Der Kaiser as manager

Originally posted by USAF View Post
    Even if Tappa had all his players playing in the Top 4 leagues in the world, Jamaica would be in trouble, because his inexperience is clear for everyone to see. Tactically & strategically he is lost......he doesn't even have adequate reserves, which shows his inability to select a good squad.
    Accept that as your position.
    Do not agree!

If you think it's easy to coach & manage a team full of "star" players, then you're sadly mistaken. Just keeping those egos in check is a job unto itself.

Sure it cannot be 'easy'!
    Agreed - it is 'a job unto itself'!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
      Is that right, So why bother recruiting then? Either way Tappa is to blame, he has been the manager for a few years so he recruited the players in the positions that he thought needed strengthening. Tappa have no excuses!
      In some cases it provides depth, but does not raise the standard of the 11 starting.

Most of the players they have tried to recruit that can raise the level of the team have been non-committal (Dyer, Sinclair) or have technicalities that have prevented their papers from being processed (Cummings, Ravel Morrison).

OK!
        ...so if he is clueless you must think his previous successes were 'buck-up'?
        ...in any case, cannot but accept your position as 'as you see it'. Respek!
        Karl you know i have been one of Tappa's staunchest supporters, however I have lost faith in the guy. Why have i lost faith in him?
        He doesn't have a clear plan or system how he wants his team to play, he also doesn't select his squads with any thought. As a coach you should aim to identify the best 2 players available to you in every position.
        Explain this to me
        1. Why did he not play the same team that done so well in Mexico in the Panama game?
        2.Why did he bring on Omar Daley to play at rightback when Jamaica was winning 1-0 against Panama, since Omar was our best choice why he didn't start away in Costa Rica or why he haven't played at rightback since? Karl and that is only just the start!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
          Karl you know i have been one of Tappa's staunchest supporters, however I have lost faith in the guy. Why have i lost faith in him?
          He doesn't have a clear plan or system how he wants his team to play, he also doesn't select his squads with any thought. As a coach you should aim to identify the best 2 players available to you in every position.

Explain this to me
          1. Why did he not play the same team that done so well in Mexico in the Panama game?

2.Why did he bring on Omar Daley to play at rightback when Jamaica was winning 1-0 against Panama, since Omar was our best choice why he didn't start away in Costa Rica or why he haven't played at rightback since? Karl and that is only just the start!
          I think he was right to change his team after the Mexico game. ...to give the TEAM greater attacking options and more TEAM-play.

How many changes did he make - Jermaine "Teddy" Johnson for Luton Shelton? I did not have a question with his starting X1.

on your 2nd I do not agree with playing Omar Daley at Right Back. He is and always has been a poor defender. He has been a much better player coming forward (midfield or not at all).

I think he was right to change his team after the Mexico game. ...to give the TEAM greater attacking options and more TEAM-play.

How many changes did he make - Jermaine "Teddy" Johnson for Luton Shelton? I did not have a question with his starting X1.

on your 2nd I do not agree with playing Omar Daley at Right Back. He is and always has been a poor defender. He has been a much better player coming forward (midfield or not at all).
            Ok Ryan Johnson was not good enough to lead the line against Panama or Costa Rica and all of a sudden he is the best option against USA and Mexico. Jermaine Beckford missed almost 3 months of football yet he was straight into the starting lineup against Panama.

Ryan Johnson and JJ were outstanding against Mexico and deserved to start in the Panama game, that result in Mexico should've been built on.
              Prior to the Mexico game JJ haven't appeared for Jamaica for probably 2 years that can't be right for a player with that ability. Donovan Ricketts was dropped from the squad for ages even though he is by far our best goalkeeper, we have used about 5 rightbacks during the last 12 months.
              Tappa does not fill me with confidence.

Ryan lead the line against Mexico in Mexico. ...and has led our line for quite sometime previously.

Leaving him out and trying the reportedly (even by you) more attacking and with recent good goal-scoring form Jermaine Beckford appeared to make sense.

I would not have left Ryan Johnson out...but devised a more attacking strategy around/for him. ...besides his great chance in Mexico none...not one of Hue and other attackers/TEAM-mates have set him up. Fact is, Ryan Johnson is the one who has set up his TEAM-mates.

