• Whitmore plans to tek it to Honduras

Whitmore plans to 'tek it to' Honduras

BY IAN BURNETT Sport Editor burnetti@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, June 10, 2013

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida — With just two points from five games and staring down the barrel of elimination from next year's FIFA World Cup Finals in Brazil, Jamaica's head coach Theodore Whitmore has advised that his team will be positive when it plays away to Honduras tomorrow at 8:00 pm.

The United States of America are in a three-way tie atop the six-nation CONCACAF World Cup final phase with seven points, alongside Costa Rica and Mexico. Panama inched up to six points, while Honduras remain on four points, Jamaica remains rooted at the bottom on two points.

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida — Reggae Boyz go through their paces during a training session at the Holiday Inn hotel here yesterday. (PHOTO: IAN BURNETT)

The top three teams gain automatic berths to next year's Finals in Brazil, with the fourth-placed team entering a two-way play-offs with the winner of the Oceania region in November.

"If you look at our first game against Mexico it was away, so that is the same sort of approach that we will be taking into this Honduras game," Whitmore told journalists at the end of yesterday's training session at the Holiday Inn hotel here in Fort Lauderdale.

"It is 11, versus 11 and regardless of the situation we have to put all our differences aside and work towards getting three points come Tuesday (today)," he added.

Following Friday's gut-wrenching 1-2 loss to the USA, when the Reggae Boyz battled back from a 1-0 deficit to equalise in the 89th minute, then gave up a 90th+2-minute winner, the Boyz departed the island on Saturday afternoon for a familiar base in Fort Lauderdale.

Having played two games inside three days, the players were given the day off to rest and recover, with another stern test ahead of
    them tomorrow.

Continuing, Whitmore said the approach will be "similar to the US game. We are aware that Honduras just lost to Costa Rica away, and now they will be at home, and we know the sort of reception we get when we go there. So we just have to prepare and go out there to play good football and try to win the game."

Whitmore, the former Regage Boyz skipper, said all the players had recovered from those two gruelling encounters last week.

"I think they have recovered somewhat, because from the (last) game players keep having a go, strong talk with each other, and basically that is what is lacking in the team... leadership... and we can't play the way we did against the USA and then at the end of the day we come inside the changing room and start to quarrel and argue with each other. We need to leave that out on the field."

But on the flip side, the coach believes it is "a positive sign we see going forward in terms of these players having a go at each other".

But so far, so good, and Whitmore is happy that none of the players has reported any serious injuries. Though Garath McCleary had experienced some discomfort which forced him to request a substitution against the USA on Friday, he trained fully yesterday. He also noted that the training session was designed to primarily defend crosses, while giving the strikers an opportunity to finish on goal, an area that has proven to be the bane of the team thus far.
    "It was about defending crosses and a bit of finishing, because there is not much we can do, because we travel tomorrow (today) to play on Tuesday night, but I thought it went well this afternoon."

The coach advised that the team will conduct another light workout at the game venue, the Tiburcio Carias Olympic Stadium in Tegucigalpa, some time after the players arrive at midday.

However, though the coach accepted the absence of two players — Alvas Powell and Evan Taylor — for what it is, he wasn't particularly happy. "This is one of our major concerns in games, because in a situation like this we have players who have to take a different route, but we just have to work and give it our best shot."

These players apparently do not possess US visas, and were scheduled to depart Jamaica yesterday for Panama to overnight before continuing on to Honduras today.

Fully aware of the difficulties which await the Boyz in Honduras, the coach has remained positive.

"It is always going to be difficult playing away from home, but it is probably the best thing for us, because our backs are against the wall. The Hondurans are at home and would want to go at us, so we just have to keep our shape, keep organised, keep focused, and we will get something out of the game."

In other games tomorrow, Costa Rica visit the Azteca to face Mexico at 7:00 pm, and the USA host Panama at the CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Washington, at 9:08 pm.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2VpNk16Hx

Boyz remain positive ahead of Honduras clash

Published: Monday | June 10, 2013

Jamaica's Garath McCleary (right) moves away from the USA's Bradley Evans during last Friday's CONCACAF World Cup Qualifier inside the National Stadium. USA won 2-1. - Ricardo Makyn/STAFF PHOTOGRAPHER

Audley Boyd, Assistant Editor - Sports

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida:
    The Reggae Boyz might be backed into a corner. However, head coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore says they will be approaching the Honduras World Cup Qualifier positively as they seek to get their campaign back on track.

