• Benitez: Forget Past, Let's Make History

BENITEZ: FORGET PAST, LET'S MAKE HISTORY
    Jimmy Rice 23 April 2007
    Rafa Benitez has told his players to forget about their historic triumph over Chelsea in 2005 and get on with making more history.
    Liverpool are meeting Jose Mourinho's men in the Champions League semi-final for the second time in three seasons.

The draw has brought back memories of Luis Garcia's famous goal which took the Reds to Istanbul, but Benitez refuses to be drawn on past glories.

"It's history, it's gone," said the Spaniard, "If Chelsea really want to argue about the goal, then we will argue it should have been a penalty and a red card, but it is better to look ahead.

"The history the two clubs will create in the next two meetings is more important than what happened in the past."

Two years ago, Liverpool travelled home from the first-leg at Stamford Bridge on the back of a goalless draw.

But while Benitez predicts a similarly tight encounter on Wednesday, the Anfield boss insists that, this time around, he'll send his side out looking for goals.

He said: "I don't think there will be many goals in the tie. Chelsea have a very good defence and concede fewer goals now than we do.

"But 0-0 away from home is not necessarily a good result; it is better to try and score a goal. We scored goals in Barcelona and our idea is to score at Stamford Bridge and hopefully to win.

"I think it will be a tight game, though. It tends to be like that when you know you have another game to come."

As is always the case when Liverpool meet Chelsea, much is being made of the tactical battle between the two managers.

However, Benitez is keen to stress that players win matches, not coaches.

"It is not about Jose and me; it is better to talk about Gerrard against Lampard," he said. "Managers can prepare plans, but at the end of the day games come down to players.

"What happens on the pitch decides things, not what managers want to happen. I remember Eidur Gudjohnsen had a good chance to equalise late in the game at Anfield. If he had scored it would have been very different.

"Chelsea would have won, Liverpool would not have been in Istanbul and no one would be complimenting me on my tactics."

While London and Liverpool pit their wits for the chance to be represented in the final, the other semi sees Man Utd take on Italian giants AC Milan.

For Benitez, the presence of three English sides as the competition reaches its finale is proof the Premiership is currently to best league in the world.

"I'm not overlooking Milan, because they are a team with a lot of quality and experience and they are still in with a good chance in the Champions League," said the 47-year-old.

"But if you are comparing league with league, I think the English league might be the strongest around right now. Maybe in only one year things will change, but I know the Spanish league very well and I know the English league. I think at this moment England is a little better.

"Obviously there are some very good teams in Spain, but generally the competition is stronger in this country.

"I have been very impressed with Chelsea this season, the way they have played and the way they have kept the pressure on Manchester United.

"For me, United have been almost perfect this season; they have been fantastic, but Chelsea have been very close and that says a lot. We know we are in for a tough game, but I think we are a better team now than two years ago."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Lazie & Rock I would love to dispose of U in the C.L final but Milan wants us badly I believe U will be knocked out...a pre emptive sorry on my behalf.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

KUYT IN PREMIERSHIP FIRST FOR BENITEZ
      Jimmy Rice 23 April 2007
      Rafa Benitez today heaped praise on striker Dirk Kuyt after he became the first player during the Spaniard's reign to score more than 10 Premiership goals in a season.
      While the Dutchman trails Peter Crouch for goals in all competitions, his brace against Wigan took his league total to 12 – two more than Steven Gerrard achieved last term.

And with Liverpool preparing to take on Chelsea in the Champions League semi-final, Kuyt can also take pride in knowing he's now two ahead of Didier Drogba's first-season tally.

"Dirk was a key player for us against Wigan but I think by the end of the season he will have proved himself to have been a key player for us all year," said Benitez.

"He is always a player with confidence. If he's not scoring goals himself, he just works harder, which is a solution to that problem.

"Now, he's scoring good goals. He might have ended up with three or four out there, and that has to be positive for the team."

Despite...,I have only one proplem with Fergie's starting eleven, O'Shea should play left back and the more experienced defender,Heinze, in CD.
        I would start Kuszczak.
        Toughest game for the entire season.
        Would've loved to have Saha and Rio but a suh it guh more time.
        Rooney gwaan mad dem.

Blessed

HAVE YOU SEEN LAZIE ......NERVOUS !

Ferguson unconcerned by injuries

Ferguson still expects a good performance from his team
          Champions League semi-final, 1st leg
          Date: Tuesday, 24 April
          Kick-off: 1945 BST
          Venue: Old Trafford
          Referee: Kyros Vassaras (Greece)
          Listen: BBC Radio Five Live
          Updates: BBC Sport website and mobile
          Sir Alex Ferguson insists he is not worried by Manchester United's lengthy injury list ahead of the Champions League first leg against AC Milan.

"All the big players are available. The only problem I have is maybe having an adequate bench, but I'm happy with the squad I've got," said the United boss.

"Obviously you miss players like Rio Ferdinand and Gary Neville in big matches but the spirit is good.

"We should expect a very good performance with the players we have."

News conference: Man Utd boss Sir Alex Ferguson

I don't have any fears about it

Sir Alex Ferguson

As well as Ferdinand and Neville, United are without Nemanja Vidic, Mikael Silvestre, Craig Cathcart, Louis Saha, Ji-Sung Park and Kieran Richardson (hamstring).

Patrice Evra is only likely to be fit enough to make the bench, which could also feature the likes of Chris Eagles, Fang Zhou Dong, Kieran Lee and Michael Barnes.

United beat Roma 7-1 in their last Champions League match at Old Trafford, but while Ferguson says he does not expect a repeat against AC Milan, he is hopeful of a victory.

"At this level, with the players we have, there is always going to be expectation," he said.

"The desire of the players is to reach a higher level. The quality of the opposition and the importance of the occasion demand the best performance.

606: DEBATE
          Mistakes with Kaka and co around will lead to away goals

UhahCantona

"The performance in the last round was very, very good and that must give the players confidence.

"They haven't done much wrong this season. The team spirit has got better because the group is getting to know each other.

"I don't have any fears about it. I see the mood in the camp and it pleases me.

"Yes, we have concerns about one or two injuries, but the important players are playing and it's good to have them."

AC Milan have only one injury worry, over keeper Dida, and manager Carlo Ancelotti was able to rest his key players on Saturday.

"We arrive in perfect condition, relaxed and convinced," said Ancelotti.

"They have some problems, but in games like these everything is solvable with great determination and concentration."

Now we have played the toughest game, we look forward to dismatling this formidable Milan team. Kaka clearly has Lenky figured.
            Kaka should be even more dangerous in the return(home)leg, we desperately need Alan Smith.At times our defense looked clumsy and flatfooted.Away goals matter only if we lose.

Blessed