Roberto Martinez

He's gotten used to eating the English food.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

don't know if this is a good job for him. Especially with Moyes wanting to take the Belgian and Phil Jakiela and the lack of funds by Everton. Malaga would have been a better team for him.
      That would be a great job for Martinez (to get him ready for the Arsenal job ) The Belgian and Jagielka wouldn't be cheap would they? 30 million at least for Martinez to rebuild.

He is playing coy with Wigan.
        What? ...is it that a big club is courting him?

From The Three Amigos to manager in demand - Roberto Martinez's remarkable journey1 Jun 2013 09:30

Share on printShare on email

Roberto Martinez with the other members of the Three Amigos, Jesus Seba and Isidro Diaz
          It was July 1995 and Everton fans were still basking in the glow of an FA Cup final victory over Manchester United a couple of months before.
          So perhaps not a great deal of attention was paid at Goodison Park back then to events a few miles up the M62 at Wigan Athletic, where the Third Division club made the unusual move of signing three Spanish players no-one had heard of.
          Roberto Martinez, Jesus Seba and Isidro Diaz were dubbed ‘The Three Amigos’, a reference to a Chevy Chase comedy movie about a trio of spoof Mexican bandits made a few years before.
          Some suspected it was a stunt, instigated by Wigan’s ambitious new owner Dave Whelan to generate interest in the thinly-supported club.
          But Whelan, a former professional footballer turned multimillionaire businessman in the sports goods retail trade, was serious in his intentions. He believed the three Spanish players could help to kick-start a project to build Wigan into a Premier League force.
          If fans of a top-flight clubs s******ed at the time, no-one could scoff at how Whelan turned his dreams into reality, or how one of the three Amigos in particular, made himself a household name in the English game.

View gallery
          • "
          • "
          • "
          • "
          • "
          • "
          • "
          • "
          • "
          • "

Roberto Martinez - his career in pictures
          View gallery

Whelan’s business nous, ruthlessness and wealth drove Wigan’s climb up the divisions under a succession of managers. They reached the Premier League in 2005 with Paul Jewell.
          They stayed there until last month when relegation back to the Championship followed a few days after the most glorious moment in the club’s history, lifting the FA Cup following an upset victory over favourites Manchester City.
          Martinez, Wigan’s manager of the last four seasons, was centre stage at Wembley, as he was as the Emirates Stadium the following Tuesday when a 4-1 defeat by Arsenal ended a Premier League adventure that lasted longer than anyone could have expected.
          The focus was on the Spaniard on both occasions because it was clear by then that irrespective of the outcome of the cup final or the relegation dogfight, Martinez was the man most likely to succeed David Moyes at Everton.
          Wigan defender Emmerson Boyce says he can see why Everton rate Martinez.
          Boyce said: “For Wigan it’s a massive blow to lose the manager. He brought a brand of football to Wigan that not many have seen, in that a team near the bottom played such attractive football.
          “His knowledge of the game is excellent and tactically he’s very good, as he showed in the FA Cup final against Manchester City.
          “If he goes to Everton, they will have a very, very good manager.”
          Martinez, having established himself as the Amigo best able to adapt his playing style to English conditions during the 1990s, has made an even greater impact as a manager.
          Leading Swansea City to promotion to the Championship in 2007-08 was an achievement that marked his qualities as a leader and coach and earned him the chance to work under Whelan once more as manager of Wigan for the last four seasons.
          Keeping Wigan in the top flight on modest gates and a modest budget added sufficient substance to Martinez’s CV that relegation did not seriously damage his reputation within the game or deter Everton from opening discussions about the role at Goodison Park.
          Confirmation of Martinez’s appointment is expected early next week.
          Eighteen years after arriving in the UK, Martinez will have earned the right to control one of England’s longest-established top-flight clubs. The football world was a different place back in 1995 when an employee working for Whelan’s sports stores operation in Spain reported back about three promising players in Real Zaragoza’s B team.
          By the time Wigan made the approaches, Martinez and Diaz had moved to Balaguer and Seba was out on loan at Villarreal.
          The trio had doubts about the move, naturally enough. But Seba remembers Whelan was remarkably persuasive.
          “If you listen to Mr Whelan you believe, you follow,” he said. “So we signed up. We did not really think about there being no Spanish players in England at that time. Or why.”
          As it turned out, the Three Amigos opened up an avenue down which many Spanish players would follow.
          Not to mention players from every part of the globe, attracted by the glamour, wealth and success of the Premier League. There were some difficult, almost comic moments in those early days. The three went to Wigan College twice a week to learn English. They drove around town in a sponsored club car with ‘The Three Amigos’ written on the side.
          Seba admitted: “We kept going the wrong way around the roundabouts. I had a crash in the first week. The driver of the other car was a Moroccan. The police arrived and did not know what to do.”
          It wasn’t so easy on the pitch either. Seba said: “It was difficult because we played a long ball game all the time.”
          Diaz remembered that Martinez’s interest in coaching was evident early on.
          He said: “When we played at Balaguer and then at Wigan, after the games or at half-time, Roberto would always talk about tactics. You could see he was interested in being a coach.”
          Martinez was leading scorer (13 goals) in his first season as a player at Wigan and the supporters’ player of the year.
          He helped Wigan win promotion from Division Three as champions under John Deehan in 1997. By the time he left Wigan in 2001, Martinez had played 226 games for the club, scoring 24 goals.
          Short-term spells at Motherwell and Walsall were followed by a move to Swansea City, where Martinez helped the side managed by Kenny Jackett win promotion to League One in 2005.
          Martinez made a brief stop at Chester City in 2006-07 before starting his management career with Swansea City, where he took the South Wales club to promotion to the Championship as champions in 2008.
          The journey to Goodison has begun.