"If you look at the first game we played away, it was Mexico. It's the same sort of approach we're going to take going into this Honduras game," Whitmore said of their match at The Azteca, which produced a historic 0-0 result, the first time Jamaica had ever earned a WCQ point in Mexico.
    Asked if the "way we played away to Mexico" meant defensively, Whitmore responded: "Not really, but even like the US game."

The Jamaicans were very attacking in the US match, but conceded an injury-time goal to suffer their second home loss inside three days, having gone down 1-0 in the return clash against Mexico earlier.

"It's eleven vs eleven, and regardless of the situation, we've to put aside all our differences and work towards getting three points come Tuesday," he continued, following the team's training session in Fort Lauderdale yesterday evening, their first since their 2-1 loss against the United States at the National Stadium last Friday night.

That same day, the Hondurans also lost - 1-0 at Costa Rica - which also leaves them in a difficult position to qualify from the six-nation CONCACAF final-round WCQ play-offs.

Jamaica are bottom of the standings on two points, while Honduras have four. Costa Rica, the United States and Mexico are tied at the top on seven points, while Panama have six. The top three automatically qualifyfor next year's World Cup Finals in Brazil, while fourth plays Oceania champions New Zealand for another spot.

Whitmore says a road game might not be all bad for his team right now.
    "It's going to be always difficult playing away from home, but probably playing away will be best for us because our back is against the wall. The Hondurans are at home and they, more than anything else, will want to go at us, so we just have to keep our shape, keep organised, keep our focus and we'll get something out of the game," he stated.

PLAYERS TALKING UP
    Commenting on the deflating manner in which they lost Friday - conceding late after an 88th-minute equaliser - Whitmore said the players were talking up to each other, and that's a good sign.

"From the USA game the players keep having a go (at each other), strong talk and so on. Basically that's what's lacking in the team, leadership, and we can't play the way we played against the USA and then at the end of the day we come in the changing room and start to argue with each other. We need to leave it out on the field, and that is one of the positive signs we see going forward in terms of these players having a go at each other."

They worked hard and focused primarily on areas in which the team is lacking.
    "It was about defending crosses and a bit of finishing," noted Whitmore, whose team has scored twice in five outings and given up six goals. " ... We always work on finishing, especially. The last game we played, we got a lot of chances and failed to convert ... it's always a major concern."

Another concern is the inability to prepare the full team together. Starting defender Alvas Powell and midfielder Evan Taylor, recently drafted into the squad, never flew to Miami because they don't have a US visa. Both will travel from Jamaica via Panama and link the team in Honduras later.

The group here flies out near midday and arrives in Honduras near 5 p.m. Whitmore says they will have a light training session and use blackboard work to communicate their strategy.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html
    Last edited by Karl; June 10, 2013, 12:22 PM.

So JJ never injured???

A just the writer talking about "tek it to them"? Why we never "tek it " to Mexico and US at home, we did fraid a them?

So JJ never injured???

A just the writer talking about "tek it to them"? Why we never "tek it " to Mexico and US at home, we did fraid a them?
        If dog can't bad a yard then they are not going to instill cofidence abroad!!

RUDDY AUSTIN calls for 'killer instinct'

Amazing isn't it? We could be 2pts off 4th place?

...and after next round we could be in the top 3?

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/prelimi...ngs/index.html

------------
          Austin calls for 'killer instinct'

Published: Monday | June 10, 2013

Austin

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida:
          BOTTOM of the pile with half its 10 games remaining, Jamaica's senior men's football team needs to turn on its killer instinct to transform its path towards Brazil in CONCACAF World Cup qualifying.

This is the view of hard-working midfielder, Rodolph Austin.
          "We just have to go out there with a nothing-to-lose mentality because our backs are against the wall," Austin said, following a team training session in Fort Lauderdale yesterday.

The Jamaicans are preparing for their third match in eight days, following back-to-back home losses to Mexico (1-0) and the United States (2-1) at Kingston's National Stadium last week.

TOO MANY MISTAKES
          "This game in Honduras is very important. In all the games that we've played already, we were making too many mistakes, giving away some easy goals and stuff, so we just have to work on that as a team and individuals. We just have to play the best we can in our positions and help to lift our game," Austin challenged his teammates.

"We just have to go there with a killer mentality. Our backs are against the wall and everyone has to realise that, and we've to be on the same page and know that definitely, this is winning time now, because we can qualify and we've all the players to qualify, there's no doubt about that."

