Liverpool

B.S didnt we almost do it with a competent coach and under severe financial restraints- sell to buy policy ?

For any club to make a run at the prem , any , you need 50 million every transfer season without that sell to buy policy , H & G didnt have it and FSG doesnt have it , compounded with a joke of a coach, we wont even feature in knockout cups.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

B.S didnt we almost do it with a competent coach and under severe financial restraints- sell to buy policy ?

For any club to make a run at the prem , any , you need 50 million every transfer season without that sell to buy policy , H & G didnt have it and FSG doesnt have it , compounded with a joke of a coach, we wont even feature in knockout cups.
      50 million? Kenny had almost 80 million. 35 on Caroll, 20 on Downing, 20 on Henderson etc. Where did they get?

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        50 million? Kenny had almost 80 million. 35 on Caroll, 20 on Downing, 20 on Henderson etc. Where did they get?
        What the article addresses is accurate. The financial disparity between the top money clubs and the rest of the pack is only getting bigger. There used to be a time when TV money was distributed evenly across all clubs in all 4 divisions in England; that was reflected in the ability of a club to get promoted and move on to place in the following season. Derby County won the first division title one season after being promoted in the 70's. Can anyone see that happening again short of an arab takeover? What X is not realizing is that the "sell to buy" policy is the only practical approach barring a Romanesque cash hoard and none of those clubs - Manu**, Chelsea, Citeh are operating profitably. Until football can get on a financial footing that forces profitable operations (or at least reasonable debt ratios), it is a ticking time bomb. At some point, you will have to pay the piper.

Norwich gained back to back promotion a few seasons ago. Yeovil Town has just been promoted to the Championship on a shoestring budget. I however do agree that the money should be spread out more evenly throughout football giving everyone a fair chance. Manchester United do operate profitably, there problem is just the original debt from when the Glazers took over they have the gate receipt and the income to continue to dominate, Chelsea and Man City no. Clubs like Man City and Chelsea have made it a lot worst paying inflated wages and spending much more than their income. Lets hope this EUEFA fair play rule is effective when it comes in.

Liverpool chief hails Rodgers' 'remarkable progress' and praises signings of Sturridge and Coutinho

By Graeme Yorke
            PUBLISHED:12:33, 24 May 2013| UPDATED:12:33, 24 May 2013
            Liverpool chairman Tom Werner claims manager Brendan Rodgers has made 'remarkable progress' during his first year in charge.

The Northern Irishman succeeded Kenny Dalglish last June after the club icon was dismissed by owners Fenway Sports Group who did not feel he was the man to take the club forward.

In Barclays Premier League terms, Rodgers improved one place on Dalglish's final league position of eighth and cut the deficit to the top four from 17 to 12 points.

'Right direction': Liverpool are pleased with Brendan Rodgers' first season in charge

Liverpool scored 71 goals in the league, 24 more than last season, but results were not consistent enough, with many of those goals coming in one-sided hammerings of teams below them.

However, they managed just one victory - at home to Tottenham in March - in the 12 matches against the top six.

Nevertheless, Werner believes Rodgers' changes to the team and set-up behind the scenes suggest a positive future and they are prepared to back him in the summer transfer market.

'I think Brendan has made remarkable progress,' he told the Liverpool Echo.

Leap of faith: But Tom Werner has been impressed with Rodgers' first season at Anfield

'He's a great strategist and has shown strong leadership as he has led the team through this season.

'Obviously there is disappointment that we didn't finish higher in the table but the team has certainly improved as the season has gone on.

'To see the new additions in January, Daniel Sturridge and Philippe Coutinho, perform so well has been very positive to see.

Key recruits: Daniel Sturridge and Phillipe Coutinho have had major impacts since arriving in January

'We scored a lot more goals than last season. The 38 away league goals was the club's highest number in a league season since 1990.

'The club is definitely moving in the right direction under Brendan.

