SAF has retired

• SAF has retired

After 27 years at the elm Sir Alex Ferguson has retired as Manchester United Manager. It will be interesting to see who will fill these big boots.

FERGIE QUITS! After 27 years and 49 trophies, Sir Alex reveals it's 'the right time' to step down at Manchester United as he joins the club's board

By Matt Fortune
    PUBLISHED:09:18, 8 May 2013| UPDATED:10:45, 8 May 2013

• Legend to step down at the end of this season after 1,500 games in charge
    • Most successful manager in English football history will bow out after the West Brom game on May 19
    • Club announce the 71-year-old will become a club director
    • Glasgow-born manager will also take up ambassadorial role
    • A replacement has been chosen, with Moyes and Mourinho favourites
    • Ferguson statement reads: 'It was important to me to leave an organisation in the strongest possible shape and I believe I have done so'
    • Fergie adds: 'The backing of the board and Sir Bobby Charlton in particular gave me confidence and time to build a football club, rather than just a team'
    • He first announced his decision to retire in 2001 before changing his mind describing it as a 'huge mistake'
    • Manager leaves after winning 13 league titles, two European Cups, five FA Cups and a European Cup-winners' Cup
    TODAY'S POLL
    Who should replace Ferguson at Manchester United?
    VOTE

POLL RESULTS

Close
    All pollsClick to view yesterday's poll results

Sir Alex Ferguson has announced he will retire as Manchester United manager after 27 years at the club, moving upstairs to be a member of the board. It is a day that will redefine the landscape of British football.

United have already chosen the great Scot's replacement, with David Moyes and Jose Mourinho among the frontrunners.

Announcing the news, he said: 'The decision to retire is one that I have thought a great deal about and one that I have not taken lightly. It is the right time.

'It was important to me to leave an organisation in the strongest possible shape and I believe I have done so. The quality of this league winning squad, and the balance of ages within it, bodes well for continued success at the highest level whilst the structure of the youth set-up will ensure that the long-term future of the club remains a bright one.

Looking to the future: Sir Alex Ferguson will retire as manager of Manchester United at the end of the season

Bad start: Plain old Alex Ferguson looks glum during his first game, a 2-0 defeat by Oxford

FERGUSON'S FABULOUS 49

Sir Alex's 49 trophies is the most successful managerial career Britain has ever known.

ST MIRREN
    Scottish First Division (1): 1976-77.

ABERDEEN
    Scottish Premier Division (3): 1979-80, 1983-84, 1984-85.
    Scottish Cup (4): 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86.
    Scottish League Cup (1): 1985-86.
    European Cup Winners' Cup (1): 1982-83.
    European Super Cup (1): 1983.

MANCHESTER UNITED
    Premier League (13): 1992-93, 1993-94, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1998-99, 1999-2000, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2012-13.

FA Cup (5): 1989-90, 1993-94, 1995-96, 1998-99, 2003-04.
    League Cup (4): 1991-92, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10.

Charity/Community Shield (10): 1990 (shared), 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011.

Champions League (2): 1998-99, 2007-08.

European Cup Winners' Cup (1): 1990-91.

European Super Cup (1): 1991.

Intercontinental Cup (1): 1999.

FIFA Club World Cup (1): 2008.

'Our training facilities are amongst the finest in global sport and our home Old Trafford is rightfully regarded as one of the leading venues in the world.

'Going forward, I am delighted to take on the roles of both Director and Ambassador for the club. With these activities, along with my many other interests, I am looking forward to the future.

'I must pay tribute to my family, their love and support has been essential. My wife Cathy has been the key figure throughout my career, providing a bedrock of both stability and encouragement. Words are not enough to express what this has meant to me.

'As for my players and staff, past and present, I would like to thank them all for a staggering level of professional conduct and dedication that has helped to deliver so many memorable triumphs. Without their contribution the history of this great club would not be as rich.

'In my early years, the backing of the board, and Sir Bobby Charlton in particular, gave me the confidence and time to build a football club, rather than just a football team.

'Over the past decade, the Glazer family have provided me with the platform to manage Manchester United to the best of my ability and I have been extremely fortunate to have worked with a talented and trustworthy Chief Executive in David Gill. I am truly grateful to all of them.

'To the fans, thank you. The support you have provided over the years has been truly humbling. It has been an honour and an enormous privilege to have had the opportunity to lead your club and I have treasured my time as manager of Manchester United.'

How times have changed: The infamous 'Ta ra Fergie' banner which was on show at Old Trafford in 1989

First of many: Ferguson cradles the FA Cup in 1990. He would get his hands on many more trophies...