From Championship to the Champions League! Martinez vows to lead Everton into the big time after signing four-year deal

By John Edwards
            PUBLISHED:13:15, 5 June 2013| UPDATED:18:15, 5 June 2013 54 shares
            View
            comments

Roberto Martinez has promised to bring Champions League football to Everton after being confirmed as manager.
            Introducing former Wigan boss Martinez as David Moyes's successor, at a press conference at Goodison Park, chairman Bill Kenwright said: 'It's difficult to spell out what we are aiming for, because I don't want to put a jinx on Roberto. But when David Moyes came here, we were in a spot of bother, but he said to me, "Don't worry, you are not going down."
            'Those were his first words to me, before he had even been appointed, and I can tell you that virtually the first thing Roberto said to me was, "I will get you into the Champions League."
            Scroll down for video

That's handy: Roberto Martinez is officially unveiled by Everton chairman Bill Kenwright (below)

On the move: Martinez leaves the Landmark Hotel in London after meeting Kenwright last week

'That is an extraordinary statement for a man who doesn't know all that much about the club. Not about its internal workings, anyway. But it just showed he has obviously studied what we have been doing and recognised David's massive achievements.
            'It is four weeks ago today that David told me he wanted to take the Manchester United job, and in that time I have met some of the finest people anywhere in football. I can honestly say the finest of the lot is sitting next to me today.'
            'When we met, he talked me through how he beat Manchester City in the FA Cup final. He wrote on a card and explained everything. I was actually there at Wembley to see him in action and study his methods. I am seriously excited that he has agreed to be the next manager of Everton Football Club.'
            Martinez replaces Moyes, who left for Manchester United last month, and was officially unveiled at a press conference on Wednesday afternoon.
            He said: 'It is a real special day to come to Everton and have this feeling already of excitement and honour and I'd like to thank the chairman (Bill Kenwright) for this opportunity,' Martinez said.
            'There is huge pressure but I am extremely proud of that pressure because it means what David Moyes did in 11 years is set high standards and lay an incredible platform.
            'I feel lucky to be able to carry on that work. He has given Everton an identity and an incredible standard and all I want to do is be humble and hard-working enough to take this magnificent job to the next level.'

Driving seat: Martinez arrives at Goodison Park ahead of his unveiling as David Moyes's replacement

'The chairman hasn't put any pressure on me,' Martinez added. 'We have a very strong team and over the next few months we need to get together and make sure we are a winning side.

