The way forward

Who owns this Club.. how is this club financed ?

How many players would this club have signed at any one time ?

How would this club generate revenue ?

How would you ensure the best local players are signed to this club ?

Jamaica National Club
      Don1 - Muadib's question seems to hit at the crux of the problem. A local based core is near impossible with the level our local football is played at. The reality is that we will *never* have the resources to develop a local league of any standing, and getting an MLS franchise seems to me flawed in that we can't fill stadiums at the price point the MLS needs teams to charge to remain financially sound. So therefore, it seems that any program MUST have the leadership that can establish partnerships with clubs abroad so that our best players can be showcased and picked up with clubs with the resources to have them playing at the highest levels.

This would ABSOLUTELY mean we develop our U7-18 program aggressively and move with some sense of urgency to establish links with clubs around the world that can give our players opportunities to play at high levels. When that happens, a Rudi Austin or a Daniel Gordon are in the same exact position regarding commitment as they will both have to hop on a plane if they are to play internationally.

As for players committing "early", I think that's ideal but unrealistic. We have to confront the brutal facts and realize that the BEST players are also going to be sought after by other national teams. For example, do you think John Barnes would have played for Jamaica EVEN TODAY were he to be called up by England? We have to be realistic and not demagogue those people who decide to play elsewhere, just realize it is part of the landscape and attract the best talent we can from the foreign-born/naturalized contingent.

Little by little, it will come, but we have to be realistic and realize our limitations. Developing a local professional league of any standing is a pipe dream considering how poor a nation we are, but developing U7-U18 however, is within our grasp. We just need the right leaders.

Absent a good league and adequate local youth development...what are Jamaica's options for WCQ?

1. Depend mostly on foreign-based professionals...with a few token local based players who don't get a consistent run...

2. Build the core of the team around locals...treating the national side like a club to develop cohesion ova di nex 2 years...add a few foreigners to patch holes and fill the squad out

One approach has failed miserably for 4 WCQ cycles since 1998.

The other was tried ONCE and was successful.

Mi nuh know bout nuhbaddy else ...but mi nuh need nuh more data dan dat fi choose one course
        Last edited by Don1; June 14, 2013, 07:16 PM.

LOL..mi nuh mean one actual club lika dat....aldo mi notice Antigua try dat

Yuh nuh realize seh Simoes did hangle di RBZ lika one club?? Absent odda prerequisites ah dat wi need
          Last edited by Don1; June 14, 2013, 07:04 PM.

Absent a good league and adequate local youth development...what are Jamaica's options?

1. Depend mostly on foreign-based professionals...with a few token local based players who don't get a consistent run

2. Build the core of the team around locals...treating the national side like a club to develop cohesion ova di nex 2 years...add a few foreigners to patch holes and fill the squad out

One approach has failed miserably for 4 WCQ cycles since 1998.

The other was tried ONCE and was successful.

Mi nuh know bout anyone else ...but mi nuh need nuh more data dan dat fi choose one course
            The problem with your analysis is that you are basing the way forward on a paradigm suited for a different place in time. The world is much different today than it was in 1998. Muadib asked the question - "[Which clubs would these locals play for?]" Until the names you put forward can realistically go up against other club teams internationally and "hold their own", then you are fooling yourself. My position:

1. Focus on U7-U18
            2. Establish deep ties with foreign programs with resources
            3. Showcase our youth talent regularly and internationally*
            4. Establish policies and procedures that make it clear how we operate vis-à-vis foreign born options; there are kids RIGHT NOW playing in America, England etc. who would jump on a plane at their own expense and go to a Jamaica National Youth Team open tryout if you were to hold one.

* It might sound like joke, but every time we win a medal at the Olympics somebody should be on the phone to Mourinho saying, (this part is joke but you get the drift) "Yeah, Bolt is fast...but I have a youngster who used to kick his azz all the time when they were kids, but he chose to play soccer instead...David Moyes is looking at him, so is Pelligrini... " Get creative Jamaica. Get creative. Dem should give me the job! Lawd jesu, I'm starting to sound like Maxwell now! LOL!!!

The problem with your analysis is that you are basing the way forward on a paradigm suited for a different place in time. The world is much different today than it was in 1998. Muadib asked the question - "[Which clubs would these locals play for?]" Until the names you put forward can realistically go up against other club teams internationally and "hold their own", then you are fooling yourself. My position:

1. Focus on U7-U18
              2. Establish deep ties with foreign programs with resources
              3. Showcase our youth talent regularly and internationally*
              4. Establish policies and procedures that make it clear how we operate vis-à-vis foreign born options; there are kids RIGHT NOW playing in America, England etc. who would jump on a plane at their own expense and go to a Jamaica National Youth Team open tryout if you were to hold one.

* It might sound like joke, but every time we win a medal at the Olympics somebody should be on the phone to Mourinho saying, (this part is joke but you get the drift) "Yeah, Bolt is fast...but I have a youngster who used to kick his azz all the time when they were kids, but he chose to play soccer instead...David Moyes is looking at him, so is Pelligrini... " Get creative Jamaica. Get creative. Dem should give me the job! Lawd jesu, I'm starting to sound like Maxwell now! LOL!!!
              I agree with the focus on youth development. In fact I have in the past proposed such a plan.

The problem is that Jamaicans are focused on WCQ to the exclusion of all else...this includes the JFF

This being the case I proposed a framework for WCQ...incidentally it's a proven system which worked the ONLY time it was tried...100% success rate

I hear this stuff about "the world has changed" etc. Frankly that relates to formations/fitness/training... the science of the game. Nothing has changed imho to negate a team built around locals....unless we're immune somehow to modern science

The elements of the game are immutable. It's still 11 vs 11. The most mentally strong, committed, organized & cohesive 11 has the best chance of success....especially in our mediocre region. To my mind that situation only occurs with playing a group in varied, difficult conditions over a protracted time with inspired leadership...say 2-3 years.

Anything less will probably fail. We have seen that movie repeatedly since 1998 with the hodge podge last minute approach taken
              Last edited by Don1; June 14, 2013, 08:14 PM.

Don1 - Muadib's question seems to hit at the crux of the problem. A local based core is near impossible with the level our local football is played at. The reality is that we will *never* have the resources to develop a local league of any standing.
                At the present level quality players and play in our RSPL is extremely poor.
                ...but why do we assume that even with the same quality financial and physical resources it is impossible to develop or attain top level quality players and play?

The question is, why not good teachers with our talented players willing to do the work and able to absorb the necessary teaching instructions not able to produce top quality players and play?

It must be that our people being...can produce top quality play. ...unless it is impossible to produce such top players and play because we have some inherent flaw - mental limitations or physical limitations or both?

Maudib and all others who have bought into the argument(s) that claim we are 'lesser mortals' are wrong!!!

How far way are we , when Tappa cab pull off two historic 1st ,beat the USA and draw with MEX in the Azecta ? The type of football Jamaica played in the GC had alot of promise , what happened ? and that was a mix of MLS and local talent ?

That was down to a local coach and a Brazilian influence .An inquiry is needed.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.