• Daniel Gordon ready to shore up Reggae Boyz

German-born midfielder/defender Gordon ready to shore up Reggae Boyz
    Raring to go!

SEAN WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor with the REGGAE BOYZ IN THE BAHAMAS

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

CABLE BEACH, Bahamas — Daniel Gordon has long been courted by the Jamaica national football set-up, but until now, they weren't able to collar him.

This newspaper, too, has pursued the German-born Jamaican, but he has proved elusive.

NASSAU, Bahamas — New Reggae Boy, German-born Daniel Gordon (left) talks with assistant coach, Brazilian Alfredo Montesso during breakfast at the Sheraton Beach Resort and Casino here yesterday. (PHOTO: SEAN WILLIAMS)

1/1

Both organisations finally have their man for different purposes, of course.

"I am very proud to be here and I just need to get to know the team and I look forward to the next weeks and I will do my best to perform for the team," said the 6ft 4inch player who switches comfortably from a midfielder to a defender.

Gordon, 28, whose ancestral ties to Jamaica are with his grandparents, says now that he's in the team it's time for business.

"I know this team has a high level and it's a good team with a future and I hope I can help the team because that's why I am here. I know that Jamaica has a chance to go to Brazil 2014 and that's what we are all working for," said Gordon, who arrived Monday night for a two-match, 12-day camp here.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2TyfpHrXm

Only Bruce is allowed to post about Daniel Gordon...all of a sudden everybody waan post bout the player

Sorry!

No problem. Daniel Gordon is now public knowledge. I'd like to see everyone posting in here about what good games he had in the WC qualifiers.

I was a bit surprised to read the article on Daniel Gordon in the Obsserver this morning. I heard is name mentioned so much and him wanting to play for JA. How do you have heart to play for a Country that you have never really visted in your adult years and your 28..not a vacation, a weekedn or something..I have to say some of these overseas players make me real uncomfortable...Do we really expect them to battle all out for Jamaica...Do we really expect much pride in their representation? No offence Bruce...just was expecting a die hard jamiacan by heart who is looking for a chance

Hey, Bruce is more Jamaican than Lazie! So I will welcome Daniel Gordon on our team!

But I suck at soccer. Nobody wants to carry me off the field.

You would have to listen to my grandkids to understand. They are absolutely in love with Jamaica. They were born and do live in the USA!!!

He doesn't seem very in love with it. Not even a visit?

He seems committed!!!
                    ...if he brings the German discipline and work-rate with just similar skills as our current crop he will improve the TEAM big time.

Dat is why other countries will continue to benefit from our people while we play 'hero'...

If Ronaldinho could'nt even identify Jamaica on a Map is him fuss get pick !

He seems committed!!!
                        ...if he brings the German discipline and work-rate with just similar skills as our current crop he will improve the TEAM big time.
                        Seems committed?!?! What?! How yuh pick that up?

Let's not get ahead of ourselves. I would not be surprised if Daniel turns out to be a rux!

LOL!

We could John Deere you off!

Crash Course

Originally posted by Me View Post
                            He doesn't seem very in love with it. Not even a visit?

He seems willing to take the "crash course". The problem is, Karlsruhe ended their season on May 18, and their training camp starts June 11.

Deon Burton. Lest we forget