Per X's question, I will get serious with my 2 cents

• Per X's question, I will get serious with my 2 cents

Jamaica's problem is systemic. It is not Tappa, its not Hue, its not bad defending, its is not Burrell. It is the whole system and it reflects general societal issues in Jamaica. We need to carefully build from the bottom, a little at a time, maintain it as we build it so that it will be sustainable. We need to develop a system of registration of football members in clubs and in the JFF, from little kids, to mid youth, to youth to post high school, to college, to serious business house, to mid-life. Overall football IQ and overall responsibility for system sustenance will improve along the way.

The current system would be good enough to get us to France but we are 18 years beyond the commencement of the road to France campaign. The whole globe is growing so we need to grow.....but we need to start with basics. Even if you have the best driver and best car, you wont compete at the Indy 500 if you don't have a good pit crew and if you don't have good tires, etc. So start with the basics.

We need proper ongoing youth programs islandwide. Entry level football for kids four or five years old must teach basic skills. We need a program islandwide that takes the kids from 6 thru 9 and builds on the basics taught at 4 and/or 5. It is quite fine to have it be co-ed up to age 9. Every kid must play every position and must learn to kick with both feet. Every kid must learn to value of including teammates in the fun.

We need to have a program islandwide for 10 to 12 year olds before they get to high school. At this stage they must be fully rounded with basic skills. Every kid must kick with both feet; inside of foot, outside of foot, instep, head, chest, trap the ball, juggle the ball. Positional play, movement off the ball, covering and defeating of the evil phenomenon known as ball watching. Don't knock me about the 2 foot thing. Yes many superstars use one foot. But most top players can do basic things with both feet.

From 11/12 to 14, there must be a well scripted program in P.E., house competitions and inter-school competitions. Collaboration between JFF and ISSA is most essential at this stage. Discussion of basic team psychology, tactics, fitness, nutrition, balanced intellect (importance of academic performance) is essential. Basic classroom PE curricula in addition to Lab work/field play. All P.E. classes must be taught in classroom and then in the field. Practice corners, free kicks, clearing the ball, heading the ball, trapping, running without the ball to open spaces. Fitness must be emphasized. They must be taught the basics of scouting and reviewing game video. They must be taught how to study basic trends of their opponents, before games, during games, and how to discuss making adjustments at half time.

From 14 to 16, step it up.

17 to 19 step it up further.

19 to 23....JFF to encourage all top ballers down to the level of former house competitors in high school to be in islandwide competitions at all levels and to participate in training youth all the way down to the 4/5 year old stage.

Summer soccer is essential at all levels of youth throughout the island. JFF and corporate Jamaica must partner to get this system going. It will ensure, health and fitness and a renewing system. It will also encourage youth to be busy and not idle.

JFF and UTech should develop a higher level sports medicine, sports management, coaching program, general wellness program. ISSA and Ministry of Health and Ministry of Youth and Sports must be partners. Structured P.E. and coaching must be geared toward community programs, primary school level outside of school, high schools, tertiary institutions, corner leagues, parish leagues and NPL teams.

Over time, if this is sustained at all levels, football IQ, preparation, fitness and performance will improve significantly.

Develop a team of trained national scouts for every level. Encourage the keeping of important statistics and continued review.

Rotate coaches as much as is possible and is practical.

There is much more...but JFF, NPL and parish leagues must find a way to ensure that NPL players work only if they are part of this system and get a living wage. They need to focus on football only; their team preparation, wellness, fitness, nutrition, video review, game study, discussion at all levels.

When we have done this in a continuing self-sustaining way, we will start to see better success at all levels. US soccer does this with a lot of money. But others do it with much less money because they create a smart, well-managed program.

Much more...but we need to do this a little at a time. Start with 4/5 year olds islandwide and also with 6 to 9 year olds.

The one time I saw anything close to this being done, my CC went on to win the DaCosta Cup in back to back years after not winning it in almost 20 years.

X, what u say? Let's be slow and deliberate. Will we have a sprinter's mentality or will we be as strategic, cunning and determined as a distance runner?

