When will we ever understand!?

• When will we ever understand!?

Again during the mex versus Nigeria game they asked why is mex playing Nigeria, the answer because they are strong, physical, fast, free flowing like, guess who they said, yes Jamaica! Nigeria is the direct prep for jamaica but like the commentator said in the mex jam game, they expect defensive lapses from these kind of teams, these African type teams, yes that is exactly what it means, they say that these kind of teams rely overly on physical at the expense of the mental, that is the rap!!!!! Raise yuh hand if yuh tired of that rap.

Is it deserved, yes, it is deserved, our preparation, our selection, our development process all smacks of third world, hurry come up, not just in time but just after time preparation. Here we are again smack in the middle of this thing and we are so unprepared for the next few games. The one thing we did right in Mexico play hard core disciplined ball we lost the discipline to do that against the so called weaker teams and we paid the price.

Build the Jamaican football house on the rock of defense first, everything will follow but here we go again chasing some magical fantasy, including players in the squad who have no business in the squad, anyway, mi done, just pure wishing business wi dey pon now.

The sad thing is, Nigeria should have beaten that Mexican side. It is kind of strange that Nigeria did not play Obi Mikel and Victor Moses in this game. Mikel would actually diffuse the Mexican midfield while Moses would me an exceptional offensive threat.

Nigeria have always tended to play their games where they seem not too concerned about the defensive side of their game. As a Nigerian college professor friend of mine always told me, Nigeria is never concerned about defense when they play, as they always feel that no matter how many you score, they can score more than you so they will win anyway. I always thought that was a footballing philosophy more bordering on gambling than good football tactical nous.

Javier "Chicareto" Hernandez is one of their greatest goal scoring threats there is. It is actually amazing how he can find himself in the correct position at the right time to put away those opportunities. As I was chatting with Karl last night, it is almost impossible to stop him as he is always on the move. Put a defender on him, but I am no sure it will help. He would stay with that defender then make his run just at the right time to tap home.

It should be interesting to see what team Tappa settles with for this match in Kingston on Tuesday. If he decided to include Hue or Keammar Daley at the expense of a defensive midfielder, I would have no problem with that. My philosophy is that you do not win games on only solid defense. You need to have that option to create opportunities consistently to allow our forwards to score.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I think for some reason most people think defensive mindset means no attack, I see where we can develop a unique hybrid of possession ball mixed with rapid counters with all our players are selected with passing being a key talent to build upon.

One rule that I never forget and is a basis for life is you cannot attack if home is weak, you cannot attack from a weak foundation because on the counter against you you are going to be beat. Ensure you are strong at yard first then build on that rock. Classic examples are Rome versus Carthage, carthage was bold and imaginative they had a strong attack but very little defense once the main attack was blunted same with Germany in 2nd world war fighting on multiple fronts without sufficient energy resources then getting bloodied in an attempt to obtain greater energy resources on the eastern front.

You cannot spend your way out to a great economy Argentina has shown us that multiple times and will show us that one more time in next five to ten years as will brazil. Same with the business boardroom, you cannot attack or build if you have not done the behind the scenes work outside the boardroom, is just suh, you cannot attack from a position of weakness you will get destroyed.if you know your enemy have a bazooka then don't carry no ak 47 to the fight, you will lose, even if you get off the first shots.
      Strong ah yard and expand from there, same with football.
      Last edited by Stonigut; June 1, 2013, 01:25 PM.

Yuh mean like Jevaughn Watson ??

Who is the creative force in the middle of your Starting 11 ?

The guy to make that killer pass ala Antigua from 40 yards out.. pin point.. all the forward had to do was stick out him foot...

Take your time now...

Yuh mean like Jevaughn Watson ??

I was about to say the same thing, but held myself from doing so. Watson is an average player at best on both the offensive and defensive of the ball. It is surprising to see how Stony thinks he deserves to be in the starting eleven.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

We overrate this creative middle like is some supernatural force, it ain't that. This is the hex and Antigua is not here. For every creative visionary pass there are probably 2-3 tackles that need to e made and pressure applied in the middle of the field. I love goals but I love no goals scored on our team first and foremost.

Overrate ??!

You underrate it..

Can't ask for more motivation than that.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  like the commentator said in the mex jam game, they expect defensive lapses from these kind of teams, these African type teams, yes that is exactly what it means, they say that these kind of teams rely overly on physical at the expense of the mental, that is the rap!!!!!

We should try and draw all our matches. That should be good enough.

Yes?

When a man talk bout defensive foundation.. mi nevah know seh is attacking mid, di creator him waan play innah defense..

Wheh yuh seh.. Steeel innah Attacking Midfeeeel... ?

Summaddy need to update the Iniestas...

That is what I say too, but Nuff man believe say pretty ball rule over fundamentals, if you can't defend the fort then what is your purpose, you cease to exist, you are a non-entity. The mexico's of the world know they will always beat us because they know we are indisciplined and will have a few significant lapses of concentration in the game.

When a man talk bout defensive foundation.. mi nevah know seh is attacking mid, di creator him waan play innah defense..

Wheh yuh seh.. Steeel innah Attacking Midfeeeel... ?

Summaddy need to update the Iniestas...

You had to go there! Iniesta is so...last year! Schweinsteiger wi seh!

Let's compare:
                          Height - Schweinsteiger 6'-0" Watson 6'-1" Iniesta 5'-7"
                          Weight - Schweinsteiger 79k Watson 79 Iniesta 65
                          Age - Schweinsteiger 28 Watson 29 Iniesta 29
                          Salary - Schweinsteiger ~95,000 euro/month, Watson 95,000/year, Iniesta ~95,000/month

As you can see, where it matters, there are more similarities between Schweinsteiger and Watson.

Is ongly on di Reggaeboyz site yuh get tuh see Swchweinsteiger, Jevaughn Watson and Iniesta being compared...

Dis site ah di bestest !

Stoni made me do it!