Roberto Martinez

He is too good to go down to the Championship. Wonder of he would take the Reggae Boyz job as a long term project? ...could be held along with his club's?

Sunny I am not sure I would give him money to buy players. He is a good coach but so far he has passed on a few winners. He coaches his team well but I am not sure he is the person you want with final say on buying.

Why is that Sass, do you have some evidence to back up your statement? Who has he wasted money on?

He has passed on a few good strikers etc Michu. His team play good ball but he hasn't really been able to steal a real top class striker or consistent scorer in his year there. Scoring goals has been there problem and that hasn't changed much.

You are right about their lack of goals, however i think Martinez is quite astute in the transfer market. Wigan's main problem is they just can't hold on to their top players long enough to build a successful team. Martinez seem to improve ordinary players and has always stick to his footballing philosophy no matter where they are in the league. Nzogbia, Diame, Rodallega, Victor Moses etc have all improved under Martinez and if they were able to hold on to these players they would be a much better team.

"Nzogbia, Diame, Rodallega, Victor Moses etc have all improved under Martinez and if they were able to hold on to these players they would be a much better team." No doubt about that, but I haven't seen the striker yet to come in and make an impact as those do. Not saying he is not a good coach, but I am not impress that it took so long to bring in a good striker although I know the budget tight.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                I think Wigan will beat Villa in their last game, however the goal difference might not be good enough to keep them up, it would be a shame to see them relegated.
                If Wigan loses to the GUNNERS they have sealed place in the Championship as Wigan's total can then be a maximum of 38 points and the nearest team above already has 39 points.

"Nzogbia, Diame, Rodallega, Victor Moses etc have all improved under Martinez and if they were able to hold on to these players they would be a much better team." No doubt about that, but I haven't seen the striker yet to come in and make an impact as those do. Not saying he is not a good coach, but I am not impress that it took so long to bring in a good striker although I know the budget tight.
                  Sass, Kone is a good striker but they could do with another one of his quality it was the same thing when Rodellega was there he done ok but needed someone else to back him up. 20 goal per season striker are not easy to find cheap. Benteke and Michu are exceptions. If Wigan had one of those along with Kone they would be midtable. I think Kone has scored more than 10 league goals this season which aint bad.

We agree on most but at the end of the day, I have to question his ability fo find one in 3 years. Not even 20 goals a season but say 15.

Benteke was really raw but the coach had nuff faith in him to sit Bent and give him the run. I use to say "Any day Martinez get a good striker" but after 3 years I have to wonder if it his ability to find one.

We agree on most but at the end of the day, I have to question his ability fo find one in 3 years. Not even 20 goals a season but say 15.

Benteke was really raw but the coach had nuff faith in him to sit Bent and give him the run. I use to say "Any day Martinez get a good striker" but after 3 years I have to wonder if it his ability to find one.
                      He may not have found that striker in 3 years but i wouldn't have a problem with trusting him with the transfer budget!! Arsenal manger in waiting mi seh!!

I have doubt about that. No doubt I would give him the team to prepare .

Hopefully he can prove me wrong.

Remember Valencia and I think (I could be wrong), Leighton Baines were also at Wigan during his time. And also Giovanni Dos Santos who is doing very well in the Spanish League.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Roberto Martinez has decided to leave Wigan Athletic, Everton is expected to be his next job!!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                              Roberto Martinez has decided to leave Wigan Athletic, Everton is expected to be his next job!!
                              Imagine my surprise

don't know if this is a good job for him. Especially with Moyes wanting to take the Belgian and Phil Jakiela and the lack of funds by Everton. Malaga would have been a better team for him.