• Epl? Wood You Believe It?

WOOD YOU BELIEVE IT?
    Dear Martin. I have lost count of the number of times Liverpool have hit the woodwork this season and I swear that Liverpool would be in the top four if all of those shots had gone in. Luis Suarez has been particularly unlucky with that. Can you show us what the Premier League table would look like if all the shots that hit the bar or post were counted as goals? (Iain, Liverpool fan)

MARTIN SAYS: This is a question we are constantly asked throughout the season, so now the campaign has finished it seems like a good time to answer it!

I can tell you that Liverpool have hit the frame of the goal frame 19 times this season, the third highest tally in the Premier League level with Fulham and behind Everton (21) and Manchester United (24). In fact, only Robin van Persie and Romelu Lukaku (7) have hit the post or bar more than Luis Suarez (6) this campaign.

Number of times each Premier League side hit the goal frame in 2012/13:
    Man Utd (24)
    Everton (21)
    Liverpool, Fulham (19)
    Tottenham (17)
    West Brom, Southampton, Man City, Arsenal (16)
    Stoke, Newcastle (12)
    Swansea (11)
    Aston Villa (10)
    West Ham, QPR, Reading (9)
    Chelsea (8)
    Norwich, Wigan, Sunderland (7)

Opta have recalculated the results of every Premier League game with each strike of the frame counting as a goal and the resulting table is below - and as you suspect it has made quite a dramatic difference to the standings.

As you can see, Manchester United would still have won the Premier League from Manchester City, albeit with an increased winning margin of 13 points, but the other Champions League spots would have gone to Tottenham and Liverpool. Spurs would have got 17 more goals and four more points under this scenario, while Liverpool's 19 additional goals would have earned them an additional 14 points and seen them leapfrog both Arsenal and Chelsea.

At the other end, Wigan will be rueing their luck. Under these circumstances, they would be safe on 39 points with Newcastle going down instead.

Premier League 2012/13 if shots that hit the frame of the goal were recorded as goals:

http://www.skysports.com/opinion/sto...726260,00.html

WOOD YOU BELIEVE IT?
    Dear Martin. I have lost count of the number of times Liverpool have hit the woodwork this season and I swear that Liverpool would be in the top four if all of those shots had gone in. Luis Suarez has been particularly unlucky with that. Can you show us what the Premier League table would look like if all the shots that hit the bar or post were counted as goals? (Iain, Liverpool fan)

MARTIN SAYS: This is a question we are constantly asked throughout the season, so now the campaign has finished it seems like a good time to answer it!

I can tell you that Liverpool have hit the frame of the goal frame 19 times this season, the third highest tally in the Premier League level with Fulham and behind Everton (21) and Manchester United (24). In fact, only Robin van Persie and Romelu Lukaku (7) have hit the post or bar more than Luis Suarez (6) this campaign.

Number of times each Premier League side hit the goal frame in 2012/13:
    Man Utd (24)
    Everton (21)
    Liverpool, Fulham (19)
    Tottenham (17)
    West Brom, Southampton, Man City, Arsenal (16)
    Stoke, Newcastle (12)
    Swansea (11)
    Aston Villa (10)
    West Ham, QPR, Reading (9)
    Chelsea (8)
    Norwich, Wigan, Sunderland (7)

Opta have recalculated the results of every Premier League game with each strike of the frame counting as a goal and the resulting table is below - and as you suspect it has made quite a dramatic difference to the standings.

As you can see, Manchester United would still have won the Premier League from Manchester City, albeit with an increased winning margin of 13 points, but the other Champions League spots would have gone to Tottenham and Liverpool. Spurs would have got 17 more goals and four more points under this scenario, while Liverpool's 19 additional goals would have earned them an additional 14 points and seen them leapfrog both Arsenal and Chelsea.

At the other end, Wigan will be rueing their luck. Under these circumstances, they would be safe on 39 points with Newcastle going down instead.

Premier League 2012/13 if shots that hit the frame of the goal were recorded as goals:

http://www.skysports.com/opinion/sto...726260,00.html
    Imagine that? Hit the woodwork 24 times yet people claim MU lucky when dem win.

.....and if you follow them, it's RVP who hit the woodwork those 24 times.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015