'Finishing in the top six was magnificent for Everton but we need to achieve more.
            'There are six (Premier League) teams who are competing at a different financial level to the others.

'What is true is not always you need the money to achieve your aims.

Dressing room: The Spaniard says Everton can break into the Champions League

'The aim for Everton should be to get into the Champions League. That doesn't mean next season but that has to be the aim for the future. It is not going to happen overnight. In football you need to be creative, find a way to be creative.

'We want to be involved in Europe and the Champions League, and we have to have the dream to fight for.'
            On Monday, Everton agreed a £1.5million compensation package with Wigan, opening the door for the 39-year-old to take the reigns at Goodison Park.

End of an era: Martinez and Dave Whelan worked together at Wigan for four years
            Martinez will bring with him assistants Graeme Jones and Kevin Reeves, along with goalkeeping coach Inaki Bergara and conditioning coach Richard Evans in a new-look backroom team that may yet find room for Phil Neville, Alan Stubbs or David Weir.
            Toffees chief Bill Kenwright had held talks with a number of candidates including Porto's Vitor Pereira and Red Bull Salzburg general manager Ralf Rangnick, yet ultimately Martinez's Premier League experience helped sway the decision.
            Although the fact Martinez took Wigan down last season understandably concerned Kenwright, the manner of their FA Cup final victory and the free-flowing attractive football they regularly produce has proved tempting for the theatre impresario.

Martinez will immediately look to recruit some of his Wigan side with striker Arouna Kone and midfielders James McCarthy and Callum McManaman on his wishlist.

Everton-bound? Arouna Kone (left), Callum McManaman (right) and James McCarthy (below)

Former Everton striker Kevin Campbell believes Martinez will be 'a breath of fresh air' after Moyes' more regimented approach.
            'The way he plays the game, the fans are going to like the style, and I think the players are going to improve, and that's really important,' he said.
            'Everton have wonderfully gifted players and I think he will give them a new lease of life.'
            Wigan chairman Dave Whelan, meanwhile, has made an approach for Hull City manager Steve Bruce to replace Martinez.

Bruce, 52, has twice been Wigan manager before - for two months in 2001 and again between 2007 and 2009.

It would be a surprise move given Bruce has just guided Hull back into the Premier League, with Wigan relegated to the Championship.

WATCH: Roberto Martinez unveiled as new Everton manager

ROBERTO MARTINEZ FACTFILE

1973- July 13: Born Balaguer, Spain.
            1993: Makes La Liga debut for Real Zaragoza.
            1994: Returns to hometown club Balaguer.
            1995 - July 25: Signs for Wigan on a free transfer.
            August 12 - Makes scoring debut against Gillingham.
            1997: Wins Division Three championship.
            2001: Released by Wigan after making 227 appearances.
            July - Signs for Motherwell but makes only 16 appearances before contract terminated after one season when club enters administration.
            2002 - July: Signs for Walsall on a free transfer.
            2003 - January: Signs for Swansea on an initial short-term contract before agreeing a longer-term deal.
            2006: Leaves Swansea and joins Chester City on a two-year contract.
            2007 - February 21: Plays last competitive match for Chester before returning to Swansea as manager.
            2008 - April: Earns promotion to the Championship and wins League One manager of the year.
            2009 - June: Celtic and Wigan make approaches to Swansea for Martinez. The latter granted permission and he becomes Latics' manager.
            2010: May - Wigan avoid relegation, finishing 16th.
            2011: June - Turns down approach from Aston Villa and signs new contract with Wigan.
            2012: April - Wins manager of the month award on the way to guiding his side to seven wins in their final nine games to escape relegation.
            May: Speaks with Liverpool about their managerial vacancy, which eventually goes to Swansea's Brendan Rodgers.
            2013 - May 11: Guides Wigan to their first FA Cup final victory, beating Manchester City 1-0 at Wembley.
            May 14 - 4-1 defeat at Arsenal confirms Wigan's Premier League relegation.
            June 3 - Wigan owner Dave Whelan confirms he has agreed compensation with Everton for Martinez to take over at Goodison Park.
            June 5 - Appointed as Everton manager on a four-year deal.

More...

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2VNGosP6O
            Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook