Liverpool

• Liverpool

Liverpool want freebie Toure and £19m-rated Papadopoulos to shore up defence after Carragher exit

By Dominic King
    PUBLISHED:23:26, 20 May 2013| UPDATED:11:30, 21 May 2013
    Liverpool are closing in on a shock deal to make Kolo Toure their first signing of the summer.

With Jamie Carragher now retired and doubts persisting over the long-term futures of both Martin Skrtel and Sebastian Coates, manager Brendan Rodgers needs to find at least two central defenders and he has wasted no time in moving for Toure.

The Ivorian’s contract with Manchester City expires next month and, having stated his desire to stay in England, he is poised to become a Liverpool player on July 1, once personal terms and a medical can be completed.

Incoming? Kolo Toure's Manchester City contract expires at the end of June

Rodgers has looked at a number of players to bolster Liverpool’s defence, including Ajax’s Toby Alderweirled, and Tiago Ilori of Sporting Lisbon, but he is a firmer admirer of Schalke’s Greece international Kyriakos Papadopoulos.

Chelsea have also been chasing the 21-year-old but are unwilling to pay Schalke’s £19million asking price.

Though Toure is not in the age profile of players Liverpool sign under their American owners Fenway Sports Group – he is 32 – there is an understanding that experience needs to be added to the dressing room following on from Carragher’s departure.

Target: Schalke defender Kyriakos Papadopoulos is wanted by Liverpool

Rodgers knows strengthening his squad this summer is crucial if Liverpool are to stand any chance of fighting for a Champions League spot next season and he needs to making additions similar to the high-quality buys of Philippe Coutinho and Daniel Sturridge in January.

Coutinho has been outstanding since he arrived from Inter Milan and put the gloss on his efforts with the only goal of the game against Queens Park Rangers on Sunday. The Brazilian cost Liverpool £8.5million but has arguably doubled his worth.
    ‘When you bring somebody in during January, you hope they can make an impact,’ said Rodgers.
    Huge loss: Jamie Carragher has retired after over 15 years in Liverpool's first team

‘You are also looking at it as a six-month adaptation period before you get the best out of them from pre-season onwards.
    ‘We are all pleasantly pleased and surprised by how well Philippe has done. His numbers tell you the story in terms of goals and assists.'
    'That’s his job, to score goals and create goals. You can’t ask any more. The key thing is that he works his socks off as well.
    Key recruit: The arrival of Philippe Coutinho has vindicated Liverpool's transfer policy

10 out of 10: Coutinho scores against QPR

‘He is a real team player. He’s not a luxury player, he’s not one you put in the team and you are carrying him. He’s a real find for us in terms of the price we have paid. Hopefully his value will be much greater than the cost in the coming years.’
    Though Coutinho is only small, the physicality of the Barclays Premier League has not proven to be an issue and Rodgers does not think teams will be able to bully the 20-year-old out of games next season.
    ‘He can look after himself,’ said Rodgers. ‘His body work is great, he is small in stature. The best players very rarely get tackled because they are so bright and clever. You can see he can use his body if needs be, but he has to become adapted to the physical game here.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2TxZyOHPB
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Ok signing. He brings a lot of experience and has tasted winning something.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

good replacement for Jamie

I am happy only for Paul Marin's sake.

Kolo can be considered a utility player too. Nuff nuff experience.

Waste of space , waste of money ? do we need another defender , if anything needs to be addressed its the midfield. That wont stop the weeping sponge,more likely to exacerbate it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Waste of space , waste of money ? do we need another defender , if anything needs to be addressed its the midfield. That wont stop the weeping sponge,more likely to exacerbate it.
            We, who is we?

Liverpool and X , I have nothing to do with BR , I am just an observer of his, thats all I can do watch him mash up good works.

The academy has declined in a year, no loan out , no youth cup finals , nothing he cant take claim for sterling & wisdom ,K.D was bringing that through.

When im done waste di man dem money , im a guh mek H*G look like geniuses.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Liverpool and X , I have nothing to do with BR , I am just an observer of his, thats all I can do watch him mash up good works.

The academy has declined in a year, no loan out , no youth cup finals , nothing he cant take claim for sterling & wisdom ,K.D was bringing that through.

Mek mi lef Paul Marin fi deal wid U, BR will get Liverpool up to fifth next season!

Wrong Toure....

Kolo can play mid-field....although he seems to be better in defense.

He did so for a short time with Arsenal (me think).

Agreed , we have to sort out that middle , do we need defenders ? ..Yaya, Alonso or Maschi .....we need 3 midfielders in that mold ....then you can tinker with defence.....Paul affi sort out imself ..im ave till C mas.

4 players needed and thats where we need it , another forward Laku would be nice.

he is adapatable

How can you give KD credit for Sterling when BR could have easily left him in the youth wilderness? Rafa was the maestro on that one. And how can you say the academy has declined just because they didn't win anything last year? What about the emergence of Jordan Ibe, a 17 year old who Rodgers has named to the first team more than once and who debuted with an assist to Coutinho against QPR on Sunday? To me, he looks better than Raheem. And how can you say BR waste the people dem money when him buy Sturridge (£12m) and Coutinho (£8.5m) for about the same money that eediat KD spend on Downing (£20m)? Anyway, you just love fi mek yu blind hatrid for BR tun you mad.

