Rally round the Reggae Boyz

• Rally round the Reggae Boyz

The Reggae Boyz enter tonights aaway game in Honduras desperately in need of a moral boosting win, achieve that and we are right back in the mix. One thing is for certain is that every game in this qualifying round is close and given a bit of luck here and there we might have been in a better position. Jamaica have been unlucky with injuries to key players Nosworthy and Demar Phillips and also been let down by poor decision making by our coaching team. The squad lacks balance and is poorly assembled. We knew Phillips, Taylor, Nosworthy etc would be missing from these games yet no attempt was made to call up experience cover in defensive positons. Experienced players like Claude Davis, Lloyd Doyley and Damion Stewart would have all added something to this squad in our time of need. We however just have to get on with it and field the players that are available and hope that Tappa and co manage to surprise us with the right line-up and tactical plan to get a win. We are not that far away of winning football matches it is just down to tiny details and a bit of luck.
    Lets remind ourselves of how this campaign have gone so far.

Feb 6, 2013 Mexico v Jamaica

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=df90VfzwD4Y

March 2013 Jamaica v Panama

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckicTg6O1E4

March 2013 Costa Rica v Jamaica

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sk69eUt-bH0

June 2013 Jamaica v Mexico

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVILo17H9t4

June 2013 Jamaica v USA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xFVtb4G_pic

There is still all to play for. Come on you Boyz

"The fight for fourth"

Good luck to the team tonight. Major effort needed.

Claude Davis? If he and Stew Peas couldn't stop these HEX teams when they were at their best, what difference would any of them make now, that they struggle against pace and still can't pass or control the ball? They looked in complete disarray against New Zealand and Panama.

Question is do we have any fight. Fight mean you battle for balls, fight means you see the intention of the opponent based on body language and number of options based on place and position and time, what we have seen on defense is a lack of basic hawk intuition, woodbine a lack of response on two goals, no challenge mental or physical or even movement towards challenging is baffling. That is why I am an advocate for hawkish players, hawks see intention, hawks are aggressive, hawks seek to dominate the situations always trying to get what they want, seeing opportunity and taking action. We are missing the hawkish behaviour on defense, we are sitting back like chickens waiting to be taken.

Chickens can't win in Honduras, neither can total abandon to the attack win, this is a defensive battle as every one of these games have been and we must make them pay when they make the mistake.

Forward yard, ever competitive even when cornered and a thousand foes dropping lick, as Claudie say we must strike that one death blow, that one mortal blow, that is all we looking for.

Flag look heavy. Make me help you wave it. I don't think Claude and Stew Peas are needed but what I am surprise is that we didn't start grooming a backup especially to Demar. Alvas I think just need a little bit of playing and Woodbine as well, but now is not the time. Tappa have to be more consistent with players. Palmer play most game in the first round as starting right back and he is not even in the squad. JJ and Hue are expected to carry some load when they didn't even see minutes before.

Anyhow let's go Boyz and finally "Take it" to somebody like we did in Azteca.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post

The Reggae Boyz enter tonights aaway game in Honduras desperately in need of a moral boosting win, achieve that and we are right back in the mix. One thing is for certain is that every game in this qualifying round is close and given a bit of luck here and there we might have been in a better position.

Jamaica have been unlucky with injuries to key players Nosworthy and Demar Phillips and also been let down by poor decision making by our coaching team. The squad lacks balance and is poorly assembled. We knew Phillips, Taylor, Nosworthy etc would be missing from these games yet no attempt was made to call up experience cover in defensive positons.

Experienced players like Claude Davis, Lloyd Doyley and Damion Stewart would have all added something to this squad in our time of need.
            There is still all to play for. Come on you Boyz
            We need to be cold and calculating. Devoid of emotion. Claude Davis and Damion Stewart would detract from our already needy squad. They have proven over the years to be ponderous slow thinking defenders.

Stewart would be good at set pieces. He has proven himself excellent there over and over...but can we afford to select a defender or any player for only work on set pieces? What about need during the normal free flow of the game? The game has moved on and our TOP RIVALS in CONCACAF - These teams in the Hex: USA, Mexico, Panama, Costa Rica, Honduras...and in terms of current strengths that is my assessed order) - have stepped into the modern era of sustained swift movement and passing and non-stop running. Again we cannot hope to advance to the World Cup 2014 and return to days gone by on quality of players and play. We need to continuously improve on both.

It is...to make more efficient TEAM...have all of our current players invest more in TEAM....TEAM-play...share the ball more and work unceasingly for full duration of match. Recognize that in terms of being creative Austin, Ryan Johnson, Jermaine Johnson, Gareth McCleary have shown the ability to tear all the opponents defense apart...and as fact, have torn each of our opponents defense apart - created in each match extremely easy goal-scoring opportunities but we have failed to take advantage of those chances with the regularity need.

Fix that working for TEAM and as TEAM and taking of created chances and we shall outscore our coming opponents and win matches. There is still all to play for. Come on you Boyz

I hear unuh loud and clear, Claude and Stew Peas put out to pasture and dat is unanimous , whatever the line-up and whatever we think about the coaching setup and Captain Burrell lets get behind the Boyz!!