Gus Johnson Won't Ruin Soccer Americans aren't yet sold ....

• Gus Johnson Won't Ruin Soccer Americans aren't yet sold ....

Gus Johnson Won't Ruin Soccer Americans aren't yet sold on the sport. The Fox broadcaster is just the salesman it needs.

Do you agree with this article?

http://www.newrepublic.com/article/1...n-soccer-needs#

Slow "soccer news" day???

Well you already know PM's views on Gus. IMO he's not right for the seasoned "soccer" fans like us. Many here have grown up on a steady diet of English commentary and it's hard to hear otherwise, especially an American who is not familiar with the gmae and it's jargons.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

He could have a point. The current fanatics are already hooked. Gus may pull in tons of new fanatics.

Once through the door? ...watching and listening to GUS, they shall surely start surfing for more and more games...and then be exposed to more and more 'serious commentators'... Sky's the limit!!!

Gus Johnson Won't Ruin Soccer Americans aren't yet sold on the sport. The Fox broadcaster is just the salesman it needs.

Do you agree with this article?

http://www.newrepublic.com/article/1...-soccer-needs#
          This is probably the stupidest article I have ever read in the history of sport. The problem with Johnson is not (just) his histrionics, but his complete lack of understanding of the game and - most importantly - lack of "football announcer class". By appointing Johnson as the announcer for big games, FOX has ignored the tradition of a certain kind of "majesty" that surrounds certain football events, like the WC Finals, UCL Finals, FA Cup Final. These are the marquis events in our sport where play calling should be assigned to those at the pinnacle of their soccer broadcasting careers, not assignments for rookies. It would be like having Jangle MC the wedding of Prince William to Kate Middleton. You just don't put a dyam bhutto on the mike and expect dignified people to accept them. FOX has a responsibility to uphold the aura of these events and the traditions of the sport. By appointing this fellow, they are not only diluting the product but tainting it for new comers to the sport as well.

This person quoted in the article echoed my sentiments: “Gus Johnson commentating the 2018 world cup is nothing short of a disgrace to the game,” and, “guess I’ll be returning to the days of watching World Cup En Espanol.” The writer responded with: "This level of vitriol toward something as innocuous as the announcer is, as we will see, downright neurotic." INNOCUOUS AS THE ANNOUNCER!!!! Are you freaking kidding me!!!??? Proof positive that he simply does not get it. There is no neuroses, only a deep and profound respect for traditions that have made football the beautiful and majestic sport it is, it is without equal on our planet and to say the announcer is "innocuous" can come from the mind's eye of a sporting peasant. Maybe in lesser sports like baseball, American rugby and basketball that may be the case, but NOT in the "beautiful game".

Our connection to these grand football spectacles and traditions are first and foremost made through the teams, players, managers and organizations that any seasoned announcer knows he or she has to expertly link into and leverage in delivering a quality play-calling product. This is beyond Johnson's grasp. FOX - with their appointment of Johnson (and Ian Wright and Warren Barton) either does not understand or care to uphold these important subtleties that contribute to the overall experience of watching big games on TV. It is broadcasting malpractice of the highest order.

Does he destroy your enjoyment of the match...or do you still watch your match and smile at his histrionics?

Mute button?

Does he destroy your enjoyment of the match...or do you still watch your match and smile at his histrionics?
                To say he *destroys* my enjoyment of any match would be a stretch. He certainly doesn't enhance the experience and more often than not - detracts from it. It is a horribly pedestrian move on the part of FOX to punish us with this fellow. They have assumed that people need to have "one of their own" calling a game which is ridiculous. Next they will be asking to have JUMBOTRONS installed above the pitches so that they can tell everyone to MAKE SOME NOISE like they do at basketball games. Every time I experience that crap I just have to shake my head at how pathetic the masses are at being supporters in American sports (diehards and Boston Celtics fans excluded). Americans are good at many things, but they are useless at cheering on their teams without the announcer helping them along. That is the environment that Gus belongs in, not in the cathedral of world football which requires greater dignity and poise than he is capable of.

It would be like having Jangle MC the wedding of Prince William to Kate Middleton. You just don't put a dyam bhutto on the mike and expect dignified people to accept them.
                  play wid puppy dawg and him turn round lick yuh face......brite!!!!

DWL though.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It would be like having Jangle MC the wedding of Prince William to Kate Middleton. You just don't put a dyam bhutto on the mike and expect dignified people to accept them.
                    play wid puppy dawg and him turn round lick yuh face......brite!!!!

DWL though.
                    No malice intended, it was only to underscore the point that I used you, I could easily have said Gamma and it might have been more effective But tell the truth, am I lying? This bwoy jus' come and want to conduct the service at the biggest cathedrals of this most auspicious of sports? KMT. Next you aggo see Fox petition to mek Gus Johnson the next Pope!

no offense taken....me know seh yuh barely sensible. Anyway, you couldn't have said it better.

That will work...

...but it is the US followers he is trying to 'grab'? ...and as you say they are used to=programmed for a leader such as GUS... right?

hehehehe!!!!

BS article.....A waste of space.

Gus will not make any meaningful contribution to the growth & popularity of soccer in the U.S. He will be nothing more than a sideshow, and very poor one. If you are not genuinely interested in the sport, a commentator (& certainly not Gus) won't change your mind. Fox's becoming a joke, no wonder they're playing catchup, after being the leaders in the U.S.