• Competition is healthy ..Talk about depth

DOUBLE FITNESS BOOST FOR RAFA
    Jimmy Rice 20 April 2007
    Craig Bellamy and Xabi Alonso are back in contention for Liverpool against Wigan at Anfield on Saturday.
    Bellamy has recovered from a knee injury sustained last week against PSV, while Alonso has shaken off a slight strain which kept him out of Wednesday's match against Middlesbrough.

"Bellamy is fit and available; Xabi is available," Benitez told a press conference at Melwood.

Meanwhile, the Liverpool boss insists places are still up for grabs ahead of the Champions League semi-final against Chelsea. Benitez believes this will spur his players on when Paul Jewell's side come to town.

"The players know they are trying to keep their positions in the team," said the Spaniard.

"I think our idea when we bought new players was to have two players in each position who'd need to fight for their place. I think this is the situation now. It's a good position for the team to be in."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Rafa Benitez insists he is to blame for the difficult game endured by Momo Sissoko against Middlesbrough in midweek.
    Benitez deployed the 22-year-old in a more advanced midfield role, with Mascherano sitting deep in front of the defence.

"I want to say something about Sissoko, because he was working really hard for us and was a key player against Barcelona and in a lot of other games," said the Spaniard.

"Okay, he didn't have the best game, but I think it's important to support players who always give 100 per cent.

"The other day I tried to change things. I was using Mascherano behind Gerrard and Momo. But because the other team was playing really deep, compact and narrow, it was really difficult for him.

"But it was my decision, and some people may say I made a mistake, but I was sure we could have a good game with this system, or at least I was checking if it was a good idea. Now we know more about the players."

While Gerrard took many of the plaudits following his brace on Wednesday, Benitez thinks Mascherano was just as key to the victory.

He said: "When you play alongside Gerrard, it's normal that the other players don't get the same credit, but it's important for me as a manager, and the rest of the team, to know that these players are always there and will be important.

"People will always talk about Steven Gerrard, especially when he plays well and scores two goals, but I think that Mascherano was amazing against Middlesbrough."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Depth? Mek mi tell yuh bout depth. Lose yuh 2 center halves, yuh rightback, yuh left back, the 3rd string right back and have to use 2 midfielders as yuh RB and LB .... thats depth. Mi see the Insurgents of Stamford Bridge lose Terry and pure Bitchin.

Talk to dem me President.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015