'Our intention is to strengthen the squad further this summer and as owners we're very optimistic and excited about the future.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2UDpescM0
            Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Wow...thats how they measure success, so next season we can look forward to no titles .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                Norwich gained back to back promotion a few seasons ago. Yeovil Town has just been promoted to the Championship on a shoestring budget. I however do agree that the money should be spread out more evenly throughout football giving everyone a fair chance. Manchester United do operate profitably, there problem is just the original debt from when the Glazers took over they have the gate receipt and the income to continue to dominate, Chelsea and Man City no. Clubs like Man City and Chelsea have made it a lot worst paying inflated wages and spending much more than their income. Lets hope this EUEFA fair play rule is effective when it comes in.
                The difference between clubs in divisions 2-4 is that there is more equitable distribution of funds, so back to back promotions is more likely. As for FFP, don't hold your breath on that making a difference.

Wow...thats how they measure success, so next season we can look forward to no titles .
                  Here's the progress:

1. Improved league standing (1 position)
                  2. More league points (61 vs. 52)
                  3. More wins (16 vs. 14)
                  4. Fewer losses (9 vs. 14)
                  5. More goals (24 more to be exact; 71 vs. 47)
                  6. More clean sheets (14 vs. 12)
                  7. Greater goal difference (21 vs. 7)
                  8. More home wins (9 vs. 6)

All this while playing with one striker for the first part of the season and without our key striker for the last 4 games of the season. But if that's not convincing enough, here's the mind blowing statistic:

KD's transfers: (Carroll 35m, Henderson 15m, Downing 20m, Adam 10m)
                  Cost £80m
                  Games started: 107
                  Goals scored: 8
                  Assists: 9
                  Cost per Goal: £10m
                  Cost per Assist: £8.8m

BR's transfers: (Assaidi 2.3m, Borini 12m, Sturridge 12m, Coutinho 8.5m and Allen 15m)
                  Cost £49.8m
                  Games started: 49
                  Goals scored: 14
                  Assists: 8
                  Cost per Goal: £3.5m
                  Cost per Assist: £6.1m

Oh...and that is on a straight head to head which isn't really fair as Sturridge and Coutinho came in January and both Allen and Borini missed long spells through injury - either way, if you extrapolate BR's transfers performance based on a 107 starts by KD's transfers, the number of goals scored would have been 30 for an adjusted cost per goal of £1.6m to KD's £10m. KMR$$$$$$$$T. X, continue in your delusion. KD frigged up the club so to FSG, anything ahead of that would be progress. KD should be shame a youth coach show him up so bad.

Well done BR!! You have made the club a real goal scoring force. Now mek sure you buy some good players this summer to patch up the defense. Do that and we will start destroying teams, top, bottom and middle of the table - it nah go matta!

BR good for Liverpool, Ef X fi yuh (rational or not) him guh whole hog. Kinda like ....

OK after all those stats you left out the most important ones , a final and a trophy.

KD 2 finals , 1 trophy,

BR 0 finals,0 trophy.

Sorry but thats how we measure progress.

OK after all those stats you left out the most important ones , a final and a trophy.

KD 2 finals , 1 trophy,

BR 0 finals,0 trophy.

Sorry but thats how we measure progress.
                        Sorry X - the LEAGUE is the only true measure of success...just ask Wigan.

Not even X can argue with the facts!!!
                          ...and to the naked eye Liverpool is a far better TEAM this last season than it was the season before.

I expect this manager to return Liverpool to the glory days. Certainly I expect him to knock one of BoyU, ManCity, Chelsea or Arsenal out of the top 4 positions. I just hope it is not my GUNNERS being displaced!!!
                          Would be nice if it is BoyU!!!

Rooney of BoyU and Luiz of Chelsea to the GUNNERS????

Not even X can argue with the facts!!!
                            ...and to the naked eye Liverpool is a far better TEAM this last season than it was the season before.

I expect this manager to return Liverpool to the glory days. Certainly I expect him to knock one of BoyU, ManCity, Chelsea or Arsenal out of the top 4 positions. I just hope it is not my GUNNERS being displaced!!!
                            Would be nice if it is BoyU!!!