Gong for Europe: Ferguson kisses the European Cup-Winners' Cup after victory in 1991

No 1 signing: Eric Cantona (right) was possibly Ferguson's most important acquisition

WHO'S UP NEXT?

10/11 – Moyes 6/4 – Mourinho
    14/1 – Klopp 20/1 – Laudrup
    25/1 – Giggs 25/1 – Wenger
    25/1 – Neville 33/1 – Solskjaer
    33/1 – Cantona 66/1 – Mancini
    66/1 – Di Canio 80/1 – Keane
    250/1 – Darren Ferguson

*odds provided by Paddy Power at the time of the announcement from the club

Now, for the first time in over a quarter of a century, United are on the hunt for a new manager.

David Moyes, out of contract at Everton, and Jose Mourinho, who is expected to leave Real Madrid at the end of the season, are the obvious favourites, although Borussia Dortmund's highly-regarded coach J|rgen Klopp and Bayern Munich's 67-year-old outgoing boss Jupp Heynckes will also come into contention.

It promises to be a major test of nerve for the Glazer family, plus Ed Woodward, who will replace David Gill as chief executive in the summer.

Premier class: The trophy is held by Ferguson in 1993. It's a pose with which he has become very familiar

Double's no trouble: Ferguson and Brian Kidd won both the Premier League and (below) the FA Cup in 1994

FERGUSON'S STATEMENT

'The decision to retire is one that I have thought a great deal about and one that I have not taken lightly. It is the right time.

'It was important to me to leave an organisation in the strongest possible shape and I believe I have done so. The quality of this league winning squad, and the balance of ages within it, bodes well for continued success at the highest level whilst the structure of the youth set-up will ensure that the long-term future of the club remains a bright one.

'Our training facilities are amongst the finest in global sport and our home Old Trafford is rightfully regarded as one of the leading venues in the world.

'Going forward, I am delighted to take on the roles of both Director and Ambassador for the club. With these activities, along with my many other interests, I am looking forward to the future.

'I must pay tribute to my family, their love and support has been essential. My wife Cathy has been the key figure throughout my career, providing a bedrock of both stability and encouragement. Words are not enough to express what this has meant to me.

'As for my players and staff, past and present, I would like to thank them all for a staggering level of professional conduct and dedication that has helped to deliver so many memorable triumphs. Without their contribution the history of this great club would not be as rich.

'In my early years, the backing of the board, and Sir Bobby Charlton in particular, gave me the confidence and time to build a football club, rather than just a football team.

'Over the past decade, the Glazer family have provided me with the platform to manage Manchester United to the best of my ability and I have been extremely fortunate to have worked with a talented and trustworthy Chief Executive in David Gill. I am truly grateful to all of them.

'To the fans, thank you. The support you have provided over the years has been truly humbling. It has been an honour and an enormous privilege to have had the opportunity to lead your club and I have treasured my time as manager of Manchester United.'

'Alex has proven time and time again what a fantastic manager he is but he's also a wonderful person,' said co-chairman Joel Glazer.

'His determination to succeed and dedication to the club have been truly remarkable. I will always cherish the wonderful memories he has given us, like that magical night in Moscow.'

Avi Glazer added: 'I am delighted to announce that Alex has agreed to stay with the Club as a director. His contributions to Manchester United over the last 26 years have been extraordinary and, like all United fans, I want him to be a part of its future.'

The 71-year-old moved to Old Trafford in 1986 and re-built United's empire in spectacular fashion - winning an astonishing 49 trophies in all.
    But, after infamously 'quitting' 12 years ago, he has decided to retire once and for all at the end of this season. He leaves having won his 13th Premier League trophy - and reclaiming the title from the 'noisy neighbours' Manchester City.
    United’s final match of the season, at West Bromwich Albion on May 19, will be the 1,500th of Ferguson’s tenure as manager.
    Having always cited his health as the primary factor in any decision to retire, the club’s confirmation last Friday evening that Ferguson, who had a heart pacemaker fitted in 2004, would undergo hip surgery in August raised fresh doubt over his determination to continue in the post.
    As details of the proposed announcement today dripped through late last night, officials at Old Trafford were not even taking calls from journalists amid the frenzy of speculation.
    Ferguson then arrived for work as usual on Wednesday morning as he was seen driving into United's Carrington training base at 6.50am.

Today's announcement is seemingly at odds with Ferguson's programme notes last weekend, when he wrote: ‘I don’t have any plans at the moment to walk away from what I believe will be something special and worth being around to see.
    ‘It’s always difficult in football to be absolutely sure of the future because the game has a habit of tripping you up, but I don’t live in a fantasy world and believe we have every reason to feel confident about the future of Manchester United.

'My view stems not from the euphoria of winning back the title we lost last season, but on the way we did it and the make-up of our playing personnel.’

