• Tappa-JFF Nowhere to 'Hyde'

Nowhere to 'Hyde'

Fomer Ja star unleashes blows on Reggae Boyz
    BY SANJAY MYERS Observer staff reporter myerss@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, June 09, 2013

INEFFECTIVE tactics, insufficient preparation and a faulty recruitment system are high on the list of the Reggae Boyz' shortcomings, according to Sporting Central Academy head coach Lenworth Hyde.

Friday night's 1-2 defeat to the United States at the National Stadium, left the Jamaicans — precariously tucked into last place on two points — trailing further behind the other five teams in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiying final phase.

HYDE... tactically, for both games, we made a lot of mistakes

The loss meant a second straight disappointing result for the Theodore Whitmore-coached team, who went down to Mexico three days earlier, and leaves the Brazil 2014 campaign gasping for air much like an out-matched boxer suffering from critical body blows.

Hyde threw fierce verbal punches of his own when he spoke to the Jamaica Observer moments after the USA encounter.

"I don't know what the coach is telling the players, but, tactically, for both games we made a lot of mistakes," he lamented.

He noted Jamaica's continued concession of goals from moves stemming on the flanks and criticised the technical staff for using O'brian Woodbine in an unnatural left-back position as replacement for the injured Demar Phillips.

According to Hyde, a better option would have been former Portmore United left-back Andre Campbell, who now plies his trade in Europe.

"The defensive unit is not right and we (are) giving up too many goals.

"Look at this game tonight, it's (the USA opener came from) a square from the flank where we should have two persons tackling, but we leave him (the opposing attacker) with one player (Woodbine) who isn't fit... (and) he's not a left-back.

"Why we can't find a national team with left-footed players? What happen to Andre Campbell, who plays left-back?

"Phillips is out but we are supposed to have a left-back to fill in. We can't take a right-back and put at left-back."

"Everytime the ball comes to our left, instead of looking up the field he always goes back in and switch to his right foot and closes the game so we don't have that width," he said.

Hyde also had a problem with the combination of Rodolph Austin and Marvin Elliott in central midfield roles and with the use of a 4-5-1 formation.

He argued that while the pair deter penetration down the middle, it means Jamaica give up too much room out wide and are consequently marauded in those areas

"No team comes down our middle and score because we play with two central midfielders (but) they (the opponents) always choose to come down the flanks. We need to have people on the flank so we can double-team."

"I prefer we start with a 3-4-3... I like that formation because when you do that you nullify their wing backs from coming to the attack. Most of the goals that score on us is from the flanks so if you have players over there working up and down the flanks you can prevent that," Hyde argued.

His next aim was at Whitmore's seeming hesitation to replace either deep-lying midfielder with a more offensive-minded player.

"I always want to know why we need goals and you still have on the two central midfielders. We are supposed to pull out one and put out an attacker. We don't need two central midfiders and you have two points and you are home.

"I would have started three strikers out there. When we used to play that including the injured (Dane) Richards we used to get a whole heap of attacks," while questioning the omission of strikers Luton Shelton and Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson from the squad.

He also felt the constantly menacing Jermaine 'Teddy' Johnson should have been used differently.

"We are taking too long to make changes. The coaching staff there and see... we don't have a man from the bench who can come on and inject something. You should have left one of those on the bench and you don't have to start Jermaine Johnson. Bring him on the last 25 (minutes) to run at this (defence) when they are tired.

"We have no trump card from the bench. But because people calling for Teddy, Teddy, Teddy you going to start him?" Hyde asked.

"The whole system nuh right and the whole preparation and the fitness of the players... I don't see that. What does it say about our programme here?

"You (are) not supposed to have so many makeshift players, (but there is) the recruiting issue. We are not picking players for positions we want (to) fill. We just 'willy-nilly' pick up some man to play and I know you can't win unless you prepare (properly)," Hyde concluded.

Last edited by Karl; June 9, 2013, 07:45 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sack The Coaches!

Published: Sunday | June 9, 2013

Maxwell

1 2 >

Robert Bailey
    , Gleaner Writer[/color]

Former national player and , Geoffrey Maxwell, has called for the sacking of the Reggae Boyz coaching staff, following back-to-back home defeats to Mexico and the United States (US) in their CONCACAF 2014 World Cup Qualifying games.[/color]

The Reggae Boyz, who was beaten 1-0 by Mexico on Tuesday night, suffered their second defeat in four days, when they lost 1-0 to the United States on Friday night.[/color]

Both defeats have left the Reggae Boyz rooted at the bottom of the table on two points from five matches.

The US and Costa Rica, who both have a game in hand, lead the standings with seven points from four games. Mexico also have seven points but from five matches while Panama are on six from four and Honduras four from four.
    difficult decision

"You fail you go, you win and you stay," said Maxwell in an interview withThe Sunday Gleaner yesterday.

"Why can't we remove these coaches and replace them with other coaches?" Maxwell asked.

"I think there are other coaches here that can do a much better job than what these coaches are doing and these are coaches here that have the experience to do it," he said.

Maxwell pointed out that the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Captain Horace Burrell must take action very quickly before it is too late.

