• Montesso Now JFF's Technical Director Published: Wednesday |

Montesso Now JFF's Technical Director
    Published: Wednesday | May 29, 2013 0 Comments

Montesso
    The technical director slot for the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), which has been vacant for the past four months following the sacking of Brazilian Walter Gama in January, has been filled through the appointment of his fellow countryman, Alfredo Montesso.

Montesso, who was assistant coach to Reggae Boyz senior team head coach, Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, now has the duty of overseeing the nation's football programme at all levels.

"This is something that we have been discussing for a little while now, myself, Captain Burrell and even Theodore," Montesso told The Gleaner. "Theodore was the first one - when he went to Brazil - to mention the idea to have me here working with him and helping him to grow.

"I feel great because I have identity with the Jamaica football. I have been working with coach (René) Simoes for more than 17 years, most of that time as his assistant as a technical director."

WHITMORE RUMOURS

There were rumours circulating yesterday that Whitmore was relieved of his duties as head coach of the Reggae Boyz. However, Whitmore was observed leading the team's training session yesterday at the JFF's Technical Centre.

Montesso rubbished the Whitmore rumours.

"The coaches still have the command and the control of the units," Montesso expressed. "Theodore Whitmore is not different, he has to be in charge of the team and he is still with the same situation that we have been working with.

"I believe that my work is the one to integrate the units, to facilitate the coach and to give them the advice that is necessary for the programme to be running in a perfect direction."

Montesso has to hit the ground running, as he has identified the first order of business.

"We have to restructure our technical staff; we have appointed the coach for Under-15 now," Montesso said. "The first concrete thing that we have to put in place right now is a study group that will look at the technical, tactical and everything related to a game that any unit in the national programme will be playing."

- R.J.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Mek me get this right! Tappa's assistant is now his boss! Or am I jumping to the wrong conclusion?