SportsMax to build Football Stadium.
President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
"Wouldnt this be an excellent opportunity for the JFF to align themselves with the building of Jamaica's first soccer-specific stadium?"
Seems strange to make a statement like that when it's just not true. Yes, the quality is not the best, but Arnett's is quite good!
Anyway, more things to discuss than this minor point.
1. Start with Tony Spaulding Sports Complex at Arnett Gardens.
2. Increase the lighting by 50 percent more candle power.
3. Install a world-class artificial playing surface.
4 Widen the press box across the top five rows of bleachers, install a camera platform directly in front large enough for two or three cameras,
and add two more platforms looking down each goal line.
Well, that may be the case, but a number of businesses have put forth money to make the Sprint Center a reality. Sprint however I do not think put up any money as the other companies. Sprint has a deal with the City government when it comes to naming rights over an extended period of time. As to the taxes, the taxpayers will do their part indirectly with tax on hotels, parking, casinos etc. There is not a direct tax placed on Kansas City tax payers per se.
Yes, I think SportsMax should approach it from the standpoint of partnering with the government and other private sector companies to make this possible. The problem though is this, is there anywhere in Kingston or St Andrew that a stadium can be built?"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Re: SportsMax to build Football Stadium.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostYou must have a crowd!
Originally posted by Mosiah View Post"Wouldnt this be an excellent opportunity for the JFF to align themselves with the building of Jamaica's first soccer-specific stadium?"
Seems strange to make a statement like that when it's just not true. Yes, the quality is not the best, but Arnett's is quite good!
Anyway, more things to discuss than this minor point.
Yes, they are soccer specific....and are functional in terms of club football in Jamaica....but thats where it ends.
I'm not sure I'd regard this an insginificant topic by the way.President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
Interesting!
...and, it could end up being a profit-making entity after some years. In any case, it could be just what SportsMax needs as added 'instrument' to sell its core product. Do not forget that there are many 'things' that go to make a company/entity/organisation profitable that 'those many things' in and of selves do not turn a profit.
Aside: From a selfish point of view I would like SportsMax to 'run wid hit'! Our football needs more good grounds/stadia.
PS: The relationship(s) (contractual relations) between SportMax and the various entities - clubs, JFF, etc. (individual? ...or, one all-encompassing?) - is (are) nothing that cannot be settled with a meeting of the minds.
Hey!...who knows, if Sportsmax's first model proves successful...maybe...SportsMax and or others will put up more of such entities????
FORWARD!Last edited by Karl; April 26, 2007, 11:01 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I'm just weary of our habit of not admitting when we are wrong. RF, Sportsmax could never build the first soccer-specific stadium in Jamaica, because they already exist. It would be good if you just admit you were wrong so we can move on!
Does soccer-specific mean it must exist outside of a ghetto? Do you know where some of the greatest stadia in the world are built?
Does soccer-specific mean that it should hold 20,000? That would be a collossal waste in Jamaica.
Does soccer-specific mean it must have stands for TV cameras? Then that can be easily done at Arnett and elsewhere.
What does soccer-specific mean to you?
I think this is a good move by SM. From a business perpective, SM may be looking at the industry to help enhance its product, instead of trying to enhance the product by itself. Remember the aesthetics of broadcasting goes far beyond the beautiful game. SM is positioning itself to compete with the JFF, HV mini-stadium ect. to host games since SM has broadcasting rights to most local and international games played in Ja. This will certainly put pressure on the JFF to sustain their infrastructure at international standards.Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
Mitty
Mitty, I'm not against what they're doing, I for one is curious how a club's revenue (what ever it is) is affected. When the fixtures are being set, HV gets a home game or an away game. If the home team is going to get compensated from SM then, there is no problem regarding revenue.
But then, Reno fans who planned on watching Reno vs Arnett at home, will now have to head to the SM stadium for the game. How many fans are going to willingly make the trip? I do know at times there are NPL double headers at the stadium, anybody know how that works?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI'm just weary of our habit of not admitting when we are wrong. RF, Sportsmax could never build the first soccer-specific stadium in Jamaica, because they already exist. It would be good if you just admit you were wrong so we can move on!
Does soccer-specific mean it must exist outside of a ghetto? Do you know where some of the greatest stadia in the world are built?
Does soccer-specific mean that it should hold 20,000? That would be a collossal waste in Jamaica.
Does soccer-specific mean it must have stands for TV cameras? Then that can be easily done at Arnett and elsewhere.
What does soccer-specific mean to you?
Why would a 20,000 seater stadium be a waste in Jamaica? I recall being at the national styadium one afternoon for a WCQ game...there was about 35K people inside, and another 5-10K outside (and roughly 300 sitting on the wals and the light pilons )President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
Okay, let's leave the definition of "soccer-specific" aside. It's clear that rather admit being wrong, you will bring up something as nonsensical as Goodyear Oval being a stadium, in the first place, much less a soccer-specific one. You win!
RF, I can tell you this, a 20,000 soccer-specific (whatever you view it to be) would be a collossal waste. You don't have WCqs every day. The last match held at Arnett Gardens there were three (3, tres, trois, tree) paying customers in their lovely facility. We couldn't fill HV's 4,000 seater for the Red Stripe Cup final, and now yuh want people to fill Sportsmax's stadium just because it look good and yuh relatives in New York might see yuh pon tv??!?!