"I think that it is going to be a difficult decision for Captain because there is a lot of emotion and politics that is involved," he said.

"I think that decision has to be made very fast and quickly and the Captain has to listen to people outside of his circle," Maxwell said.

Continuing, Maxwell, who is the current coach of Premier League outfit Humble Lion added: "Based on the body language from the players in last night's (Friday) game ... the impression is that they have lost confidence in the coaching personnel."

"The players appear to me that they are a little confused about their roles on the field," Maxwell added.

Meanwhile, Clyde Jureidini, general manager of Harbour View Football Club, said with five matches remaining, all is not lost for the Boyz, but they need to start winning matches and stop their opponents scoring goals.

Jureidini was unwilling to point a finger at anyone.

"I think that everybody is at fault from top to bottom," Jureidini said. "If there is a negative result everybody shares in the negative result, similarly if there is a positive one they all share in it."

"We are not out of it yet, but we are right on the edge," said Jureidini.

He added: "We have to start winning games because we need to win at least three out of our last five games, or else we are not going to do it. I hope that we can make it, but if we keep playing like we did in the last two games, then we are not going to make it."

[/color]

Last edited by Karl; June 9, 2013, 07:47 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Heartbreaker At 'The Office'

Published: Sunday | June 9, 2013

Jamaica's Jermaine Johnson (right) and Michael Bradley of the United States battle for the ball in midfield.
      1 2 3 >

Audley Boyd, Assistant Editor - Sport

FOR one moment Jamaica
      appeared dead, beaten by Jozy Altidore's 30th-minute goal.[/color]

Then, with less than two minutes left, Jermaine Beckford put them on level terms with a headed finish off Rodolph Austin's free kick. Within the next minute the Reggae Boyz Boyz were pressing for the winner as they forced the United States to beat away successive corner kicks.[/color]

That was until a break, on the second corner, led to an American corner kick at the other end that Jamaica failed to defend and conceded a stoppage-time debut goal from US centre back Bradley Evans to lose their second CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying (WCQ) football match at the National Stadium inside three days.

Jamaica's players buried their faces into the ground before slowly trekking off the pitch. Most spectators were still sitting around in their seats long after the final whistle as they sought to come to terms with a stunning defeat that further dented Jamaica of earning a place at the 2014 World Cup Finals in Brazil.

"It is hard to really find words," Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, Jamaica s head coach trailed off, as he too struggled to come to terms with the end on which his team found itself on a highly dramatic finish.[/color]
      tough loss

"This is foo1tball," he offered, "it's a tough loss, but we've to stay focused, stay positive and hope for the best."

As difficult as the loss was to accept, there was greater acceptance and far louder backing from a small crowd (about 15,000) for the Reggae Boyz's effort this time, as opposed to their meek 1-0 surrender to Mexico on Tuesday.

They played only one striker, Ryan Johnson, then, and a five-man midfield that appeared more interested in shoring up defence.

This time, he had Jermaine Johnson as company, playing right off his shoulder in the centre of the park; Garath McCleary, in equally menacing mood right up there on the flanks and Jermaine Hue busier and more incisive with his passes.

Johnson, the only change to the starting team, made a major difference and gave a clear demonstration of how one man could transform a unit. His pace and skill was troubling to the Americans all night, beginning at kick-off when he made a rampaging run straight at the heart of the US defence.

The United States looked to have shook off that threat briefly, as they settled quickest with a nice team game that revolved off their ace midfielder, Michael Bradley.

They held up possession and moved the ball around nicely, until they almost scored at the second minute when Bradley, at the top of the penalty box, drove a shot that beat the Jamaican custodian and crashed on to the upright at the second minute.

With Bradley, Jermaine Jones and Fabian Johnson calling the shots, the Americans grew in stature and looked ready to take the game away.

That was until minute 14 when Jermaine Johnson reappeared with a succession of darting and purposeful runs that were charged down near the US penalty box. In the 16th minute, he disposed of two defenders while cutting in from the left and rifled a stinging shot from 20 yards that goalkeeper Tim Howard blocked.

Jamaica's team caught fire and all their players, now inspired, were confidently beating their opponents and dominating the ball to create much pressure. With Jermaine Johnson leading the lines, the US were under siege, but stood resolute.

Then, on the half-hour mark, the inexperienced Jamaica defence rekindled memories of the Mexico game to concede a goal. Rookie full back O'Brian Woodbine[/color] could not stop Graham Zusi from supplying a cross into the six-yard box, goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts stood on his line and central defenders Adrian Mariappa, Daniel Gordon and full back Alvas Powell could not stop Altidore from getting a free header to score.[/color]

The team, however, recovered much quicker this outing and should have drawn level before the interval.

A nice exchange of passes between Ryan Johnson and Rudolph Austin resulted in the former scooping an intelligent pass over the centre of defence to set Austin clear through at the 38th minute. However, his shot hit the base of the right upright and the US scrambled away the rebound.

delightful pass
      A minute later, Hue made a delightful pass to Jermaine Johnson on the right of goal but he volleyed over the goal.

