• Kaka v Ronaldo

By Phil McNulty
    Chief football writer

Manchester United's Champions League semi-final meeting with AC Milan is not just a contest for a place in Europe's greatest club game - it is a showcase for the sport's finest young talents.
    KAKA v RONALDO

25------------Age------------22
    £4.2m--Transfer fee-£12.2m
    Brazil------Country---Portugal
    42---------Int. caps---------36
    43---Games this season--47
    15----Goals this season---21

Sir Alex Ferguson's attempt to claim the elite trophy for the second time in his career has centred on the brilliant form of Cristiano Ronaldo.
    Ronaldo goes into the tie flush with success after scooping both the PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards on Sunday.
    Milan counterpart Carlo Ancelotti's bid to erase the nightmare of their 2005 Champions League defeat to Liverpool has been built around the emerging talent of Brazil's Kaka.
    Bayern Munich's Owen Hargreaves, who played against Kaka in the quarter-final and is likely to be Ronaldo's Old Trafford team-mate next season, has no doubts about their pedigree.
    He told BBC Sport: "Kaka and Cristiano Ronaldo are the best two players in the world at the moment."
    The styles may be different, but the natural gifts and ability to change the course of a match in an instant are the same.
    Ronaldo's tricks, feints and step-overs have finally been channelled into devastating end product - while the Kaka package is just as complete.
    606: DEBATE
    Who do you think is better?

Hargreaves said: "Kaka is not really about tricks, but he is a fantastic footballer. He has great physique, a great touch, and fantastic technique. He is also a great finisher and a good header of the ball with excellent balance.
    "Kaka also seems extremely relaxed on the ball and that allows him to use his attributes accordingly."
    As well as lavish gifts, both players have displayed a strength of character that marks them down as special.
    Kaka, 25 on Sunday, suffered a potentially career-threatening spine injury in September 2000 as a result of a swimming pool accident and was out of the game for a year.

But he battled back and has flourished since joining Milan for £4.2m from Sao Paolo in 2003 - a fee described as "peanuts" by owner Silvio Berlusconi.
    Real Madrid have long coveted Kaka as a prize addition to their Brazilian stars, but Milan have resisted all offers, knowing the damage his departure would inflict.
    The Bernabeu giants endured similar frustration in their lengthy and very public pursuit of Ronaldo, who ended speculation by signing a new five-year contract at Old Trafford.
    The 22-year-old demonstrated his resolve after returning from the World Cup ludicrously painted as the villain of the piece in Wayne Rooney's red card for England in their quarter-final defeat against Portugal.
    Reassured by his mentor Ferguson, Ronaldo has ignored the taunts of opposition fans and finally turned all of his rich potential into a finished article.
    Team-mate Patrice Evra describes his approach to the game in colourful fashion: "Nobody can stop him. Probably the only way to do it is to kill him.
    "When he runs at you, you try to grab his shirt or do whatever you can. But he just goes past you, makes fun out of you and leaves you kicking the air.
    "Even when he is sitting on a bike, Cristiano is doing tricks. He eats with the ball, he watches TV with the ball. He probably even sleeps with the ball."
    Brazil great Pele is more cautious about the status of the two young stars, saying: "To mention Ronaldo as one of the best players in the world is very soon. We have Kaka, who plays very well too. "Four or five years ago, we had Ronaldinho in good shape. We have to wait a little bit. Let's see, in one or two more years, if they keep at the same level." The stage is set - and if either Kaka or Ronaldo produces the defining moment of a fascinating semi-final, even hard-to-please Pele might be convinced.

Champions League stats for both players

Kaka Ronaldo
      Goals 7 2
      Assist 2 5
      Shot on Goal 19 17
      Foul Suffered 21 27
      Foul Committed 11 11

Kaka Ronaldo
        Goals 7 2
        Assist 2 5
        Shot on Goal 19 17
        Foul Suffered 21 27
        Foul Committed 11 11
        For my money Kaka is the better balla right now not talikng anything away from him but Ronaldo is smewhat one dimensional while Kaka can offer more in all aspects of the game.

Do not take this as me fighting de yout I just think he not better than Kaka.

There is nothing wrong with saying Kaka is better, but that term yuh use, wha dat ... "one dimensional". Wha dat mean?

First I said "somewhat one dimensional" meaning he makes pretty much the same kind of play most of the time, going forward at speed with the stepovers. Kaka is more creative than that and defends far better than he does.

btw whatever happened to 'Dino" being the greatest player ever ?

One dimensional!! Okay sah!

Courtney always mek a talk, "Form is temporary ... class is permanent! I'm not into the thing of discrediting a player because of a slump.

One dimensional!! Okay sah!

Courtney always mek a talk, "Form is temporary ... class is permanent! I'm not into the thing of discrediting a player because of a slump.
                Well it's been a year so but I'll wait to see.

A year? Do you watch La Liga bredren? After Eto'o went out injuried, who picked up the slack? It says alot when a man can score 17 goals and is considered to be in a slump. Oh .. before you continue with the thing, the leading scorer has 19 goals.

Scaly, every response does not have to be a quote on this forum. Instead of hitting the "Quote" button to respond, just scroll down to the "Quick Reply" window and enter your info there.

BTW, Kaka ah di better baller.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Scaly, every response does not have to be a quote on this forum. Instead of hitting the "Quote" button to respond, just scroll down to the "Quick Reply" window and enter your info there.

BTW, Kaka ah di better baller.
                      Sorry Tilla I just found it easier that way...oh sh#@t I did again.

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
                        First I said "somewhat one dimensional" meaning he makes pretty much the same kind of play most of the time, going forward at speed with the stepovers. Kaka is more creative than that and defends far better than he does.

btw whatever happened to 'Dino" being the greatest player ever ?
                        Pretty much the same play most of the time?

I think you are believing his "step-overs" is his plays? Those are merely a part....a part of his effort to beat players. Those are never his plays! His plays encompass his movement into space, his movement in pressuring ball and or players, his switching-drawing awy from his markers, links with his teammates, his shots -dead ball or "on the run"...i.e. his additions to the over-all tactics of his team.

I will now say he has, this year....moved into the ranks of the current "great players".
                        ...unfortunately for him, Kaka is just that little bit better at adding to his teams. part of Kaka's greatness is his ability to appear less of a threat than others on his team. He is great...at doing the 'right things'...the 'great things' as did Frankie Worrell in cricket, with little fan-fare...just devastingly and classically effective!
                        GREAT PLAYER!

haha!

If I give you all enuff time, unnu always agree with me eventually. Ah hope unnu all remember who was a big up Kaka as probably the best player in the world.

Maybe one day unnu will realise that Jermaine Hue is our best player. And has been our best player for a while!

Champions League pics - don't worry, NO SCORES!

Heinze try bruk Luton ankle di odda day and now him waan bruk Kaka's.