Montesso laments limited growth in Jamaica's football

So only Spanish team can make you better?

you have so many classics with top world class teams playing, a few in the US which we could participate in with our youth teams. If we just have regional Jamaican teams playing each other on a regular basis we would end up much better.

Yuh bettah start Organize a Diaspora Bond if unnuh serious..

Yard bruk...

Yard bruk cause them have no idea. All the smarts using in the Lotto scam and how to beat the system.

Yuh mean all the smarts use fi create Govt Ponzi Scheme.... yuh juss a move money from many poor to few rich.. dat nuh produce Wealth..

The lack of intelligence on this con is shocking.. like dem nevah guh school..

Check this: It may have been posted already. One of the things that struck me is this comparison between the "modern coach" and the "traditional coach" : The modern coach focuses on "development". The traditional coach focuses on "winning at all costs". That is, maybe, just one summary of what Montesso is talking about versus playing in a school competition. School football is about winning a trophy; football development it is not.
            http://blog.thebeautifulgame.ie/

That is not an alternative. That is just one of the tasks proposed to complement programs in schools.

Mosiah and any others who will at last listen - TALENT ABOUNDS!
              ...because the talent pool of kids with great potential is large you need avenues that will ensure much of that talent is developed to fullest potential.

Again for the umpteenth time - the schools only or clubs only or stand along academies only or associations with professional clubs (teams or academies) outside of the island only will not provide enough opportunities for our talented youngsters - TALENT ABOUNDS! It shall take all of the foregoing and more!

Unnuh hear what me seh fi di umpteenth time?!

OK! unnuh ear!

I also went on to emphasize that the school system is the entity where the majority of our talent resides! The schools have that vast talent pool as captive students. ...dat mi a seh hon dis-yah site fi hat leas 14 years!!! Check di search pan di hin-ta-net!!!!

Again for 14 years I have said and am saying it is nonsense to not make the teaching in the schools TOP OF THE WORLD!!! ...that also should be done in the clubs...and any football academy!!!! Unnuh deaf??? ...unnuh stap misrepresent mi!!! Tenk unnuh!!!

It stands to reason that if the vast majority of our best talents are in the schools then most moving to TOP OF THE WORLD will 'start' there. The coaching/TEACHING must therefore be TOP OF THE WORLD!!!

What do you mean start there ??

If we are to start it should be with 8 year old dem BEFORE dem enter the High School system.. so not sure what you mean by 'start' there.

Do you mean pull them out of the High schools ?

Karl,

The talent "resides" in the school because most (I think) kids do go to school at some point in their life. But as Madib says the "talent" has to be identified and development begun from a young age... 6 years and even younger.

I put it to you that the people's money should not be spent on developing any sport, not beyond physical education as a subject in school and a "reasonable" contribution to a team's participation in whatever competition there is among schools for various sports. "Football DEVELOPMENT" should not be mentioned in the same breath as "school" IMO. Football development should be the purview of clubs and coaching schools that have a twelve month programme with the requisite break to accommodate a school's competition.

A school's purpose is to produce students with "mens sana in corpore sano" which a good academic and PE programme should provide and that's it... IMO.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                    Yes Karl!!! Let them know that soccer development (youth development) in Jamaica will be achieved through the high school "system". I don't know why countries like Brazil, Argentina, Germany, Spain & France can't see that......and you have the U.S. wanting to follow them. Hopefully they will soon share your "vision", and ignore posters like Jawge, Mosiah & Bricktop, they don't have your insight.
                    Just another post by a blind person!!!
                    ...or you are referring to another Karl. ...or you are dis....

Let me ask a few simple questions -
                    How many academies are there in Brazil? ...and Argentina? ...Germany? France?

Cost of setting up a good academy?

How many of our kids do you think have the talent that could be developed to enter academies? ...how many spaces for our talented kids do you think we need to allow all our talented kids to gain access?

Let us step back - Do you think all our talented kids need at the very earliest highest quality instructions?

--------

I guess you think that all our kids deemed talented at say, Maths should leave the schools and enter Math academies?

If not, why not?

Why would you think that all our talented kids should not have a shot to be given very best teaching?

---------

In this matter as it relates to our vast numbers of talented kids and the poor circumstances of most...the vast sums invested in their development by GOJ, parents and guardians, teachers, communities...etc...I could not care too hoots if the USA or France or Brazil or whatever country puts 20,000 of their kids in academies...all I care about is our Jamaica kids. Their need to, within the constraints of our comparative miniscule population and few pennies, get them access to the very best we can offer. That means utilizing our resources as best we can to give the greatest numbers of deserving kids access to possible opportunity to advance their lives.

Do not tell nonsense about 'must and bound' to follow the path of those countries. We are not like them. They have taken a decision to ignore vast numbers as those they capture still when compared to ours is still a tremendous number! We need every last one of our talented to be introduced to best we can offer.

We shall develop our academies but we need the best teaching we can offer in our schools. Nothing but the best we can offer is good enough. The offering in every single discipline within our schools is not good enough.

It is nonsense for our country to dump thousands of our talented...deny them access to quality teaching. We cannot afford to do that.
                    Last edited by Karl; June 3, 2013, 08:16 PM.

Karl,

Are you saying that schools should morph into sports development academies?? I don't think you fully grasp what football development entails. Check my link at the bottom of this thread please. Karl, the example of what successful footballing countries do is not a frivolous one... why should (even if JA could and I put it to you JA CAN NOT) JA diverge from a formula with proven success? Are kids going to play football ten months of the year while in school? doesn't make sense Karl. How do you think the sporting pie will be divided if schools adopt what you suggest? EVERY sport, not to mention other disciplines like music, pottery, whatever, will demand or at least want their discipline to be catered to over a ten month period. How does a public school system sustain such a model? it can't, IMO, I just don't see how that could happen.

The people's money is not to be spent on sporting academies but rather on education and phys ed to the extent it is a part of that.

What the HELL is this, a response or a thesis??? And why would you make such a response to a "blind person"???

I agree with you. Use some of that money allocated for schools to develop young, talented soccer players.

money for the schools comes from old boys club

What about the vast number of new and newer schools? Some of them aren't even old enough to have graduates.

Breaking News!!!!

Dinosaurs are not extinct as previously thought!

He's the TD now.