Jermaine Johnson and Jamaica continued their onslaught in the second half.
      He hit a left-footed shot from 18 yards just wide of a scrambling Howard at his near post at the 49th; a minute later Austin drilled a 30-yard effort just wide; then Jermaine Johnson went to work on Damarcus Beasley and drove by him in the 51st and 55th minutes into the box, where his hard low crosses were turned outside the near post, firstly by a defender, then turned on to the near post by Howard.

"He had one of the best players who was giving him a really hard time," said US head coach Jurgen Klinsmann when asked to comment on Beasley's play at the post-game press conference. "In those situations you want two players on that side to counter those players."

Jermaine Johnson, however, soon ran out of steam, only to be followed by McCleary soon afterwards, and when both players' request for substitution was answered at the 66th and 73rd minutes, respectively, Jamaica's chances took a major hit.

The US were fitter and regained control with Bradley dictating the game. There seemed no way back for Jamaica.

Then out of nowhere, Woodbine was bundled over near the left flank. Austin curled in the free kick and Beckford scored his first goal for Jamaica and gave the Reggae Boyz renewed energy.When it was their chance to defend though, the defensive inexperience shone through with only one going across to the United States' two at the corner spot, they easily bounced him out and Bradley passed to Evans, who, with his back to goal, shook off Woodbine to turn and fire past Ricketts.

"That's what these games are about, they go down to the wire," said Klinsmann. "Coming away with three points was our goal. The script could not be better."

The Reggae Boyz travel for their third game in eight days, at Tegucigalpa, Honduras, on Tuesday. They left for Miami yesterday and will prepare in the US before flying into Honduras tomorrow.

Points standings
      P W D L GF GA GD Pts
      1. Costa Rica 4 2 1 1 5 3 +2 7 2. USA 4 2 1 1 4 3 +1 7 3. Mexico 5 1 4 0 3 2 +1 7
      4. Panama 4 1 3 0 5 3 +2 65. Honduras 4 1 1 2 4 6 -2 4
      6. Jamaica 5 0 2 3 2 6 -4 2
      Friday's results: Jamaica 1 USA 2; Costa Rica 1 Honduras 0; Mexico 0 Panama 0.

[/color]

Last edited by Karl; June 9, 2013, 07:54 PM.

I have thought about it , long and hard ,Tappa needs to be fired before our next game , we need another coach who knows the team and has a good tactical understanding of the game .

When a coach can make so many changes in crucial WC qualifiers , playing players out of positions so often , call rookies who should be understudies and throw them into must win qualifiers.Desperation selection of players from out of the blue , it says alot , I dont believe Tappa knows his best starting 11.This is being done with a JFF-Burrell that cant get a decent practice game .

JFF -Burrell your call ! A new coach would mean hope! Tappas erractic system has played its course , He needs to get his badges.

That said I have seen enough under Tappa, that we can play a Jamaican style of football.solid defence, over lapping wingbacks - a solid defensive midfielder with a creative mid - explosive wingers and a clinical finisher, we have it all to do .
        Last edited by Sir X; June 9, 2013, 06:28 AM.

I was hoping you would not include your opinion alongside the other three clowns.........

Ever notice how everyone automatically becomes and expert ex post facto?

I have thought about it , long and hard ,Tappa needs to be fired before our next game
            Either today or tomorrow?

....no,----- aren't you listening? before....

You seem to be focused with your opinion in a certain HUE ! ignoring blatant mitigating facts as per the good captain and preparation ,I see your USA had a good set of practice matches before you came to the office .That said its no exuse for Tappa not at least having a set 11 or predicatble subs.

Bonafide reasons to be sacked.

[Jamaica] suffered their second defeat in four days, when they lost 1-0 to the United States on Friday night.
                  I must have been at a different match...

Is how much HL owe yu now Bricktop?

Lenny Hyde said it best. Smart man. I knew i remembered woodbine as a rb and not a lb. if u look back at the USA first goal u realise that an LB who would have used his left foot to try to prevent the cross would have had a better chance of blocking it.

His first, second, third and fourth born...i don't waan see him round here again neither...

LOL...yu is a wicked man...the least you can do is allow the man to keep his first born....

Gordon said Altidore pushed him down and he(Gordon) accepts blame for that goal.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...to-US_14447430

"He (Altidore) was in my back and it took one second and he pushed away and scored the goal and of course it was my mistake... it was my fault and I tried my best to help the team, but today (Friday) we lost. We have to keep trying to be disciplined for the whole game and we slipped one second and they scored the (second) goal," the tall-framed Germany-based player bemoaned.
                            Last edited by World Fan; June 9, 2013, 03:32 PM.

You seem to be focused with your opinion in a certain HUE ! ignoring blatant mitigating facts as per the good captain and preparation ,I see your USA had a good set of practice matches before you came to the office .That said its no exuse for Tappa not at least having a set 11 or predicatble subs.

Bonafide reasons to be sacked.
                              Hue was the weakest link. Tappa and the JFF were pressured to incl. him to appease the locals. (Is Woodbine an NPLer or does he play overseas??