Midtable fears with Englands Hodgson! Dunny& Stoni ?

• Midtable fears with Englands Hodgson! Dunny& Stoni ?

The fears that were in the air when Hodgson got the England job STILL haven't faded

By Martin Samuel
    PUBLISHED: 16:58 EST, 31 May 2013 | UPDATED: 05:51 EST, 1 June 2013
    7 shares
    View
    comments

England won’t get thrashed by Brazil in the Maracana Stadium on Sunday. They won’t get thrashed by anybody while Roy Hodgson is in charge. They just won’t win many.

Well, not enough. A year down the line and the fears present when Hodgson took the job have not gone away.

England do not need a safe pair of hands; the type of manager who can steer West Bromwich Albion to a comfortable mid-table position. They need to be organised, yes, all teams do — but beyond that an England manager must gamble, must risk, must career just a little on the ragged edge.

Going somewhere? England's conservative approach has come to the fore under Hodgson

All smiles: England boss Roy Hodgson poses with members of the British Army's women's (and men's - out of frame) before training

Otherwise, England end up with a World Cup qualifying campaign like this one, stalemate after stalemate against the teams who matter, with growing concern that one fateful day the luck will run out with brutal consequences. Draws leave little margin for error late in the day; not the quantity England have been racking up anyway.

Hodgson has been here before. In the rush to acclaim him when he took the England job, it was widely mentioned that as coach of Finland he lost just two of 14 qualifying matches for the 2008 European Championship. Less pervasive was the fact that he won only six of the remaining 12 and four of them were against Kazakhstan, Armenia and Azerbaijan.

Hodgson ground it out in Group A, as he often does, and four of his away matches were goalless draws. These would all have been hailed as impressive and vital points at the time, particularly those in Belgium, Portugal and Serbia.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2UyGVyLSV
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook
    Last edited by Karl; June 2, 2013, 03:15 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Rio & Lineker ...Kick out against the clueless one...SASS !

Deal with it! Ferdinand (who's only just retired from international duty) joins Lineker in sticking boot into England

By Neil Ashton
    PUBLISHED: 17:35 EST, 31 May 2013 | UPDATED: 03:52 EST, 1 June 2013
    14 shares
    View
    comments

Rio Ferdinand has launched a scathing attack on the standards in English football ahead of the glamour game against Brazil.
    Two days after former England striker Gary Lineker claimed Roy Hodgson had taken the national team back to the ‘Dark Ages’, Manchester United defender Ferdinand wrote on Twitter: ‘Last ten years, when have England played consistently well?
    ‘A coaching strategy for our young teams/kids needs to be implemented to see change.
    ‘In most Premier League teams retaining the ball is done best by foreign players in the team. They are taught to pass to a man with a man on. #dealwithit.’

This is the way: Ferdinand asked whether England have ever consistently performed well this decade

Ferdinand, in the England teams that lost World Cup quarter-finals against Brazil in 2002 and Portugal in 2006, added: ‘So-called “Golden Generation” obviously wasn’t “golden” because we won nothing! Great players don’t always make great teams.’
    Last night FA chairman David Bernstein hit back, saying: ‘Rio Ferdinand should know that we are putting a huge amount of work into that (youth development).
    ‘We are implementing a complete programme within the leagues, with the EPPP (Elite Player Performance Plan) and with the opening of St George’s Park. They are not producing results yet, but they will do.’
    Yet Sir Trevor Brooking yesterday admitted English football is still 10 years behind Germany. The FA’s director of football development said: ‘Germany did it 10 years ago and spent about 50million euros on it.

'We need to get 18, 19, 20-year-olds breaking into first teams of the Premier League, and until we get proper full-time coaches into those age groups we’re not going to do it.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2UyGzoVoj
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

A betta dem gi di youth coach , at least the passing would have looked decent.

All I can say is what a pity Gareth Bale is Welsh, can you imagine him playing for England.

lol....if Hodgson shitstem needs one man to make it work, its a failure,shows how far behind the curve your and his thinking is ..Rio,Lineker,Samuels and all the other doubters were right Hodgson is a Rucks.

Lawd x gimme a break Nuh, mi Nuh know nothing bout Hodgson and him system, just know they been struggling, but I was thinking that bale was English and that would be a nice piece to add only to find out he's Welsh which means we ,ay probably never see him in the World Cup.

lol....if Hodgson shitstem needs one man to make it work, its a failure,shows how far behind the curve your and his thinking is ..Rio,Lineker,Samuels and all the other doubters were right Hodgson is a Rucks.
              Calm down X, hodgson have the ting sorted. Good job so far!

