Mancini sacked -It is official

Rafa made some poor signings but made good ones too. He was the biggest spending manager in Liverpool's history, but compared to Chelski and the scum, he had a pauper's budget. That's what he complained about. One player I can think of that came through the youth system and played regularly for the first team was Stephen Warnock. Rafa could have done more to keep the first team connected to the youngsters; they have to believe they can make the first team for that kind of system to work. Having Steve Heighway leave was a big loss...he was a connection to the great Liverpool teams of the past and a man the kids could look up to. I still contend though that Rafa's biggest mistake was losing Pako Ayesteran as assistant coach.
    Paul, if i can remember correctly Liverpool had the best youth team in England when Rafa was manager. I can't remember exactly but i think Liverpool won the FA youth cup back to back about 2007 and 2008 and not even one of those youngsters got anywhere near the first team. Rafa is a good tactical manager i will give him that, however he needs to be a head coach with a strong technical director over is damn head to tell him work with the players dat we buy give you. If you let Rafa anywhere near the purse string that is where it will go wrong. Why do you think he is been unemployed so long?

My, my...summady soun' touchy LOL!!! We a'ready have a good coach but for your team, it would be an "upgrade". LOL!!!
      hehehe...Bricky is like diarrhea waiting to explode
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        Paul, if i can remember correctly Liverpool had the best youth team in England when Rafa was manager. I can't remember exactly but i think Liverpool won the FA youth cup back to back about 2007 and 2008 and not even one of those youngsters got anywhere near the first team. Rafa is a good tactical manager i will give him that, however he needs to be a head coach with a strong technical director over is damn head to tell him work with the players dat we buy give you. If you let Rafa anywhere near the purse string that is where it will go wrong. Why do you think he is been unemployed so long?
        He makes some odd decisions...I'll give you that. And yes, Liverpool's youths were the best in the land during his tenure...however, there are so many foreign players in the prem - still the destination of choice for many top players - now that it is hard for those kids to break in. But I get your point. I'll have to go back and look at those lineups. The only ones I can remember are Spearing and I believe Flannagan.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
          Under rafa, they went to the fa youth cup finals 3 times winning 2x and losing once. Here are the players Wikipedia lists a being brought into the first team:

2000s [edit]
          2010s [edit]

Unnuh don't address mi till next season...

Under rafa, they went to the fa youth cup finals 3 times winning 2x and losing once. Here are the players Wikipedia lists a being brought into the first team:

2000s [edit]
              2010s [edit]
              You seeit, i wasn't too far off was I? Rafa had it all, was very close to making Liverpool great again then let it all slip through his fingers simply because he wanted to bank roll his unreasonable transfer requests. If he had just focused on improving the players that he had,brought through a few youngsters and use the transfer budget wisely he would've probably won the league, he went close one season.