Carroll ruled out for up to FOUR months as he faces missing start of season (but will he be at West Ham, Newcastle or Liverpool?)

By Charlie Skillen
                            PUBLISHED:08:58, 22 May 2013| UPDATED:10:03, 22 May 2013
                            Andy Carroll's injury is worse than first feared and he will miss the start of the next Premier League season, but it won't jeopardise his permanent move to West Ham.
                            The Hammers agreed a cut-price £15million deal with the striker's parent club Liverpool to make his Upton Park switch permanent, with the east London club currently waiting on Carroll's approval for the deal to go ahead.
                            However, the target man's heel injury will now put him out of action for three to four months while he sees a specialist. The knock was originally thought to only rule him out for six weeks and missing England's friendlies against the Republic of Ireland and Brazil.

Sidelines: Andy Carroll's heel injury will now keep the striker out of action for three to four months

Return: The news that Carroll faces a lengthy lay-off will not affect his £15million permanent deal

Sportsmail understands Carroll fell awkwardly in the Hammers' final game of the season against Reading, and suffered from a sharp pain in his heel - although no operation is required and the only cure for the problem is rest.

Meanwhile, the Hammers' move for Carroll may yet be hijacked by the England striker's former club Newcastle.
                            A clause in the £35m deal which saw him leave St James' Park for Liverpool in January 2011 could see Carroll make a return to his boyhood club.
                            Newcastle have inserted a 25 per cent sell-on clause into the deal, meaning to match West Ham's offer, they would technically only have to table a bid of £11.25m.
                            However, Carroll's wages would prove a stumbling block to any return to the North East, while Toon chief Mike Ashley is only willing to part with £10m for the striker.

Return? Newcastle inserted a clause in Carroll's deal to Liverpool that they can bring him back on the cheap

In the cold: Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers doesn't believe Carroll has a future at Anfield

He had been recalled by England head coach Roy Hodgson last week but the injury has ruled them out of action.
                            Hodgson was keen to use the friendlies to take another look at Carroll, who has been in good form under Sam Allardyce.
                            The Hammers boss admitted at the weekend that signing Carroll had become his top priority after his partnership with midfielder Kevin Nolan, established at Newcastle, flourished again.
                            Liverpool have reluctantly agreed to sell Carroll but Brendan Rodgers does not believe the target man has a future at Anfield.
                            He struggled to make an impact after he was signed when Liverpool wanted a replacement for Fernando Torres.
                            Back in the frame: Carroll had been recalled by Roy Hodgson for the England friendlies

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2U1g3i21y

Liverpool can forget about winning the League unless UEFA change finance rules, insists Bundesliga chief

By Martyn Ziegler, Press Association
                              PUBLISHED:19:22, 22 May 2013| UPDATED:19:22, 22 May 2013
                              Clubs such as Liverpool will struggle to ever win their national league again unless UEFA changes how it distributes the huge financial benefits of the competition, the head of the Bundesliga has claimed.
                              Two German clubs - Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund - are contesting the Champions League final on Saturday but Christian Seifert, the Bundesliga chief executive, believes that UEFA need to spread the rewards more broadly.

Seifert fears that those financial rewards will continue to grow - and go straight to the top clubs and further distort national competitions.

Uphill struggle: Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers could struggle to re-establish his side among the Premier League's elite

He told a briefing in London: 'Money coming out of the Champions League is an enormous influence - in Germany it is double the money from the national media contract.

'I think UEFA need to think again how they distribute the money from the Champions League and Europa League because each country needs an attractive national competition and not just two teams dominating.

'Without a doubt it has an impact. If the money of the Champions League gets more and more and the gap gets bigger and bigger then of course it’s probably not the best thing for national competition

'When I grew up one of the greatest teams was Liverpool. I’m not sure if they have the chance ever to win the Premier League again.

Unfulfilled? Steven Gerrard could retire without winning a league title

'Because they have to compete with clubs who have a lot more financial opportunities like Man City and Chelsea plus money that comes from the Champions League. It’s something you have to have in mind when you want to have a certain balance in between the league.'

The German top flight is viewed by many as a model league - 14 out of 18 clubs were in profit last season, 60 per cent of the players are eligible to play for Germany, youth academies are obligatory and highly-developed and ticket prices are considerably lower than the Premier League. Adult prices are as low 13 euros (£11) and average 23 euros (£20), and there are strict rules on ownership.

Attendances are booming and German clubs are held up as an example of how safe standing areas can work, and a Champions League winner this season is assured.

Superpower: Bayern Munich's dominance demonstrates the strength of the Bundesliga

Rivals: Dortmund hope to beat Bayern in the Champions League final

Seifert insisted however that there was work still to be done.

He added: 'We are proud to have two teams in the final but it doesn’t mean we have 18 teams on the level. For 10 years the discussion has been why we have no chance to win the Champions League.

'You can’t say ‘wow - look what we have achieved’, but in the last few years we have done more right than wrong.'

More...

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2U78XhwZQ