Let's be fair to Whitmore

• Let's be fair to Whitmore

Tappa Whitmore is a decent human being, who really gave it his best. It is unfair to lay the blame on him. What we had was a system failure. Even the best coashes make mistakes. He made some. We did not, however, lose just because of his mistakes. We have a system failure, from top to bottom. We have problems with discipline (not emphasizing personal behaviour), training, cohesiveness, team culture, sustaining and maintaining a comprehensive approach...etc.

I have had many personal encounters with Whitmore, as recently as January. He is a great human being and has more decency than 99 percent of leaders of any type in Jamaica. I pray God blesses him richly, continues to use him and allows him to re-emerge in a prominent role on our national scene.

I appreciate all of his service to Jamaica.

While you are being so benevolent, serve up some sympathy for Carl Brown and Wendell while you are at it. I am sure they are "decent human beings, who really gave it his best" also.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Big talk dat. God bless him. He did his thing and it nuh work out.

One more Dark Shadow fi me, Hic hic.

And tha't one of the biggest thing with everthing JAmaican..no accountability whatsoever..Whitmore knew the job he was walking into and he took it and stayed for how long. Even if we believe he wasn't being supported enough and he wasn't getting what he wanted, did he at anytime hit out against the Cappo or walk based on Cappo not meeting his demands...No he stayed because he probably can't get any other job that was gonna pay him as much as he is getting paid by the JFF.
        So again, given all of that, the blame is at his feet....I'm also waiting to here about Montesso's resignating or firing as well...Not only whitmore..him and his assistants.
        Since at this delicate time it would be most difficult to get rid off Cappo, the entire tecnical team should be booted as well...They and the administrator that has been doing a lousy job organizing things...How long did they know that Powell was gonna travel to honduras and didn't have a visa?
        The Bahamas fiasco....shamefull...Patty shop yes but we need accountability and Tappa as head coach is the first neck on the block

My friend, today's topic included Mr Whitmore...so I addressed him. He is a man in the moment; not the only man in the moment.

Carl Brown and others are not men in this moment. So I did not address them. I value their service no less but they are not men in this moment.

Here is a take away that is especially important for this moment. Many other Jamaican leaders have failed more miserably than Mr Whitmore ever could but they fail to show the decency of leaving the leadership scene. These include many from both political parties who have failed us miserably and who will continue to fail us as they hold on to power and refuse to step away to let fresh minds in.

Mr Whitmore is a decent and honorable man. As he steps away, we should not discard him; we should continue to give him a voice and we must be prepared to let him refresh and be open to the possibility of him returning a leadership role of some kind.

Respect that Westman. It was the right thing for Whitmore to step away and I hope he learns from the experience and seek other ways of improving himself. Hopefully he gets a chance to coach outside of Jamaica or be an understudy to a seasoned coach so he could improve his experience. Now if only some of the other worthless leaders can do the same and walkaway

Originally posted by Westman View Post
              Here is a take away that is especially important for this moment. Many other Jamaican leaders have failed more miserably than Mr Whitmore ever could but they fail to show the decency of leaving the leadership scene. These include many from both political parties who have failed us miserably and who will continue to fail us as they hold on to power and refuse to step away to let fresh minds in.

Mr Whitmore is a decent and honorable man. As he steps away, we should not discard him; we should continue to give him a voice and we must be prepared to let him refresh and be open to the possibility of him returning a leadership role of some kind.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We have been more than fair with Whitmore and Burrell !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tappa is an excellent human being, but his biggest fault he is too loyal to his friends.

What friends ? Tappa changed his teams like he did his clothes , everyday a new gear.

Does Tappa know his best starting 11 ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

His failure has nothing to do with his character. He should have been let go long time ago...

I did not say character was linked or not linked to failure. I am citing attributes of his. I may disagree about whether he should have been let go a long time ago. But who would have been his replacement? All these are academic. I dont want to see him villified or discarded. And no single manager will be our saviour. Our football, our government and our society need system overhauls. Individual fixes may yield the effect of "spook hill", which I mentioned on Sunday, that give the illusion of moving uphill when we really arent moving in that direction.

Westman, it goes with the territory. If you or me fail to deliver in our respective jobs, we are going to get canned. Whitmore should be no different.

Tappa made a number of tactical blunders which cost us dearly. I would only want to know that he had full autonomy when he was making the calls he did, so he accepts the blame. I would hate to know that it was the Captain picking teams and devising game strategy and when the team failed, Tappa gets fired.

That said, Tappa's technical and tactical blunders apart, it could be said he was given basket to carry water.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Dem teach English reading comprehension at STETHS? I'm sure they don't teach it much at Chelsea either these dayz. Did I say he should not be fired or should not resign?

I was being graceful, extolling his positives, stating that we have a more significant problem than just Tappa, and wishing other leaders would be as classy as he is and just move on.

Me have some unfinished biz to discuss with u, please sar.

Boss, yuh don't haffi get personal now! Everyone on this forum know I did not pass common entrance and got the chance to go to one of those privileged institutions like yourself. So yes, they taught English comprehension at STETHS, but maybe I was just not one of the better students.

Anyway, still looking into that thing. Will link you when I have suppen concrete.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran