Shelton dropped

mmmm?

Will he play Jermaine "Maestro" Hue or Keammar "Dada" Daley in midfield? I am thinking the approach is an attacking on and either of those players will start?

I do not see Tappa playing both. He may even do a straight sub - one for the other - if our REGGAE BOYZ is in the ascendancy.

Brucie's Daniel Gordon may just prove to be the difference - Adding steel, example on effort (joining the outstanding workers Ryan Johnson and Rodolph Austin on effort) and leadership by example to lift the others into also giving FULL 100 none stop effort.

To be honest besides natural improvement that shall come as more and more matches are played together...I think in the matches against Panama and Costa Rica it is lack of FULL 100% effort that did us in.

Example: Going off the top of my head (my Shady Pines type memory) - I think a forward gave up on the Costa Rica #20 or it may have been the player who passed him the ball that allowed Costa Rica the 2nd goal against us. A Theo Walcott type performance that had the GUNNERS lose a game 0 - 1. [Cannot remember the game...but it sticks in my mind's eye that failure to continue tracking back and harass a player allowing our (Gunners) losing that game].

Well, unu done know my position on dis!

In defense of the selection - Jermey Lynch is a pure

goal-scorer. The problem is in the games I have seen him so far he is a poor worker. - Plays like Henry played in his last 2 years at my GUNNERS - He plays like a prima donna. He just strolls around and by his presence commands his subjects to go and get him the damn ball.

If Tappa has him playing - working hard and playing TEAM - he will shock the 'Boyz fanz by scoring tons!!!! Came he work as hard as Costa Rica's Joel Campbell? If he does look for 'boss' performances and multi-million dollar transfer. I rate his potential that highly.

Originally posted by Brush View Post
          I am confused like most as it relates to Shelton. The country's leading goalscorer left out for players who are neither prolific for country or club...!
          It would be good to put up Shelton's record playing against top opposition. Brush, I think you would be shocked to see his results.

[FONT='Times New Roman','serif']The outstanding Jamaican player scored 31 international goals in 60 matches for his National Team. All matches are friendlies unless stated otherwise. [/font]

[FONT='Times New Roman','serif'][/font]

Born: 11-11-1985
            Caps: 60 (W35-D13-L12 – GF125-GA58 – %69.17)
            Goals: 31 (% 0.52 per match)
            Age First Cap: 18 yr 325 d 2-10-2004 vs. Guatemala 2-2
            Age Last Cap: 25 yr 272 d 10- 8-2011 vs. China 0-1
            National Team Career: 6 yr 312 d

[FONT='Times New Roman','serif'][/font]

Cap Goals Date Venue Opponent Score Competition

1 2-10-04 Fort Lauderdale Guatemala 2-2
            2 4 4 24-11-04 Kingston Saint Martin 12-0 CONCACAF Qual.
            3 1 5 26-11-04 Montego Bay Virgin Islands 11-1 CONCACAF Qual.
            4 1 6 28-11-04 Kingston Haiti 3-1 CONCACAF Qual.
            5 6 12-12-04 Vieux Fort St. Lucia 1-1 CONCACAF Qual.
            6 6 19-12-04 Kingston St. Lucia 2-1 CONCACAF Qual
            7 1 7 9- 1-05 Kingston French Guyana 5-0 CONCACAF Qual
            8 7 16- 1-05 Cayenne French Guyana 0-0 CONCACAF Qual
            9 1 8 20- 2-05 Waterford Trinidad/Tobago 2-1 Copa Caribe
            10 8 22- 2-05 Waterford Barbados 1-0 Copa Caribe
            11 1 9 24- 2-05 Waterford Cuba 1-0 Copa Caribe
            12 1 10 20- 4-05 Atlanta Guatemala 1-0
            13 10 4- 6-05 Atlanta Honduras 0-0
            14 1 11 8- 7-05 Carson Guatemala 4-3 CONCACAF Cup
            15 11 16- 7-05 Foxboro United States 1-3 CONCACAF Cup
            16 1 12 1-10-05 Fort Lauderdale Guatemala 2-1
            17 12 9-10-05 London Australia 0-5
            18 12 29- 5-06 Leicester Ghana 1-4
            19 12 3- 6-06 Manchester England 0-6
            20 1 13 8-10-06 Kingston Canada 2-1
            21 13 15-11-06 Kingston Peru 1-1
            22 1 14 26- 3-07 Kingston Panama 1-1
            23 14 5- 6-07 Kingston Chile 0-1
            24 14 18-11-07 Kingston El Salvador 3-0
            25 14 21-11-07 Kingston Guatemala 2-0
            26 14 26- 3-08 Kingston Trinidad/Tobago 2-2
            27 14 3- 6-08 Kingston St. Vincent/Gr. 5-1
            28 1 15 7- 6-08 Port of Spain Trinidad/Tobago 1-1
            29 2 17 15- 6-08 Kingston Bahamas 7-0 World Cup Qualifier
            30 3 20 18- 6-08 Falmouth Bahamas 6-0 World Cup Qualifier
            31 20 20- 8-08 Toronto Canada 1-1 World Cup Qualifier
            32 20 6- 9-08 Cdad. de México Mexico 0-3 World Cup Qualifier
            33 20 10- 9-08 San Pedro Sula Honduras 0-2 World Cup Qualifier
            34 20 11-10-08 Kingston Mexico 1-0 World Cup Qualifier
            35 1 21 15-10-08 Kingston Honduras 1-0 World Cup Qualifier
            36 1 22 19-11-08 Kingston Canada 3-0 World Cup Qualifier
            37 1 23 3-12-08 Kingston Barbados 2-1 Caribbean Cup
            38 1 24 5-12-08 Montego Bay Grenada 4-0 Caribbean Cup
            39 24 7-12-08 Falmouth Trinidad/Tobago 1-1 Caribbean Cup
            40 1 25 11-12-08 Kingston Guadeloupe 2-0 Caribbean Cup
            41 2 27 14-12-08 Kingston Grenada 2-0 Caribbean Cup
            42 27 11- 2-09 London Nigeria 0-0
            43 27 7- 6-09 Kingston Panama 3-2
            44 27 28- 6-09 Georgetown Cayman Islands 4-1
            45 27 3- 7-09 Carson Canada 0-1 CONCACAF Cup
            46 27 7- 7-09 Columbus Costa Rica 0-1 CONCACAF Cup
            47 27 10- 7-09 Miami El Salvador 1-0 CONCACAF Cup
            48 27 12- 8-09 East Rutherford Ecuador 0-0
            49 1 28 31- 1-10 Kingston Canada 1-0
            50 28 7- 9-10 Fort Lauderdale Peru 1-2
            51 2 30 27-11-10 Rivière-Pilote Antigua/Barbuda 3-1 Caribbean Cup
            52 30 29-11-10 Rivière-Pilote Guadeloupe 2-0 Caribbean Cup
            53 30 1-12-10 Rivière-Pilote Guyana 4-0 Caribbean Cup
            54 30 3-12-10 Fort-de-France Grenada 2-1 Caribbean Cup
            55 30 5-12-10 Fort-de-France Guadeloupe 1-1 [1] Caribbean Cup
            56 1 31 6- 6-11 Carson Grenada 4-0 CONCACAF Cup
            57 31 10- 6-11 Miami Guatemala 2-0 CONCACAF Cup
            58 31 13- 6-11 Foxboro Honduras 1-0 CONCACAF Cup
            59 31 19- 6-11 Washington United States 0-2 CONCACAF Cup
            60 31 10- 8-11 Guangzhou China 0-1

[1] Jamaica won 5-4 on penalty kicks.

Total Record

Matches Won Draw Lost For Against Points Percentage
            60 35 13 12 125- 58 83 69.17

Types of Matches Goals

Friendlies 23 6
            Caribbean Cup 10 7
            World Cup Qualifier 8 7
            CONCACAF Cup Qualifier 7 7
            CONCACAF Gold Cup 9 2
            Copa Caribe 3 2

Total 60 31

http://www.rsssf.com/miscellaneous/shelton-intlg.html

Just my opinion on what are Top matches --- My picks are highlighted in 'bold' type.

Aside: T'dad? In Caribbean Cup? Ibffy as quality matches.
            Guatemala and El Salvador? Iffy...not anything to write home about for as long as I have been watching them.

Haiti included as that nation always plays football. Its problem is goal-scoring.

...I see it as 30 top matches with 7 goals.
            NB: Not his complete record. Perhaps someone can fill in the rest.
            Last edited by Karl; May 28, 2013, 12:18 PM.

in defense of the decision. First of Jermey Lynch works hard.. not sure he is the most skilled or even explosive striker... Shelton has not played well in the last two games and actually was **** poor. So it may have been comming off injury.. This leading goal scorer is a bag of crock.. most of shelton goals comes against weak oposition.. bahamas and so on.. When he is on his pace is an asset but he has not been right lately...

Clearly, Karl is completely ignorant of Jermie Lynch!

Lynch, some may say, works too hard. As a one time central defender, he has no problem tracking back and tackling, sometimes too forcibly. He has no problem mixing it up with a defender who tries to rough him up.

Hmmm...makes you wonder what Karl really knows of other Harbour View players.

This is Moot.. Mattocks in the squad so why wi discussing bench warmers ?

Clearly, Karl is completely ignorant of Jermie Lynch!

Lynch, some may say, works too hard. As a one time central defender, he has no problem tracking back and tackling, sometimes too forcibly. He has no problem mixing it up with a defender who tries to rough him up.

Hmmm...makes you wonder what Karl really knows of other Harbour View players.
                    I have watched him in 2 full matches...last he scored a header. He did, as far as real football goes=working for TEAM over/during entire match...not a stretch...besides the header, NO WORK!!! However, when he did move, his movement - awareness of space/where to position self to best effect - superb.

Match was at Harbour View!!!

I actually wrote a reminder to myself... and discussed parts with someone at Harbour View FC

HVFC's players as seen on Monday night football - 4/19/2013

As part of the move to sell your players...as seen in your last Monday night football match: There is too much dwelling on the ball - Your players - back to front/front to back - do not pass quickly enough. There should be no dwelling on the ball even when there is no pressure on the man on the ball. Pass it to a free player/supporting player and move!

One mantra (of my many mantras ) - "give and thou shalt receive". i.e. share the ball=keep passing and moving/moving and passing.

That dwelling on the ball allowed for too many 'give aways'. While the man on the ball was 'casually dribbling' he was giving Tivoli time to reorganize defensively - granted Tivoli was not doing a good job - but that will not happen when your players go away on trials (or play against higher quality opposition - national matches...club matches versus CONCACAF teams, etc.). Trust me, that not always moving and passing also encourages TEAM-mates to "get lazy"...slow movement and themselves also start dwelling on the ball/increases "give a-ways" and making it more difficult to breakdown the opposition.

Lynch is a good prospect...but he is guilty of frequent "give aways". Remember at the higher quality play a "give-away" is often a threat on your goal [the opponents keep the ball and build an attack...sometimes it even ends in 1 - 3 passes and shot (pass into goal)] on one's goal. On trials giving the ball away is frowned on...and can be a 'killer' to a deal/a transfer. He needs to be able to 'set-up' his colleagues as well as take scoring opportunities. His movement before and his actual taking of his goal was 'class'. ...but if I saw him in this match and needed a striker, it would not be him as his "constant giving away of the ball would certainly lead to losses for his TEAM. In any case it would be making his TEAM's job more difficult to obtain a win.

Another mantra - "SUDDEN is the name of the game."
                    The constant movement and passing keeps the opponent guessing...constantly, with no time to relax as pressure is always on...as an attack can materialize at any moment...in an instant...from the new point where ball is...and player (at the end on the attack) moves!
                    Remember as the position of ball and players constantly move - opposition must constantly react to those movements....cannot 'set-up' (for defending).

Agreed! Robinson has not shown much. His performances so far do himself no favours.

Seems to have an affinity for Bahamas 31 goals in 60 matches ,
                        Shelton true ratio would be to minus these 9 plus all the other small Islands,its an embarrasing statement when they throw the word leading goal scorer,I could put in 2 pass Bahamas and Saint Martin...dem Barbados man dem play Brooklyn league, not even Bronx .

4 Goals 24-11-04 Kingston Saint Martin

2 Goals 15- 6-08 Kingston Bahamas

3 Goals 18- 6-08 Falmouth Bahamas

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

But does he run for 90 minutes?

For us he has not been running for 90 minutes

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                              in defense of the decision. First of Jermey Lynch works hard.. not sure he is the most skilled or even explosive striker... Shelton has not played well in the last two games and actually was **** poor. So it may have been comming off injury.. This leading goal scorer is a bag of crock.. most of shelton goals comes against weak oposition.. bahamas and so on.. When he is on his pace is an asset but he has not been right lately...
                              I am assuming you are basing your report for Jeremy Lynch on the Spurs match in the Bahamas? Right?

I did not see that match. I based my comments on matches played before your match...and as I said discussed same with HVFC person.

He is young and his potential appears out-of-this-world. The HVFC people know what they are doing...and at his age, if he is open to direction, can improve leaps and bounds match to match.

If a man not cutting the mustard or delivering the goods, then he should make way for someone else. No player should be beyond being dropped for loss of form. Past performance alone should not be the criteria to get one in the team.

Good move Tappa!
                                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran