for sustained growth and development.

We were still waiting for that blueprint when he left.
                      With the qualification for the 2010 World Cup set to start in June, it is hardly likely that there will be time for any holistic overhaul of the Jamaican local football product.

Interesting.

http://activepaper.olivesoftware.com.../Pc0470100.jpg
                      HoraceBurrl
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

There are past players who live overseas and out-of-work licensed coaches who will jump at a chance to make US$120k per year whilst improving their resume by coaching a world cup national team. Tappa was not "qualified" and I am not just talking about having a license. I think that the next permanent head coach MUST be qualified before being offered the job.

So you want an out of work coach living overseas. If you ever tell me is the JC coach you going to recommend, is better Mosiah close down the forum. LOL

I don't know who the JC coach is, but the point is, I believe that the coach must be from overseas and at the very least, licensed, which will be an improvement over Tappa's qualification or any other Jamaican local coach. An overseas coach is free from the local politics and he must have either played the game at the professional level over a decent period of time, or have been involved in the coaching of a professional setup.

There are past players who live overseas and out-of-work licensed coaches who will jump at a chance to make US$120k per year whilst improving their resume by coaching a world cup national team. Tappa was not "qualified" and I am not just talking about having a license. I think that the next permanent head coach MUST be qualified before being offered the job.
                              Jangle we have gone down that road before:
                              Qualified coaches/highly qualified coaches - Return of Rene Simoes, Sebastião Barroso Lazaroni, Bora Milutinovic, Oswaldo de Oliveira.

All with tremendous resume!!!
                              However none were given JFF backed preparatory matches for the number of years of Rene Simoes' first coming!!! ...and all our campaigns under those less than Simoes' first go round of excellent preparations came to shuddering halt - ABJECT FAILURES!!!

I warned of encouraging the JFF's silly gambit san 1998 ...a silly gambit that is still running its course, by giving the JFF the crutch of claiming a mere change of coach would right our ship. ...yet every time our underprepared SQUAD runs aground the press, ignorant local coaches (cannot coach even their arses) and fans hand the JFF the crutch that "a di coach fault"!

...so the JFF runs with it!!! ...and into the next stopping of the program - abandoning the SQUAD - no continuity - a wait until qualifiers are on us to put a pick-up squad together - then once more FAILURE!

Duh not this time...give the JFF no where to run and hide...no "A di coach fault" foolishness!!! It is lack of a program! Lack of proper preparation! The JFF's leaders fault!!!