Rooney of BoyU and Luiz of Chelsea to the GUNNERS????
                            Getting rid of Luiz is probably the single stupidest move I have heard being attributed to Mourinho and Arsenal are better than that punk Rooney, mek him go to PSG and try muscle in on Ibra's kingdom.

I personally think that Mourinho is going to be a huge disappointment to the Chelsea faithful in his second coming. I will *almost* guarantee it. He is going to have to change the line up considerably to suit his style of play; all he will do is spend big money. If he is not careful, the fans will start chanting for Rafa to come back.

The truth is that Mourinho has a HUGE advantage with City and Manu** having new managers but my guess is that the Real Madrid experience showed the cracks in the Mourinho armour. We will see.

Anyway, the team that has a real opportunity to take the bull by the horns is Arsenal; spend some money in the transfer window and use your manager's experience to dus' out the other top 4 clubs. The question is: "will Wenger spend?"

Brendan Rodgers: Young England players can be the future of Liverpool FC28 May 2013 09:00

Boss says Under-21 players can bring a massive boost for Anfield club

Share on printShare on email

Liverpool FC manager Brendan Rodgers
                              BRENDAN RODGERS believes Liverpool will reap the benefits of having four players on England Under-21 duty for the European Championships in Israel.
                              Jordan Henderson, Jonjo Shelvey, Andre Wisdom and Jack Robinson are all part of Stuart Pearce's 23-man squad who have flown to Turkey for a training camp.
                              England's first game is against Italy in Tel Aviv on June 5 with Norway and the hosts also in their group. Reds’ boss Rodgers admits having more players in the squad than any other club is a source of pride and is looking forward to seeing what impact the youngsters have on the tournament.
                              “It's great for Jordan, Jonjo, Andre and Jack to be part of it,” Rodgers said.
                              “I always think going to big championships like that is great for their learning.
                              “All these football experiences are good for them. I'm not one who is against players representing their countries.
                              “Obviously there needs to be a balance in terms of the demands placed on them but I look upon it as a real positive that we have had four players called up.
                              “Look at someone like Juan Mata. Two years ago he dropped down from the senior Spain squad to the under-21s and helped them win the tournament.
                              “A year later he was part of the team who won Euro 2012 and then last summer he went off to the Olympics. This season he's gone on and played more than 60 games.
                              “Major tournaments can be really beneficial in terms of helping players in their development. I am sure if our four players get that experience this summer then they will come back to us as better players.”
                              It will be Pearce's fourth tournament with the young Lions and they will go into it full of confidence on the back of nine successive wins without conceding a goal.
                              Liverpool would have had a fifth player on duty in Israel but Raheem Sterling wasn't considered for selection due to an ongoing thigh injury.
                              Rodgers wasn't prepared to take any risks with the teenager and his priority is ensuring that the winger is fully fit for the start of next season.
                              “I spoke to Stuart Pearce about it and our medics were in conversation with the England doctors,” Rodgers said. “Everyone was in agreement that we need to look after the long-term situation with Raheem.
                              “He's obviously had a chronic problem where he's been playing and working through it. But we needed to give him recovery and rest. He will be better for that. He's making progress and he will be fresh for the beginning of the season.”
                              Meanwhile, Liverpool duo Conor Coady and Jon Flanagan will be hoping to make the cut for the England U20 squad heading to the World Cup in Turkey next month.
                              Both are in Peter Taylor's provisional 35-man squad which will be narrowed down to 21 names on June 7. The World Cup takes place between June 21 and July 13 and England have been drawn alongside Iraq, Chile and Egypt.

"Jordan Henderson, Jonjo Shelvey, Andre Wisdom and Jack Robinson", well two out of four ain't bad and of course, Raheem have class. They have youth on their side, so we will see...but right now (like RIGHT NOW), dem two bwoy deh (Henderson and Shelvey), not ready for prime time. Need more experience. Conor Coady is a decent player, but Flanagan...whoa, whoa woeful...nuff more experience needed. Still, dem young, so time is on their side.