Ian Wright...needs to

Originally posted by Me View Post
    i find that he is just rambling about nonsense half the time.
    ...and that's where I think he needs training.....as an analyst. Oftentimes less is more.

X pointed out earlier that he speaks through both sides of his mouth...

Indeed, there is a stark contrast enounciation between both.

I think his American counterpart knows the answer...but allows Wright to explain 'stuff' to the audience.

Indeed, there is a stark contrast enounciation between both.

I think his American counterpart knows the answer...but allows Wright to explain 'stuff' to the audience.
        I have been telling unu from the start that Fox needs to get rid of Gus Johnson. He is not a football announcer period, end of story, punto final! I cannot STAND hearing him commentate (or any of the other Americans on Fox for that matter). They should stick to American sports...they just don't have the accent to match the sport.

What accent have to do with anything? Come on dude. Better you question his knowledge of the game, but his accent?

Marin, what's your thoughts on Ian Wright?

Thanks in advance

What accent have to do with anything? Come on dude. Better you question his knowledge of the game, but his accent?
              British brainwashing. LOL. The problem with Johnson is all content as he tries to learn the game. His "accent" provides much better listening than a number of the british commentators.

To each his own. I don't even want to go down the path of his football knowledge...that is just too laughable. So seeing that him don't have that, him could at least bring some sense of style to the program, but the problem is that the way he commentates is like he is commentating a basketball or American football game and it doesn't translate.

Marin, what's your thoughts on Ian Wright?

Thanks in advance
                  I actually met Ian Wright when I went to see the Manu** v. Chelski UCL finals in Moscow. He was in the airport waiting for his posse and me and my bredrin-dem struck up a conversation. He was very straight forward and honest and over the 20 minutes or so that we spoke, he did not hide his disappointment in seeing his son (SWP) walk away with a loser's medal. From then, I realize this fellow is an emotional guy. He won't look at his job as an analyst in the way that say Robbie Earl, Steve McManaman or Andy Gray do; he will let emotion come into it. That's why in one breath he is cussing Manu** and in the next praising them. I truly believe his emotions swing with the moment. So in that light, I take him as he is. He does not give good game analysis or insight (Robbie Earle is the best at that IMHO), but he is entertaining. Gus Johnson however...OHMYEFFINGGOD...I have to mute the TV whenever that eediat is announcing.

Marin, you are the second most objective person on this forum

BTW...I am not the first.

Thx for the compliment HL. I always try to be as objective as possible.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ian know bout "sin tax"; that's what he pays on his booze and cigarettes!

enUnciation btw... on the subject of correctness; the pedagogue ( yeah, an don mix up dat word wid anyting else ) in me coming out

I'm curious... and holding my breath so drop a hint as to your #1... Tilla has my vote with some honourable mentions...one, some dude who calls himself HeLl ..LOL

Thank you PR