King pair: Roy Keane, signed in 1993, was Ferguson's leader on the pitch and inspired many successes

Goal king Cole: Striker Andy Cole was signed from Newcastle for a British record £7m in 1995

Treble joy: Ferguson lifts the Premier League trophy (left) and the FA Cup - then gets his hands on the Holy Grail, the European Cup (below), after that night in Barcelona

Golden boots: Ruud van Nistelrooy was signed from PSV for big money and scored lots of goals

Not a success: Juan Sebastian Veron arrived in the same summer as Van Nistelrooy for £28m

Champagne moment: The United manager holds the Premier League trophy in 2003, then drinks the bubbly

In the statement published on the club's website this morning outgoing chief executive David Gill, added: 'I've had the tremendous pleasure of working very closely with Alex for 16 unforgettable years – through the Treble, the double, countless trophy wins and numerous signings.

'We knew that his retirement would come one day and we both have been planning for it by ensuring the quality of the squad and club structures are in first class condition.

'Alex’s vision, energy and ability have built teams – both on and off the pitch – that his successor can count on as among the best and most loyal in world sport.

'The way he cares for this club, his staff and for the football family in general is something that I admire. It is a side to him that is often hidden from public view but it is something that I have been privileged to witness in the last 16 years.

'What he has done for this club and for the game in general will never be forgotten. It has been the greatest experience of my working life being alongside Alex and a great honour to be able to call him a friend.'
    Boot's on the other foot: David Beckham sports a scar eye after Ferguson kicked a boot at him in 2003

Blue to red: Wayne Rooney, with Ferguson in 2011, signed from Everton in 2004

Special Ron: Ferguson turned Cristiano Ronaldo from a showboating teenager into one of the world's best

King of Europe again: Ferguson lifts the European Cup in 2008

Lest we forget: Ferguson (right) and Manchester City manager Sven Goran Eriksson carry wreaths on the 50th anniversary of the Munich Air Disaster

Red leaders: Then Labour Prime Minister Tony Blair (left) and Gordon Brown (later to become PM) with committed socialist Ferguson in 2005

Dr Ferguson: Getting an honorary doctorate during graduation ceremony at Stirling University in 2011

Statuesque: The Sir Alex Ferguson statue, unveiled last year, outside Old Trafford, while inside the Theatre of Dreams he salutes the United fans

Dutch of class: Robin van Persie signed from Arsenal last year - and what a difference he made to United

Title No 13: Arms aloft, Ferguson salutes the Old Trafford crowd after this seasons league title is sewn up

THE LIFE AND TIMES OF SIR ALEX FERGUSON

1941 - Born Dec. 31 in Govan, Scotland.

1957 - Begins playing career at Scottish club Queen's Park.

1966 - Marries Cathy.

1974 - Ends six-club playing career and takes charge of Scottish club East Stirling.

1978 - Becomes manager of Aberdeen in Scottish top division, winning Scottish league for the first time in 1981.

1983 - Wins European Cup Winners' Cup with victory over Real Madrid in final, and becomes Officer of the Order of the British Empire.

1985 - Takes temporary charge of Scotland's national team after death of manager Jock Stein on Sept. 10.

1986 - Coaches Scotland at World Cup, where team failed to advance from group.

1986 - Becomes Manchester United manager as replacement for the fired Ron Atkinson. Leaves Aberdeen with three Scottish titles, four Scottish Cups, one League Cup, a European Cup Winners' Cup and a European Super Cup.

1990 - Wins first trophy at United, the FA Cup after a replay against Crystal Palace in the final.

1991 - Wins European Cup Winners' Cup after beating Barcelona 2-1 in final.

1992 - Signs French forward Eric Cantona.

1993 - Wins United's first English title since 1967 and voted Manager of the Year.

1994 - Retains English title and also wins FA Cup.

1995 - Made Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

1996 - Wins Premier League again, this time with youngsters in his team such as David Beckham, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Gary Neville known as "Fergie's Fledglings."

1999 - Wins a historic Premier League-FA Cup-Champions League treble, after winning European Cup for the first time thanks to late goals by Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer in a 2-1 win over Bayern Munich; Becomes a knight; Wins Intercontinental Cup

2001 - Breaks British transfer record to sign Argentina midfielder Juan Sebastian Veron for 28 million pounds.

2002 - Decides to stay on at United after announcing decision to retire at the end of the season. Admits decision to make announcement public was an "absolute disaster."

2003 - Launches legal action against then-United shareholder John Magnier over ownership of race horse Rock of Gibraltar; Reportedly kicks football boot into face of Beckham, causing injury to midfielder's face. Beckham sold to Real Madrid that summer; Signs Cristiano Ronaldo from Sporting Lisbon.