Jamaica have two points, while Honduras have four. Costa Rica, the United States and Mexico are tied at the top on seven, while Panama have six. The top three automatically qualify for next year's World Cup Finals in Brazil, while fourth plays Oceania champions New Zealand for another spot.

"No game in the group is easy, and going to Honduras - I've been there before and I know the atmosphere - it's not going to be easy. We just have to stay focused and know what we're going there for.

"We've to leave with something. We can't leave without any point, so that is the most important thing, we all have to be ready from whistle one up to the 90th minute or 93 or 95, or whatever," he stated.

GETTING ROUGH
          At yesterday's training, the Jamaicans' first since Friday night's loss to the US, Austin wasn't just talking the talk. He kept his teammates honest with match-like rough tackles in a high-intensity workout.

"Being on the pitch, you could see where if we'd given 10 more per cent or just focus some more and just work harder as a team, we could've won," he observed. "All the games we've played, we're not being outplayed, we're just not putting away our goals.

"We didn't take our chances at home of winning the three games that we played. We have no choice now; if we're going to qualify, we've to do it in these last games. It's just for us to go out there and do our best," said Austin.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports3.html
          Last edited by Karl; June 10, 2013, 12:32 PM.

'Teddy' Johnson — a living nightmare that wouldn't go away

Sunday, June 09, 2013

The Americans knew everything about him, but still they couldn't stop him, despite the fact that they achieved their ultimate goal of securing three valuable points away from home.

That's how menacing Jermaine 'Teddy' Johnson was in Friday night's CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying Play-offs at the National Stadium.
            Jamaica’s crafty attacker Jermaine ‘Teddy’ Johnson (right) gets the better of USA midfidelder Michael Bradley in their CONCACAF World Cup qualifier at the National Stadium on Friday night. The USA won 2-1. (PHOTO: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)

In fact, the German-born American coach Jurgen Klinsmann, himself a World Cup winner with the three-time world champions, was lavish with praise of the Jamaican player, telling journalists in a post-game interview that they had a problem dealing with him and that his left wing back DaMarcus Beasley was up against Jamaica's best player.

Truth be told, it was not only Beasley who had a nightmare against the tricky player, but anybody who came into his path.

After being forced back in the early going, the Reggae Boyz found their rhythm with Harbour View's midfield maestro Jermaine Hue getting on the ball more often and connecting with forward passes.

Johnson then took inspiration from the Harbour View man and, before 20 minutes had elapsed, he dismissed Bradley with a deft piece of skill, which would have gained the approval of Lionel Messi and / or Neymar, centre of goal about 10 metres outside the penalty area. He then rifled a torrid shot, which goalkeeper Tim Howard could only parry.

The Sheffield Wednesday player then went on a mazy dribble from the middle of the pitch to the right flank where he dismissed Beasley to get into the penalty area, but his cross was over hit.

He was expertly teed up by Hue shortly after, but blasted his volley high, as the Americans displayed their open frustration in their inability to contain him.
            Jamaica produced very little in the second half, and only threatened with the ball at his feet, and most times with Beasley his victim, but as his energy waned, so did Jamaica's chances, until he was replaced in the 67th minute, no doubt much to the delight of the North Americans.

The 31-year-old, who is no doubt approaching the twilight of his career, was recalled to the Jamaica squad in February, making an appearance in the historic 0-0 result against Mexico at the Azteca, his first appearance since 2009.

He has represented the Reggae Boyz in 72 international games and has scored nine times, and while that statistic does not necessarily blow the mind, he's certainly blown away many defences with his trickery to open up opportunities for his teammates.

Let's see if he can improve on those numbers for the rest of this World Cup campaign, but there's no doubt that Jermaine 'Teddy' Johnson was the Star Player for Jamaica against the United States on Friday night.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2VpdVf53I

Whitmore nuh lose him job? A wha the?
              JFF dem is more out of touch than we had thought.
              Is a good ting mi cancel mi plans fi fly down after the wutless Panama performance.

Who would you replace him with???

Withmore cools still but him might have to walk home Tuesday night if he can't come up with a decent looking game.

Now is not the time for that..

After Honduras have 3 months to sort that out...

Withmore cools still but him might have to walk home Tuesday night if he can't come up with a decent looking game.
                      Mi did cuss di Captain when im did duh dat to I think Clovis de Oliveira. Mi wudda cuss im agen iffen im duh dat tuh henny nedda coach!!!

Should have done better with that sad attempt

at a volley. Had time and options.

Kill a goalkeeper or score?

Tek the team to Honduras!?

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                              Who would you replace him with???
                              I keep resisting from asking this same question .