On the Maestro!

I don't think he was overly impressive either but playing him as a single mid with a single forward and no explosive mid to support? Could we expect much better(Well Mclearly is the only explosive)?
    I can't see where else you can play him to be honest, unless we change the system to a 3-5-2, he was given a free role last night with Rudi doing his running for him and Elliott screaning. It would be suicide playing him with only 2 in central midfield so i would give him a go again against the USA in the same positon but would ask the the 2 wide players to come off the line more often and support the lone striker a bit quicker. Johnson was too isolated for my liking.

ah that is Key. You either going to have to have two forward or midfielders who can make better forward runs. A JJ and a fit Dane would make a difference. It is hard to use one striker and then then a slow offensive playmaker. It come like when somebody at Pool came up with the Idea to have Stevie G as the second man in attack. Watson surely didn't help

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        I can give a non bias view on Jermaine Hue, I am neither pro-Hue or Anti-Hue. I am only interested in a successful Jamaica team regardless who don our colours. Hue is a neat and tidy player but not the mesiah people try to make him out to be. To be honest i was expecting more from him last night. His passing was neat and tidy, however he didn't influence the game whatsoever. Jamaica created zero opportunities from open play. We created more chances in Mexico and Costa Rica without Hue in the team than we did last night. I am not saying Hue shouldn't be in the team i am just saying from my view he didn't make as much of an impact as the hype suggest!
        I could not have stated this any clearer.

This was the opportunity that Hue needed. I am sure he played the best he could. He was so tired and worn out that he did not remember he was the designated corner taker. He tried though.

I can't see where else you can play him to be honest, unless we change the system to a 3-5-2, he was given a free role last night with Rudi doing his running for him and Elliott screaning. It would be suicide playing him with only 2 in central midfield so i would give him a go again against the USA in the same positon but would ask the the 2 wide players to come off the line more often and support the lone striker a bit quicker. Johnson was too isolated for my liking.
          There you go, Dunny!
          I would hope in that USA game at sometime Jermaine Hue and Jermie Lynch are on the field at the same time.

...as for the starting X1 some place must be found for Philips, if he is fit.

Alvas Powell made some criminal errors of judgment...but what can you expect seeing the coaching at his school and at the National U-17 level. ...he showed, as he has since I have been watching him, tremendous potential. He can only get better with greater exposure at this and higher levels...

It is for the technical TEAM to assess his progress since they got him and make the call on whether or not to take that tremendous gamble with his naivety. Pure luck he assisted on giving up only 1 goal but at other times he was really good.

Frankly on the rest of the TEAM (starting X1) only those wing back positions gave me fits (...and at times a sick feeling in the stomach) as the game progressed.

Finally - Why can't the technical team instruct the striker to aim at taking at least 5 shots from good positions. Surely it would have him working to get into those good positions and shooting.

Last I 'heard' goals are scored when shots are taken...
          Last edited by Karl; June 5, 2013, 05:43 PM.

"Alvas made some criminal errors of judgment...but what can you expect seeing the coaching at his school and at the National U-17 level."

Dcup shoulda better prepare him. He is now 18, and playing at the under 20 level. LOL

Well put one a the goalie on the left wing then, since we have so much and a TEAM we a defend.

That's what I am talking about in regards to coaching. Tappa did not change the team's formation last night and when he made the two (wrong) changes, the incoming players looked lost. As one person said, Mattocks at one stage ended up in a LB position. Calling a spade a spade, Tappa has failed or is failing. At this stage of the game, there should not be so many new players in the squad, and it is understood that he's still searching for more.

Captain Burrell and the JFF have failed us. Simoes came here and showed us the way and the 2.5+ million coaches in Jamaica threw out the blueprint because we know more. Jamaica MUST have a core of local players that are called to camp regularly and playing practise matches regularly before bringing in the imports. On Simoes last stint, I made the suggestion that we need to have more practice matches against our stronger Caribbean neighbours and was almost banished from the forum. Having a core set of local players traveling to say Barbados, Trinidad, Cuba etc. will achieve much more than meets the eyes. It's giving the players the experience of travelling and playing in a foreign country under stressful circumstances. It's giving the coaching staff the experience of managing the logistics. It is giving Tappa experience and a chance to implement his ideas under less stressful circumstances. It is giving the JFF a chance earn just a little money.

When the recession hit many here hard a couple of years ago , and many lost their jobs, it became much harder for many to regain new jobs because of the length of time they were not working. An employer prefers to hire someone who's been out a job for 6 months rather than one who's out over a year. Point is, these minor matches may not bring in the big money, but the frequency will generate interest from sponsors. The Captain is building his house from the roof down when he decided to go with all these foreigners.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That is when you make sense, Karl. Preach the team aspect of the game because that is really what it is all about.

If unu expect Hue to come on and drop 10 assists that our attackers have to just stick a foot out to, then unu might be waiting for a while.

So this talk about Hue making no impact whatsoever could not be further from the truth. Did he complete his passes? Was he losing the ball to the opponent? Did he support the play?

You cannot be in your right mind and say Maestro (let's call him by his name, dammit!) did not make an impact on the game. Maybe unu need fi watch these matches live, because the people in the stadium appeared to have felt diffferently. Much differently!

What unu want the little general to do? Make a wonder pass thru a sea of green shirts and get the return pass and bury it for a goal?!?!? The time when he could have probably done that, our good friend thought better and passed it to someone else!

Again, I ask, which player on the goddam field displayed a fraction of Maestro's vision, passing range, pass completion as Jermaine Christopher Hue? Him neva score and the team neva score so all of a sudden he made no impact?!?? And unu a walk street when Bellevue nuh lock dung?!?! Joke dis!

Sass, yuh not mekking sense there. Stop it now!

Dunny, yuh look like a bright boy, so allow me to say something to you. You may have heard it here before.

When you have a quality player like Maestro, you pick him first and then decide which other players yuh going to need to mek it work. So, if yuh need "Rudi doing his running for him and Elliott screaning", then that's just how it has to be.

What is the alternative, Dunny? Let's try and find an attacking midfielder who would not need "Rudi doing his running for him and Elliott screaning" for him.

Who? Tek yuh time!

Oh, you say Keammar Daley? Well, try not to expect great defending from the little wizard, so you may still need a Rudi and an Elliott with Dada on the field.

And how does Dada's attacking skills compare to Maestro's? I will mek unu figure dat one out unuself!

So, we either try to maximise the abilities of Maestro, or we cork up the field with box-to-box robots who can only create a goal by a buck-up, pretty much!

ah that is Key. You either going to have to have two forward or midfielders who can make better forward runs. A JJ and a fit Dane would make a difference. It is hard to use one striker and then then a slow offensive playmaker. It come like when somebody at Pool came up with the Idea to have Stevie G as the second man in attack. Watson surely didn't help
                        JJ and Dane are completely different players, so I don't understand what you are saying.

Are you, God forbid, saying that a faster JJ would have been more effective than a slow offensive midfielder like Maestro?!?!?

X, call off yuh ganja campaign. I don't like what I am reading!

The Captain is building his house from the roof down when he decided to go with all these foreigners.

And if these...let's be decent and call them Forumites...if they were honest they would have remembered at least 2 steals won by Maestro.

But I am like you -
                            Hue's offensive contribution to the team far outweighs any steals he can get in a game.
                            When unu find one of unu box2boxers who can make a forward pass that is actually reachable by the fastest forward in the world, then and only then will I ask Maestro to push one foot in a defensive role.

Does not shoot from distance

as well as some others last night.

who yuh talking?