2004 - Has pacemaker fitted.

2007 - Denies Chelsea a third straight English title by winning Premier League with United for ninth time.

2008 - Wins Champions League for the second time with victory in a penalty shootout over Chelsea, following 1-1 draw; Wins Club World Cup.

2009 - Given four-match touchline ban for comments criticizing fitness of referee Alan Wiley.

2010 - Wins fourth and final League Cup.

2011 - United names north stand at Old Trafford as the Sir Alex Ferguson Stand.

2013 - Reclaims Premier League title from Manchester City, winning it for 13th time.

FERGIE'S TOUGHEST TESTS OF 27 YEARS IN THE OLD TRAFFORD HOTSEAT

EARLY SURVIVAL AND ESTABLISHING HIMSELF
    Ferguson may have had a strong reputation in Scotland when he arrived but that would not have saved him had the troubles of his first few seasons continued much longer. United flirted with relegation in 1989-90 but crucially kept the season alive by shining in the FA Cup. They went on to win the trophy with victory over Crystal Palace in a replayed final and Ferguson's reign gathered momentum.

RECLAIMING THE LEAGUE TITLE
    United had enjoyed occasional cup successes since last winning the league in 1967 but they were largely living off past glories until Ferguson finally ended their title drought. In 1991-92 they made a strong challenge only to lose out to Leeds at the last hurdle. There was no mistake 12 months later, however, and a further 11 titles have since followed.

WINNING THE CHAMPIONS LEAGUE
    With a 26-year league hoodoo broken, United's 'holy grail' became success in Europe's elite competition. Admittedly rules regarding foreign players were a hindrance, but mid-1990s European challenges were characterised by struggles and disappointing defeats to teams such as Galatasaray, IFK Gothenburg and Fenerbahce - as well as one infamous footballing lesson from Barcelona. Ferguson ensured they were a far tougher outfit by the end of the decade, though, and they finally threw the monkey off their back in 1999, when victory over Bayern Munich in Barcelona completed a glorious treble.

REBUILDING THE TEAM
    To maintain his phenomenal success, Ferguson has continually regenerated his team. Arguably he never did this better than after his initial flurry of trophies when the likes of Paul Ince, Mark Hughes and Andrei Kanchelskis moved on. Ferguson put faith in youngsters such as David Beckham, Nicky Butt and Paul Scholes and was derided for doing so, but it paid off handsomely. Similarly after Arsenal and Chelsea shared the titles from 2004-06, Ferguson hit back with a new side built around Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney.

DEALING WITH PLAYER POWER
    The rise of player power over the past two decades has given managers at many clubs huge problems, but Ferguson rarely bows to it. He is very much the boss at Old Trafford and his position is virtually untouchable. There have been controversies involving big-name players including David Beckham, Roy Keane, Jaap Stam and Paul Ince but Ferguson has not only won each time, but been proved right. Last year Rooney appeared to burn bridges in dramatic fashion but he was coaxed back into the fold, and with remarkable results.

SILENCING THE NOISY NEIGHBOURS
    When Manchester City, backed by the seemingly endless wealth of Sheikh Mansour, became champions of England last season for the first time in 44 years, it seemed the power balance in the city may have shifted indefinitely. But while Roberto Mancini's men struggled to recreate the football that took the Premier League trophy to Eastlands, Ferguson made another key signing - bringing in Robin van Persie from rivals Arsenal - and took title number 13 to Old Trafford to quieten City down for another season.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2Sh3pVZdp
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Take a bow Sir Alex!

The Greatest!!!!! Your achievements will NEVER be repeated. Enjoy your retirement.

Never be repeated!? You clearly haven't heard what X has in store for Rafa! I guess we will just have to wait and see.

:cry

Life is no fun without a villain! I have one "cry" for each of your trophies.You are not my friend, I don't like you, and good riddance, but only a fool could argue with your remarkable record. Well done Slurgie.

Have a great retirement SAF, a true stalwart and a remarkable servant to our great game!!

Don't bring Jose. 3 years and all the players will be mad at him. I say bring David Moyes.

Well Done Sir Alex..... Respect.

Sorry Paul your beating stick is no more.

I will have the same reaction when Loserfool gets relegated.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Just saw this. Never believed for a moment he would go now. Wonder if there are health issues?

They said he will be doing hip surgery in the summer. I did note that he wasn't on the touchline that much. Anyways, at his age he needs to relax now.

I will have the same reaction when Loserfool gets relegated.
                        It might take a while, but we sure are headed in that direction! But that may be the only chance we get to win a league title, albeit in the Championship.

Great manager!
                          Great record!

Any other manager at ManU would have achieved what Fergie achieved!

"Any other manager" who name so?