SportsMax to build Football Stadium.

• SportsMax to build Football Stadium.

Local cable television company SportsMax Limited says it intends to build a football stadium in the Corporate Area in order to improve content quality on Fox Soccer Channel (FSC) Jamaica and increase market share.
    "The grounds that exist here in Jamaica don't suit our needs from a (television) production standpoint," SportsMax president and CEO Oliver McIntosh told the Business Observer. "We have a couple of places in mind; we haven't come up with a cost as yet, but it is going to be significant."
    The stadium, McIntosh said, should be ready within a year of the start of construction.
    SportsMax, through its parent company, International Media Content Limited (IMC), brokered a deal last year with FSC for the local distribution rights of the rebranded FSC Jamaica.
    Under the deal, SportsMax also televises local content abroad.
    But the quality of the broadcasts became an issue for the firm during its live coverage of the just concluded Red Stripe Champions Cup football tournament.
    McIntosh said that while Fox was content with the overall coverage of the Red Stripe Champions Cup, the American television company had a few issues with the quality of the production, which, he believes, the construction of a TV friendly stadium will address.
    "The production and presentation - they were (generally) pleased with, but obviously they gave us pointers where we can improve upon," said McIntosh. "The primary thing that we have to work on is a venue, you will be surprised how much a venue will change this...if you had a venue that would have fully green grass and stadiums looking the way they should, you would be surprised at how the production will look different... so we are looking at a venue and putting the proper production facilities in place."
    Fast approaching its fifth year of operations, McIntosh claimed that SportsMax's strategy of creating a sports television entity, primarily driven by viewer subscriptions, is working.
    The company said its current market share is five per cent of the over 500,000 cable subscriber homes in Jamaica. Its goal is to capture at least 25 per cent of the market.
    In December 2002, SportsMax became the Caribbean's first dedicated sports television unit when it began distributing its self-titled sports channel, SportsMax, to 10 cable operators in Kingston, St Andrew and St Catherine. Since then, the staff has grown from three to 33 persons and the firm now feeds content to over 60 cable operators locally. It is also established in 13 countries across the region.
    Scepticism greeted the company's entry into the market, with many people questioning whether Jamaicans would be as receptive to a 24-hour sports channel, similar to what the pioneering ESPN and Sky Sports channels experienced in the US and England respectively upon their emergence.
    Without divulging figures, McIntosh said that while many people still doubt the viability of the operation, the company is on a healthy path towards achieving financial prosperity.
    "When we first started this business, we looked on the five-year horizon, in terms of getting the company into a position where it has stability. and we have started to achieve that," said McIntosh. "This is our fifth year in operation and I think we are pretty much on schedule in meeting our phase one objectives, which are to set up the channel, get the brand out there, have the right human resource in place, have the right technical infrastructure in place, have a production facility in place, satellite technology, be established in the wider Caribbean, etc."
    The backbone of SportsMax's revenue stream is viewer subscriptions, depicted in what Chairman Pat Rousseau described as a "80 to 20" subscription to advertisement business model. This, SportsMax executives said, is in line with international cable television stations with a similar structure.
    "(Regular) TV stations depend significantly on advertising revenues because that is really their only source of revenue," noted McIntosh. "Our source of revenue is primarily from subscriptions, and that's the driver for the channel.
    "We do sell advertising and sponsorship, which are part of our revenue base, but they are not a significant part, because at the end of the day, what we provide is a destination for the viewer who wants to watch sports, and they are not going there to see ads," added McIntosh. "We do banner ads, we do on-screen logos and so on, but like most of the channels internationally that are structured like ours is, the primary revenue driver is going to be subscription."
    In order to get viewers to fork out additional personal expense for a cable channel subscription, a relatively new concept in Jamaica, the station needed to have a content base that would lure Jamaican viewers to its screens. The firm has done this through prudent acquisitions of local distribution rights of some of the most popular sporting events, primarily football.
    Initially after its launch, SportsMax broadcast just the English Premier League, FA Cup and archive cricket to help fill its 24-hour air time. Today, the firm, boosted by the rebranding deal it brokered with FSC last year to create FSC Jamaica, has added the local rights for some of the more popular global football tournaments, such as the South American Copa America Cup, Italian Serie A, UEFA Cup and the World Youth Cup.
    This, combined with exclusive rights for many West Indies cricket tour series, along with a wide variety of events in other sports such as rugby and track and field, has given the company the platform on which it planned its subscription drive, which it finally implemented late last year after a year delay.
    McIntosh admitted that while the subscription delay had put the firm behind, it was now on course to meet its financial targets.
    "The subscription delay in Jamaica by a year held back some of our revenue objectives and profit objectives, but I would say by the end of year five we will be pretty much on stream to where we had wanted to be," he said.
    The aim, according to SportsMax marketing manager Tanya Lee, is to procure a significant number of multiple subscriptions per household.
    The company projects that to recoup the extensive production costs, it has accumulated over the years, as well as the US$300,000 to US$400,000 in rights fees it now pays to redistribute FSC, it will be heavily dependent on a large "take-up" for its $400 per month subscription package.
    "We are at about five to seven per cent take-up, which is small, but it's a start," said McIntosh. "Our objective in terms of our business plan is to get to 25 to 30 per cent take-up in subscription, which is where the international channels are."
    In order to lure more cable customers, McIntosh disclosed that SportsMax will start an aggressive promotion drive, which will see the firm fork out "$10 million to $20 million" per year in marketing costs or "25 per cent of our expenses going forward".
    He acknowledged that the firm had not been focusing enough on marketing its product.
    "We haven't done much promotion around the channels outside of what we do with a partnership with the Gleaner, but we are planning on doing a number of upcoming promotions, which you will start seeing throughout cable offices, supermarkets, etc in the coming weeks," said McIntosh. "We will have a more significant presence of both brands (SportsMax and FSC Jamaica) islandwide in the coming weeks."
    McIntosh added that through collaborative efforts with overseas cable companies, SportsMax will use innovative marketing strategies in other countries where its product is offered.
    "Unlike some other companies with a blanket strategy, we are going to have individual strategies for each country.what sells in Jamaica won't sell in another country," he said.

Interesting! Suh lets say Seba's home game is the featured game, for better TV production the game will be moved to the SM stadium, would Seba forego the gate receipts they would have collected?

Just curious.

McIntosh is not a fool. I don't choose my drinking pals caylissly! So, my advice that Sportsmax should seriously consider this stadium thing is probably unnecessary. Sportsmax must remember its mandate, and I doubt if that includes operating a football stadium.

Of course, I understand their concern. In trying to carry out its objective of telecasting local football games, they need to do so as effectively as possible. So, a football specific stadium (of which we already have a few) with good television angles (something we never really cared about), and a world-class surface (almost non-existent in Jamaica) is important.

But what about its location, that small detail that can ruin any bizniz? Will it be built in uptown Kingston and St. Andrew (and let's face it, it will have to be in the Kingston Metro Area) where residents either prefer weekly trips to Lime Cay, and those who did not go that Sunday would rather not have the hooligans (fans and players involved in our football) in their backyards? Or will it be built downtown? (I think we can safely scratch that one.) How about a "neutral" area, like Half Way Tree or lower Constant Spring?

It will be a challenge to get the masses to this stadium just because Sportsmax has deemed it the mecca for local football.

Lazie touched on gate receipts, and it's certainly something to consider. Many fans di not like travelling outside their comfort zone to watch their team play ball.

There are more questions to be answered, but I will see what is generated in this thread.

The other thing is, I know a lot of sports lovers who have boycotted this Sportsmax cable deal. $400 for one channel when your entire cable bill can be $1200. HUH!?!? And at times, Sportsmax will be showing the very same thing on FSC, give or take a couple seconds! I myself took a while before subscribing and I have been reconsidering ever since!

Very good , I hope to see corporate Jamaica follow its path by buying out these semi professional clubs and one day fielding a candidate for the JFF presidency.

Competition is always healthy.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

McIntosh is not a fool. I don't choose my drinking pals caylissly! So, my advice that Sportsmax should seriously consider this stadium thing is probably unnecessary. Sportsmax must remember its mandate, and I doubt if that includes operating a football stadium.

Of course, I understand their concern. In trying to carry out its objective of telecasting local football games, they need to do so as effectively as possible. So, a football specific stadium (of which we already have a few) with good television angles (something we never really cared about), and a world-class surface (almost non-existent in Jamaica) is important.

But what about its location, that small detail that can ruin any bizniz? Will it be built in uptown Kingston and St. Andrew (and let's face it, it will have to be in the Kingston Metro Area) where residents either prefer weekly trips to Lime Cay, and those who did not go that Sunday would rather not have the hooligans (fans and players involved in our football) in their backyards? Or will it be built downtown? (I think we can safely scratch that one.) How about a "neutral" area, like Half Way Tree or lower Constant Spring?

It will be a challenge to get the masses to this stadium just because Sportsmax has deemed it the mecca for local football.

Lazie touched on gate receipts, and it's certainly something to consider. Many fans di not like travelling outside their comfort zone to watch their team play ball.

There are more questions to be answered, but I will see what is generated in this thread.

The other thing is, I know a lot of sports lovers who have boycotted this Sportsmax cable deal. $400 for one channel when your entire cable bill can be $1200. HUH!?!? And at times, Sportsmax will be showing the very same thing on FSC, give or take a couple seconds! I myself took a while before subscribing and I have been reconsidering ever since!

Very good questions Mosiah and Lazie's query on gate reciepts is also a good point, as a Jamaican football fan living overseas I would love nothing more that having the abilty to see local games on surfaces that look like Wembley and broadcast in HD (Well that might be asking 2 much) but I can think of no major network in America or Europe that owns a stadium so how will this work.

This is where the JFF and Clueless need to step in. Deals can be brokered with the private sector to adopt and develop our NPL teams. Stadia can be built or upgraded and then leased to various teams to use as their home ground.... ala.. The Home Depot stadium in LA.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

If you follow the development in MLS in the USA and other sports in general, you will see a lot of businesses getting involved in associating their names with sports facilities.

When you think about it, there is Home Depot Center, Pizza Hut Park, Toyota Park, etc, etc. Kansas City based company Sprint is involved in the building of the Sprint Center (see http://www.sprintcenter.com/) here where they hope to attract a NBA basketball and NHL hockey franchises after its completion. This does not mean that these companies are deviating from their original mandate as a company.

If Sportsmax were to involve themselves in a venture like this, it could help to further cement them as a leader in the Sports cable programing business in the Caribbean. I say they should go for it, but partner with other entities to make it happen. They could benefit greatly from revenue sharing and naming rights.
              Last edited by Tilla; April 25, 2007, 02:06 PM.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

But Tilla, most of these corporately-named facilities have only been so branded as a marketing act. The corporation invariably has nothing to do with the construction or operation of facility. It appears to be much different in Sportsmax's case. Maybe they might lease it to someone once it is built, and then worry about the risks in doing so.

Re the Sprint Center, how much money did Sprint put into the project? Far as I know, it is the taxpayers of Kansas City who will be paying for the facility. Sprint is simply advertising itself by having its name attached to the structure, perhaps for a 20 year period, and they will also have to rights as communications provider.

Maybe that's the route that Sportsmax should follow, or some derivative of it.

Wouldnt this be an excellent opportunity for the JFF to align themselves with the building of Jamaica's first soccer-specific stadium? The funny thing is that the Jamaica governemnt recently spent millions to build a brand new cricket only stadium all the way in Trelawney. If the darn JFF was doing its job it could perhaps loby governemnt to build the stadium in a fashion that it could be converted to accomodate international football games afterthe world cup. it could also server the exact purpose for which SPorts Max wants to build this new facility.
                  President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

RF, what are you talking about? Harbour View's stadium is soccer-specific. So also are Arnett's and Waterhouse. They are designed for no other purpose than football.

What's lacking in these stadia are good places for the placing of television cameras, resident audio-visual/communication infrastructure and great surfaces.

Harbour View? If the Harbour View and Arnette Gardens Staium were of decent standard, SportsMax wouldnt have the need to be building their own facility.

Have you sen the stadiums built in T&T for the world cup they hosted some years ago? If we had even one of those, we would be good.
                      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Oh! So your concern is quality! Then say so, but don't say we don't have soccer-specific stadia.

Harbour View's stadium is not the best in the country. Arnett's is by far and can match up with many in T&T. Yes, the surface might need improvement and a few more things need refinement, but perhaps that is how Sportsmax could save some money, because for me, there are a lot of questions regarding their announcement.

Mosiah, quality is a vital part of the equation. If yo uwant to take quality out of the picture...we can claim to have at least 50 soccer specific fields in the island, littered with goat dung and "macka"

I don't see how this becomes a discussion. Of course there must be some semblance of quality.

Why do I bother?

You win!

interesting concept why not convert the soon to be white elephant in Trewlawny and use that. That way you could have a game of the week so to speak without the overhead of building the stadium...