• I never really got close to Rafa

I never really got close to Rafa

PARTING OF WAYS ... Frank Lampard (right) and Rafa Benitez

World Exclusive
    By ROB BEASLEY

Last Updated: 22nd May 2013

FRANK LAMPARD has given a graphic insight into the interim rule of Rafa Benitez at Chelsea.

The Blues’ record scorer has spoken candidly about his relationship with the departing Stamford Bridge boss.
    Lampard admits he endured a DIFFICULT six months working alongside the former Liverpool manager.
    In an exclusive SunSport interview, Lampard revealed: “There are certain managers you build relationships with and feel closer to. He’s not that kind of bloke.
    “Other managers draw a bit of a line and keep it that way. Rafa’s more like that.
    “He was not really the sort of manager you could sit and talk with.
    “We had a couple of conversations about my future in which he was quite honest saying that he wasn’t really involved.
    “So that’s where that conversation ends.
    “He’s not a manager who goes round putting his arm around every player — and I’m not saying that’s wrong.
    “There are a lot of managers like that, Fabio Capello was like that with England.”

Video:Exclusive interview with Frank Lampard

Sun Exclusive

CHELSEA ace refuses to condemn Blues' fans over their treatment of Rafa Benitez

Lampard admitted Benitez did work hard to try to rescue Chelsea’s season after he was appointed interim boss last November.
    The England star said: “He’s a professional bloke. He prepared very well for games.
    “And it was a difficult situation for him as well. As interim manager it was always going to be quite difficult because we all knew it was only to the end of the season.
    “So there was no planning, no long-term relationships were going to be built. So, in that respect, he did a good job because we got the end result — success.”
    Benitez guided Chelsea to the Europa League crown and a top three finish, ensuring Champions League action next term.
    But he will leave Blues after this week’s post-season American tour.
    And there’s no doubting what Lampard wants now — the return of the Special One.
    He declared: “Jose Mourinho’s the best manager I’ve worked with, I hope he comes.”

Read more:http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage...#ixzz2TyowjsHY

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Lampard and the rest of the Chelsea players who didn't condemn the fans have no spine. The fans were wrong and owe Rafa an apology. I have ZERO RESPECT for that section of the Chelsea supporters, you can file each and everyone of them under "a$$hole". But as for Lamps, Terry, Cole, Cech and the rest of the old guard, they could have put a stop to it by taking a stance. Rafa was good for Chelsea, it's too bad a vocal minority of idiots amongst the fan base don't see it.

I agree with part of the statement, but Rafa was good for Chelsea? Naaaaa! not with the tools he had to work with. A poxy Europa League trophy only paper over the cracks!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        I agree with part of the statement, but Rafa was good for Chelsea? Naaaaa! not with the tools he had to work with. A poxy Europa League trophy only paper over the cracks!
        Yes Dunny - Rafa was good for Chelsea. Last year they finished in 6th place, this year in 3rd. He successfully subordinated Terry to the bench without any drama (ask AVB how tough that must have been) and drew the best he could out of a poor team of strikers. He also gave players like Oscar, Mata and Ramirez room to express themselves resulting in Mata being probably the best midfielder in the prem this year, not to mention getting 20+ goals out of Torres and making David Luiz into a real goal scoring threat. Give the man his due. I know several Chelsea fans who are "worried" about the return of Spesh as his performance at RM was underwhelming despite having a boat-load of cash at his disposal; these folks would rather have Rafa. And as for the "poxy Europa League trophy"...it's more than your club won.

Rafa took a team full of winners who had won bucket loads of trophies plus added top players like Hazard, Oscar etc, when he arrived Chelsea were 4 points off the top of the Premiership, still in the FA cup, League cup and world club championship so for me he just done a job that anyone could've done. I would've honestly expect Chelsea to be a lot closer to Man U in the league and won more trophies. Di Matteo won the FA cup and Champions League the season before so what is so great about what Rafa has done?

If we zero in on this years Europa League - perhaps are... - great competition. Every match was one against quality team. It is not an easy competition to win. Just pause a moment and think on how the teams in this league are chosen...

Yes Dunny - Rafa was good for Chelsea. Last year they finished in 6th place, this year in 3rd. He successfully subordinated Terry to the bench without any drama (ask AVB how tough that must have been) and drew the best he could out of a poor team of strikers. He also gave players like Oscar, Mata and Ramirez room to express themselves resulting in Mata being probably the best midfielder in the prem this year, not to mention getting 20+ goals out of Torres and making David Luiz into a real goal scoring threat. Give the man his due. I know several Chelsea fans who are "worried" about the return of Spesh as his performance at RM was underwhelming despite having a boat-load of cash at his disposal; these folks would rather have Rafa. And as for the "poxy Europa League trophy"...it's more than your club won.
              Excellent review of his coaching efforts...
              ...and "The Special One" ha tons of top quality players who he failed to make - for get about excellent - good TEAM!

...I agree with your comments save " done a job that anyone could've done"...and on the flip side I agree with Paul Marin that he did a good.

Di Matteo was poorly treated. He had started to improve the TEAM (in process of remaking it into his type TEAM) and it appeared they were on the improve. I hope he lands one of the EPL jobs up for grabs.

Recent Chelsea manager's win percentages!!

Rafa Benitez (Played 32, won 53%), Roberto Di Matteo (P42, 59%), Andre Villas-Boas (P40, 47%), Carlo Ancelotti (P109, 61%), Guus Hiddink (P22, 73%), Avram Grant (P54 67%), Jose Mourinho (P185, 67%), Claudio Ranieri (P199, 54%)

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2U1Ct2Brz
                  Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

X a talk bout Mancini??? LOL

X you learn in this thing most managers are tuff people and some **** you off to motivate you to win, others use different methods. Not all managers going to put up with foolishness and at the end of the day it is about developing a better team to them, not how many players nuh like them.

Bwooy fi get BAX ....Dunny how was Dimatteo wiining streak when Rafa took over ?

tell me how he did in his last 8 games ?

tell me where was Torres ?

Ansa mi !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Bwooy fi get BAX ....Dunny how was Dimatteo wiining streak when Rafa took over ?

How much more games Rafa played this season ?

Ansa mi !

How much more games Rafa played this season ?

Ansa mi !
                          Chelsea managerial records

Benetez Games

Won

Lost

Drawn

Win Ratio
                          55%

Di Mateo Games

Won

Lost

Drawn

Win Ratio
                          57%

The rookie better than the master
                          Last edited by Dunny; May 22, 2013, 03:25 PM.

Annada BAX ...how many did he win in his last 8 games ?

a) 0
                            b) 1
                            c) 2
                            d) 3

Annada BAX ...how many did he win in his last 8 games ?

a) 0
                              b) 1
                              c) 2
                              d) 3
                              So Di Mateo left the side 4 points off the top of the prem and how many points the mighty Rafa finish off the top?

Di Matteo led Chelsea to a Champions League/FA Cup double last season after succeeding Villas-Boas. Chelsea were then unbeaten in the Premier League this season until Oct 28, when they went down 3-2 to Manchester United. In that match, Chelsea controversially had two players sent-off and United scored their winning goal from an offside position.
                              Performances have certainly then subsequently slipped, with Chelsea drawing against Swansea and Liverpool before losing on Saturday to West Bromwich Albion.
                              Even so, they are still third in the Premier League, only four points behind leaders Manchester City.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...-Juventus.html