The Arsenal Football Club

• The Arsenal Football Club

Arsenal Football Club may have been founded as Dial Square, away from their present north London base, and with the intention of rebuffing the lure of professionalism, but the club's subsequent history includes some flattering constants. FIFA.com delivers the tale of a side that has spent a record 90-year uninterrupted period in the English top flight and consistently challenged for major trophies.

Birth of an institution
    Dial Square were founded as a workers' team by the employees of an armaments factory in Woolwich, and debuted with a 6-0 victory over Eastern Wanderers in 1886. They swiftly became known as Royal Arsenal and, after flitting from home to home across south-east London, began to excel in local tournaments. They were overwhelmed in their first two seasons in the FA Cup, however, and therefore elected to turn professional. This decision was frowned upon in the capital and the side was banned from regional competitions by the London Football Association.

Woolwich Arsenal, a name they had now adopted, reacted by becoming the first southern club to join The Football League, although this prompted some of the club's disgruntled players to disband and form their own team. After surviving bankruptcy and stricture over their move to Highbury in north London, Arsenal (the Woolwich was dropped in 1914) were promoted to the top tier for the second time in 1919, and have remained there ever since.

Making of a legend
    Arsenal were transformed into a heavyweight by Herbert Chapman, who assumed the reins in 1925. A pioneer both on and off the pitch, the Yorkshireman guided the Gunners to five First Division titles and two FA Cups during the 1930s; dominance indebted to attacking luminaries Joe Hulme, Jack Lambert, David Jack, Cliff Bastin, Ted Drake and especially Alex James.

http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/...847/index.html

This season winds down with the ongoing tight fight for

Champions league place. ...and it could be just about over when the first of our 2 remaining matches is played when Wigan visits.

The remaining 2 matches are tricky fixtures.

We play Wigan at home and that should stand us in good stead...however, Wigan plays a 'nice' passing game and is especially dangerous at this time of the season when as they are, in a battle for survival.

The second and our final match is away against Newcastle. That match shall see Newcastle either playing hearts out to remain in the EPL or for pride only.

GUNNERS play 'the GUNNERS way' pleasant passing and moving/moving and passing game. We will not deviate from that way of playing. 2 wins nothing less will do!!!

Champions league place. ...and it could be just about over when the first of our 2 remaining matches is played when Wigan visits.

The remaining 2 matches are tricky fixtures.

We play Wigan at home and that should stand us in good stead...however, Wigan plays a 'nice' passing game and is especially dangerous at this time of the season when as they are, in a battle for survival.

The second and our final match is away against Newcastle. That match shall see Newcastle either playing hearts out to remain in the EPL or for pride only.

GUNNERS play 'the GUNNERS way' pleasant passing and moving/moving and passing game. We will not deviate from that way of playing. 2 wins nothing less will do!!!
      A Tottenham win at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday night would certainly put the wind up Arsenal ass!!

when that turn coat rvp need to score he doesn't !!

Originally posted by Twan View Post
          when that turn coat rvp need to score he doesn't !!
          A true dat, him only good fi bite the hand that once fed him!!_

Dunny, I am hoping for a draw or a Chelsa win in wednesday.....

Chelsea, have a tuff run of games, they played Sun, Wed and Sat....3 games in 7 days, will be tuff on them...hope they can keep Bale quiet for 94 mins...

Nobaddy from the Gunners never waan talk to me, so.......The problem with unuh Gooners is that unuh too "principled". Unuh rather fi cut off unuh noses fi spite unuh faces. All unuh had to do was just humble unuhself and ask for our help. Unuh come een like Wegner, who a chat fart bout "honouring/seeing out" his contract. PSG a offer the man big money but him a gwaan like him a Mother Theresa. Wegner come een like dem likkle man deh whey a get a fantasy p...nash and instead a tekking it, will hurt the young lady's feeling a talk bout wif...........

Yes honey!!!! Erm....excuse me a bit.......
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That's a fact!!!

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                  Dunny, I am hoping for a draw or a Chelsa win in wednesday.....

Chelsea, have a tuff run of games, they played Sun, Wed and Sat....3 games in 7 days, will be tuff on them...hope they can keep Bale quiet for 94 mins...
                  Twan, I rather miss out on Champions League football than back Chelsea to win a game, I can't stand them to be honest. I hope Bale score a hatrick. I am backing Villa to turn over Chelsea at Villa Park!!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                    Twan, I rather miss out on Champions League football than back Chelsea to win a game, I can't stand them to be honest. I hope Bale score a hatrick. I am backing Villa to turn over Chelsea at Villa Park!!
                    LOL !! Seems your "dislike" for Chelsea, far exceeds your dislike for spuds ? WOW !! mi caaan stand spuds...they are like our noisy neighbours !!