• Alvas Powell could face the fire

Alvas Powell could face the fire

By Howard Walker Observer Senior Reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, May 30, 2013

Promising young defender Alvas Powell could be thrown into the firing line against the Mexicans and the United States in two crucial World Cup qualifiers on June 4 and 7 at the National Stadium, following a slew of injuries that has depleted the Jamaican backline.

Powell, who will be 19 on July 18, was given a starting role in the heart of the defence, partnering German-born new boy Daniel Gordon against Tottenham Hotspurs last Thursday and has impressed the coaching staff.
    Jamaica teenaged defender Alvas Powell (left) and Reggae Boyz teammate Rodolph Austin in a training session at the JFF Technical Centre in March.

"To be honest with you, Alvas Powell... in all the games he played from in the Caribbean Cup and the last Tottenham game, it was an exceptional performance and he could be the main man come the fourth," head coach Theodore Whitmore said.
    With three crucial qualifiers against Mexico, USA and Honduras coming in the space of eight days, the month of June will be a defining one for the Reggae Boyz.
    Jamaica are at the bottom of the six-team group on two points from three games behind leaders Panama with five ahead of Costa Rica, USA and Honduras all on four points with the mighty Mexico on three points.
    "We have lost basically 75 per cent of our key players around the back... Demar Phillips out, Nosworthy and Jermaine Taylor and that's why we are here. We have Daniel Gordon, we have O'Brian Woodbine who is back in the frame as well. So it's just for us to get the right chemistry and right component going into the game against Mexico," said Whitmore.
    Meanwhile, Jamaica's all-time leading goalscorer Luton Shelton was left out of the training camp after some below par performances despite scoring a beautiful freekick against the USA last September in Kingston, which gave the Reggae Boyz their historic 2-1 win in Kingston
    "Again we have four strikers which is Ryan Johnson, Theo Robinson, Beckford (Jermaine) and Mattocks (Darren), who played an excellent game against Tottenhnam," Whitmore reiterated.
    "I wouldn't say Luton Shelton would be out but we just looking on our opponent and how we want to approach this game with the four strikers who we think can match-up for us in these games," he added, before taking charge of Tuesday's training session at the JFF Technical Centre at the UWI.
    Jamaica teen-aged defender Alvas Powell (left) and Reggae Boy teammate Rodolph Austin in a training session at the JFF Technical Centre in March.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2Un7vqWiv

It would be interesting to get Mosiah's and the Jamaican based forumites views on Powell. Is he ready for the step-up?

I think he is. He might not be a Christian Chivu but he has a mature head on those you g shoulders

Aside: Tappa is not the coach! Tappa drops players!

He picks the team! Manages during training and during matches!
        ...and there is still the clamour; he is not the coach!

What is the saying?
        ...A prophet is not without honour, but in his own country, and among his own kin, and in his own house? ...a coach with his own nation's football team?

Dun kno mi his a Tappa supporta!
        FORWARD, Tappa! ...wish you and your TEAM, my Reggae Boyz, much success!!!

I think he plays too slowly. ...shows tendency to be too often late to the ball and on tackles.

btw - Still have not seen the Spurs match.
          Begging a pointing to a web video or a sending by one of those web files?
          Thanks!

Mattocks had an excellent game against Tottenham ???

Imagine that... I guess his 'attitude' has changed..

...but a wha di!!!!

...did you see de game?

did you see the question marks ??

ah nuh me seh suh.. ah di coach seh suh !

Alvas...well, I think his late season matches with Portmore United did a lot for him.

In those matches, Alvas played as if he belonged, and that does not mean he always had good games. But he didn't play scared and he even was quite vocal on the field, directing more seasoned players when he found it necessary.

He is capable on both sides, likes to run with the ball and is quite skilful doing it. I would like to see him pass and move (barf) more often instead of trying to run through his opponents. It works sometimes, not sure it will work against Mexico's professionals.

So, is he capable of defending our goal against the Mexicans and assist in our offence? I am more confident of the latter. That's not because he can't defend, it's just that one of those mazy dribbles may result in him losing the ball and putting pressure on our defence.

Would I start him over Doyley? Hell to the YES!

Alvas...well, I think his late season matches with Portmore United did a lot for him.

In those matches, Alvas played as if he belonged, and that does not mean he always had good games. But he didn't play scared and he even was quite vocal on the field, directing more seasoned players when he found it necessary.

He is capable on both sides, likes to run with the ball and is quite skilful doing it. I would like to see him pass and move (barf) more often instead of trying to run through his opponents. It works sometimes, not sure it will work against Mexico's professionals.

So, is he capable of defending our goal against the Mexicans and assist in our offence? I am more confident of the latter. That's not because he can't defend, it's just that one of those mazy dribbles may result in him losing the ball and putting pressure on our defence.

He must be darn good then...cause I was mildly impressed with Doyley's performance in a very recent game.....

I watched the Ecuador v. Germany game last night... and Germany scored 2 goals in about 4 minutes against this mighty team. It all resulted from defensive players holding on to the ball much too long...doing too much.

Jamaicans like a defensive player who is a brucky-boo. They need the entertainment. They don't mind the GK getting in on the act too so you stay deh!

Not saying he is that good, but neither were Tatty Brown, Linval Dixon and the rest of them. But they played several matches together until they built their confidence as they built a fortress around the back.

That is what we have not done with many of our players. Potentially, many are just as good or better than the UB40s we bring in every week, many of whom have already shown us their best. This has prevented our good players from getting better and becoming great team players.

Thanks for the feedback Mo, nice to see he has been playing some club ball. I am a big fan of Alvas and would love to see him getting the chance to play in these big matches. At this age he have a real chance of progressing and playing at a high level.