Westman, I see your long term plan. That however will not get us to Brazil 2014. With the bunch of talented players we have, what is your suggestion for a short-term solution?
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

My brother, let me be very straight with you. It will take an absolute miracle and a catastrophic collapse by three others for us to make it to Brazil. Let me be even more straight with you. The worse thing for us would be for that miracle to come. It would re-enforce all our bad habits and our failure/unwillingness to develop a good sustaining system.

I leave this with you. A friend of mine, who is a re-knowned international engineer, told me that he got through undergrad by just "trying to get by." He made it to grad school and published many mediocre papers. He went to the workforce as a researcher and jut got by and didn't excelm though he made what many would consider a middle-class living. He felt he was smart and he became frustrated because he couldn't excel with those at the top. He decided to bare his soul to an old NASA veteran. This is what the veteran told him.

Go back to studying, on your own time, the most basic stuff. Read some high school science and math books. Although you know algebra, trig, calculus, physics and chemistry, start reading those books from junior levels like you were never familiar with the subjects. Work every problem and answer every question, bar none, in all those books. Re-read your college science texts cover to cover. He was given the advice over and over for 2 years.

He finally took the advice and it took him five years, a little at a time until he completed it.

Something astounding happened overnight. His understanding became so clear and his performance in research exploded to the point where his research and discoveries have been astonishingly impressive.

He now gives talks to kids and to undergrad students about how important it is to go back to basics, master the basics and to refresh ones-self in the basics.

I got you and agree. Very good analogy to explain your position too.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Let me tell you a secret, friend. If we ever do even a quarter of what I suggested, we will never have to recruit another UB-40 player. They will be lining up to play for us. We will be picking, choosing and refusing. Further, all of CONCAF top flite club team will be in Jamaica recruiting players. So we will have players who are so comfortable playing throughout CONCACAF and leagues way above that we will dominate. CONCACAF qualifying or if not dominate, realistically, we will always be represented.

While we are at rebuilding we must not getaway from the basic. One thing I notice is we keep on playing negitive passes and trying to keep the ball, something we are not good at. In our recent history we had only 2 players who could beat a team going down the middle and that is Tappa at his best and Nandi Lowe. Other than that our strenght has been fast players using the wing and who are not afraid to take on players.

Now we reach a stage where we think we should compete, full up the middle and passing sideway and back at a very slow pace. It will not work until we have a different mindset. Offensive players are too afraid on taking it on and making decisions for some reason. Soccer is an expressive game right now we have no expression. We now have enough on field "discipline" players but we have to give players like JJ, Mcleary, and others a changce to lose the ball.

We need good and smart teachers. Use our strenght will intergrating new things. I remember Razor rodduck getting a new trainer and was moving from his unauthodox style but he met one opponent who lick the hell out of him so he change back to his unathordox style and floor the man.

We need to use our strenghts right now. Nothing else will give us a chance.

Agree with you with everything except your exclusion of Burrell , if not the head to implement all what you have suggested then whom ?

Organization and implementation of your suggestions cant happen by itself ,I dont believe that qualifying for Brazil will stop all what you have suggested , it just might take awhile longer , granted if what you suggest happens ,it might be implemented quicker and thats a might knowing our antiqauted snail pace history.....

Fiyah Tappa ! .....Brazil mi say !!!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What ??????????

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Respect this. A few program has done this but not a whole lot, we are too concern with winning. For example DCup and manning, school are more concern with winning. They will try to keep a kid in school until he or she in 19 to win Dcup, then you have a big Dcup baller but he may have been held back two years. You think we will ever move away from that???

My own secret for you friend>>>I am afraid, very afraid that Moyes will mash up my wagon and mek it as unsteady and as rickety as your Liverpool wagon.

"time alone, O time will tell..."

lol...leff dat...mi and Jangle will war when dat bridge come... caaan wait ..lol ....Tappa & Burrel mi a penny yah right now.

Ansa mi boss , if not Burrel fi lead , then whom ?

Pay me and I would make it a labour of love. It just needs someone with a good business head and who is committed to start at the bottom and f go slowly

right now mi a try work with a kid, who maybe have more O Level and A equivalent more than mi and as one. He has won everything in his age group and He is 17 and I know they are planning for him to play at least 2 more years.

We have not made the Hex much less the WC in the last 14 years..

Where has it gotten us ?

Mi prefer mek di WC and wallow.. at least wi get a couple Million fi floss wid..