Yeah , Dunny tell Rio, Lineker and the growing company

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                  Calm down X, hodgson have the ting sorted. Good job so far!
                  Dunny...yuh caaan serious a bakside!!!

England would struggle to beat the ReggaeBoyz today!!

Trust mi im dead serious ,im wouldnt waan im coach dear Arsenal though.

Him and the other Brits just trying to build back them confidence after having to hire foreign coaches for years. Operation pride

Dumb move build back false pride,it will back fiyah big time,i will be surprised if they make it to brazil.

Unuh please tell me what is Roy Hodgson's record as England manager so far, how many games as he lost?

here is the answer from RH himself.....

Roy Hodgson admits England are not winning enough games under his management but is sure his men will qualify for next summer's World Cup.

Asked if England were securing enough victories, Hodgson said: "No we're not.

"One of the areas where we've been, to say the least, unfortunate, is in the choice of front players and the availability of front players."

Daniel Sturridge did not make the trip to Rio after damaging ankle ligaments in the 1-1 draw with the Republic of Ireland at Wembley on Wednesday, while Danny Welbeck has not recovered from a knee problem.

However, Hodgson remains upbeat about England's hopes of being back in Brazil next year.

His side have four remaining qualifying games, starting on 6 September at Wembley against Moldova and are currently second in their group, two points behind Montenegro.

They then go to Ukraine before hosting Montenegro and Poland.

"I'm looking forward to coming back here again next year," added Hodgson.

England's tactical approach against the Republic was criticised by former striker Gary Lineker as a return to "the dark ages" but Hodgson insisted he would not allow such comments to get to him.Analysis: Ex-England and Liverpool midfielder John Barnes

It's going to be difficult for Roy Hodgson against Brazil because he doesn't have the players available to him that were around during the so-called "golden era".

He doesn't have the likes of David Beckham and Michael Owen available to him. They were players playing at the highest level for the top clubs in England.

Whereas now the England team will be made up of players who aren't playing for the top clubs, and that is going to work against the national team.

So I have lots of sympathy for Roy because, through no fault of his own, the make-up of the team isn't as good as teams in the last decade.

"I'm enjoying the job every bit as much [as before]," he said. "I'm perfectly happy for anyone who wants to to come up with criticism. They are quite entitled to it but I'm more than happy with the way we are playing and moving forward."

The former Fulham and West Brom boss insists Sunday's friendly cannot be used as much of a yardstick of progress, however.

"I am picking a team at the end of the season with the players available to me," said Hodgson. "In September there might be as many as six or eight very, very interesting, very talented players pushing for a place in the team.

"I don't really understand how a game at the end of a long season here in Brazil can be a tremendous barometer."

But he said he was still desperate for his side to turn in an impressive performance.

"I'm not suggesting this is an unimportant game. There are no unimportant England games and there are no friendly games either. There are only preparatory games and there are only games we want to win and there is an awful lot of prestige in this one," he said.

"It is the opening of the new Maracana - one of those iconic grounds where all footballers would like to have said in their career 'I stepped out and played'.

"We would like it even more if we can do it next year but we have got this chance this year.

"I know there are going to be 11 players who are desperate to play, delighted to have been given the chance and with only one thing on their mind, which is to come off with a good result against Brazil.

"But I am not prepared to say that if we play well and win then it is all hunky dory for September, and if we don't that we might as well forget September, because we haven't won this one."

Captain Steven Gerrard leads the list of absentees here in Rio, which makes England's task in one of the great arenas of world football even more difficult.

Hodgson said: "People back home may realise the situation we find ourselves in as well as we do. They also know that some of the players we may be counting on playing are not with us, so it is a great opportunity for others.
                            England's remaining qualifiers

6 September: H v Moldova

10 September: A v Ukraine

11 October: H v Montenegro

15 October: H v Poland

"There are shirts up for grabs and what better opportunity really for you to show 'you can count on me and I'm the player you should be looking at' than to go out at the Maracana against Brazil and play well? It is going to be an enormous feather in your cap.

"But we've got to be careful because the fact is after we played Brazil recently and won at Wembley it seemed everyone was predicting wonderful things and then we go to Montenegro and don't play so well and draw, and suddenly we are back again to square one.

"We don't personally feel we are riding the rollercoaster from fantastic world beaters to absolutely hopeless but we have to accept that could be a perception."

Roy can't buy players. He has to use what he has and pretty much the current Enlish side is mediorce at best.