Dunny - From after the Mexico match - if not before - I have been calling for members of the TEAM to consciously work at creating for each other. That is our problem. All the attackers (forwards and midfielders) too often operate on a one-track/tunnel vision that boxes them into set up only for self! Football...good football nuh guh suh...it is
                all for one and one for all

JJ beats one...two...three...he has TEAM-mates sweetly in position and he goes alone!!!

McClearly beats one.....two....and shoots when a pass (set up) is a better option.

Ruddy Austin - Trys a shot from distance when TEAM-mates are perfectly placed for easier attempt at goal...

...and it goes on and on!!!

Jermaine Beckford shots when he should have passed and the ball almost goes into touch/a throw-in. He gets the ball surrounded by opponents has TEAM-mates to his right & left and facing him (his back is to goal) and he tries to keep the ball and coughs it up to the opposition.

We were right earlier - We have the players. We need someone to take them aside - Tappa, any member of the technical staff...the players themselves and remind of the great things they have done to get the ball into good attacking positions but failed to pass/use TEAM-mates and thus should start doing so in the coming game.

After all TEAM success=individual success!!! Not necessarily the other way around as they each should have seen!!! After all we hear fanz shouting this one was the best on the field...or that one was the best on the field...and the result is NO TEAM SUCCESS!!! What is needed is TEAM success and then there shall be player success!!!

btw - This talk about killer passes - The best has been from Ryan Johnson to Ruddy Austin!!! (v USA).
                Last edited by Karl; June 10, 2013, 06:17 PM.

Ryan lead the line against Mexico in Mexico. ...and has led our line for quite sometime previously.

Leaving him out and trying the reportedly (even by you) more attacking and with recent good goal-scoring form Jermaine Beckford appeared to make sense.

I would not have left Ryan Johnson out...but devised a more attacking strategy around/for him. ...besides his great chance in Mexico none...not one of Hue and other attackers/TEAM-mates have set him up. Fact is, Ryan Johnson is the one who has set up his TEAM-mates.

Dunny - From after the Mexico match - if not before - I have been calling for members of the TEAM to consciously work at creating for each other. That is our problem. All the attackers (forwards and midfielders) too often operate on a one-track/tunnel vision that boxes them into set up only for self! Football...good football nuh guh suh...it is .

JJ beats one...two...three...he has TEAM-mates sweetly in position and he goes along!!!

McClearly beats one.....two....and shoots when a pass (set up) is a better option.

Ruddy Austin - Trys a shot from distance when TEAM-mates are perfectly placed for easier attempt at goal...

...an d it goes on and on!!!

Jermaine Beckford shots when he should have passed and the ball almost goes into touch/a throw-in. He gets the ball surrounded by opponents has TEAM-mates to his right & left and facing him (his back is to goal) and he tries to keep the ball and coughs it up to the opposition.

We were right earlier - We have the players. We need someone to take them aside - Tappa, any member of the technical staff...the players themselves and remind of the great things they have done to get the ball into good attacking positions but failed to pass/use TEAM-mates and thus should start doing so in the coming game.

After all TEAM success=individual success!!! Not necessarily the other way around as they each should have seen!!! After all we hear fanz shouting this one was the best on the field...or that one was the best on the field...and the result is NO TEAM SUCCESS!!! What is needed is TEAM success and then there shall be player success!!!
                  Consistency of selection Karl that is the problem, keep the same players and the more they play together the better they get to understand each other. We should have built on the mexico result, start with the same team and bring people off the bench to change the game if we needed to. Those guys deserved that chance to start the Panama game

Hue ? But is 1.5 game Hue play.. One game of which Johnson nevah play nutting..how yuh suh quick fi call Hue name..

Agree with you FULL 100 on that 'consistency in/on selections'

What i want to see now is all these players who participated in the last 3 games kept together for the remainder of the campaign then you add Nosworthy, Phillips, J.Taylor and McAnuff to these. What i do not want to see is the foolishness with us bringing in players like Virgo, Palmer, T.Stewart etc and then discard them and bring them back again. We know Phillips is the number 1 Left back i have no problem with Woodbine being his understudy and same with Powell. Once we get that consistency with selection we will develop into a descent outfit.

Agreed!