Luiz to be purged for backing Rafa

• Luiz to be purged for backing Rafa

Luiz to be first Chelsea casualty of Mourinho's second reign with Real and Barca waiting in the wings

By SIMON JONES
    PUBLISHED: 17:11 EST, 21 May 2013 | UPDATED: 17:29 EST, 21 May 2013

Real Madrid and Barcelona are considering a move for Chelsea defender David Luiz.
    The Brazilian could become an early casualty of incoming boss Jose Mourinho who has concerns about the 26-year-old's defensive abilities.
    Luiz cost Chelsea £21million and they will look to make a profit on their 2011 outlay should the interest turn into hardened bids.

Character: Chelsea defender David Luiz signed for £21m from Benfica

Star: Luiz was an integral part to Chelsea' Europa League triumph

Mourinho wants a new centre-back, a defensive midfielder and at least one striker for his return to Stamford Bridge. Luiz has re-invented himself as a defensive midfielder under Rafa Benitez but remains prone to errors when in defence.
    Chelsea have shown interest in Liverpool target Krygiakos Papadopoulos of Schalke but considered the 21-year-old too expensive. Mourinho is a big fan of Real Madrid's Raphael Varane also but that would prove complicated considering the politics behind Mourinho's departure from the Bernabeu.

Yet, they are intent on improving their defensive options with Branislav Ivanovic also likely to revert to right-back.

Talent: Madrid's Raphael Varane (heading) has left a significant impact on Mourinho

Clean sheets: Jose Mourinho's first job at Chelsea would be to strengthen their defence

Madrid will overhaul Mourinho's squad for Carlo Ancelotti. They would rather sell defender Pepe than Varane with Manchester City being offered the chance to sign the Portugal international for £20m.
    For their part, Barcelona are struggling to find a centre-back that fits their budget and will be looking to strike a deal for around £25m. Luiz has been on their list for some time but not at the top.

Tough: Mourinho will have to decide on the futures of John Terry and Frank Lampard during next season

They wanted Thiago Silva from Paris St Germain but he is too expensive while Manchester City are reluctant to sell Vincent Kompany. Barca have also considered Roma's teenage defender Marquinhos but he may yet stay another season in Italy.
    Arsenal's Thomas Vermaelen could yet come back into their reckoning but his indifferent end of season form means Luiz is preferred.

Off limits: Vincent Kompany and Thiago Silva may both be unavailable

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2TyIKm38O
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Please Luiz don't need Chelsea.

Why the Chelsea hating from the other day Lazie? Tell me something, Luiz don't need Chelsea, does van Persie need ManUre?

It was said already that Luiz was not for sale when Barca showed interest earlier. I am sure every player have their price and if the right price is called and the player is interested in leaving, then so be it.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I think getting rid of Luiz is a mistake. He would be a decent defensive mid.

I think he's overrated.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No one said they were getting rid of him. Two teams have shown interest. The last I heard was that Chelsea management said he is going nowhere. He is under contract for another 5 years.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Why the Chelsea hating from the other day Lazie? .
              Me t'ink him frighten seh Mourinho ago tek him tykle from him. Dem know seh the Glazers nah go mek Moyes spend too much this summer so ah sweat him a sweat. LOL!!!

Why the Chelsea hating from the other day Lazie? Tell me something, Luiz don't need Chelsea, does van Persie need ManUre?

It was said already that Luiz was not for sale when Barca showed interest earlier. I am sure every player have their price and if the right price is called and the player is interested in leaving, then so be it.
                From the other day? Where you see me hating on Chelsea?

Damn? GUNNERS mi seh!!!

Grap im, Arsene!!!!

TOP OF THE WORLD player!!!
                    ...that is all I have to say about that!!!

From the other day? Where you see me hating on Chelsea?
                      Wha??? You change yuh name to Joe King?

Point out where I was hating on Chelsea? What about Chelsea is there to hate? They finished 3rd in the league.

As a defender. He seems like he would make a good midfielder to me.

TOP OF THE WORLD player!!!
                            ...that is all I have to say about that!!!
                            well said King Karl!!!

As a defender I rate him on the same level as Rafael - loads of potential. As a defensive midfielder, he is not better than Licky-Licky Obi or Michael Carrick - loads of potential. As and attacking midfielder he is not even in the class of Mata, Hazard,Oscar, Ramirez - has some potential. Conclusion - he's overrated but with loads of potential to improve in any one position.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015